Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Good Mind Possesses A Kingdom" (Seneca)
In a bucolic vision of a corner of Norfolk we are drawn into the daily life of Kingdom and Kingdom, solicitors. Each episode features one or more of the cases the firm handles with the story lines of the sibling Kingdoms threaded through the episodes. Peter Kingdom, played by Stephen Fry, heads the firm and is assisted by his articled clerk. In Peter Kingdom we see a...
Published on 22 Feb 2008 by Kathleen A. Schelberg

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and solid entertainment
Kongdom is good and solid entertainment although the story about the solicitor with a heart of gold who spends more time being a psychologist than a lawyer is hardly very original. Kingdom shows some beautiful pictures of Norfolk and did to that county what Doc Martin did for the west country. But here comparisons must end as Clunes is the more versatile actor (Fry is...
Published on 2 Feb 2010 by TKr


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought because loved the series, pity the next series is so expensive! Looks like I will have to wait till its cheaper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Fry at his best, 22 Sep 2012
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This series is good as an introduction to the varied talents of Stephen Fry or as satisfaction for those fans, like me, who can't get enough of his wit and self-deprecation. Fry plays small town solicitor Peter Kingdom who has just found out his half brother Simon drowned off the Norfolk coast. His half sister Beatrice turns up, fresh from skipping rehab to further disturb his quiet, backwater world.

Set characters such as the village idiot/serial litigant, the green articles clerk and the strong, silent and efficient secretary provide excellent support.

Fry's Kingdom is set back when he discovers Simon has mobsters chasing him. Mobsters who will not accept Simon is dead.
Kingdom himself starts to question the death...

Wonderful, atmospheric scenery and Fry combine to make Kingdom emminently watchable. You'll love Stephen that bit more after this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 6 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I already own series 1-3 of Kingdom and this was purchased as a gift for family who have also told me they are enjoying it. Kingdom is a great family show that the BBC just don't make enough of. Stephen Fry is wonderful as the local solicitor who deals with some very odd local problems. Its quite sweet and funny in places. I would recommend this to anyone- especially those who enjoys Doc Martin and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom - Seires 1, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Item arrived in quite short time.
Shipping cost and cost for the item itself were convenient.
Item was in good/very good condition.
The TV series is in English language only.
I bought it to exercize/improve my english (thankfully there are subtitles in english).
The series is funny.
Tipical english humor and quite easy listening (if your english is very good).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kingdom series 1, 25 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Kingdom what a series. The character are very good and well played, sorry lines are really good. It does get to be addictive viewing.

Hurray to all involved.

Absolutely wonderful!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If ONLY the whole UK was like this Kingdom., 17 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. S. Mckie "wilcool" (Coventry,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I think you can see how well liked this series was by the fact that out of 26 reviews (or 27 now) only 1 is a 1 star,I think that says something.There are reviews from Australia & America & I think the scenery helps to rekindle peoples ideas of England but nice scenery won't maintain 3 series you need something else excellent acting (from all the cast,including the numerous cameos) & a great script REALLY involving you with stories of humour,sometimes sadness & the occasional anger.Added together and it's one of my favourite ever TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doc Martin meet Peter Kingdom, 2 Dec 2011
By 
D. R. Emery (Eugene, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked "All Creatures Great and Small," Ballykissangel" and "Doc Martin" you'd better add "Kingdom" to the list. This time, instead of a veterinarian, priest or doctor it's an attorney plying his trade in a small village that time passed by. And plan on buying all three seasons because like his cousins in kind, Peter Kingdom is a friend you won't want to lose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A man with no fear of being upstaged...apparently., 16 Jun 2011
By 
Leppo (Hamilton, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
A true genius...for a man of Fry's caliber to agree to a series (although the title character) that brings together such an outstanding cast that it takes attention away from the Peter Kingdom character quite often, it shows a humility not often seen in most leading actors today. Like all of the Stephen Fry efforts I have seen before, "Kingdom" has caught my attention and will hold it until the inevitable end of the show's run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful scenery shots, 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
What fabulous scenery, we finally figured out where this is filmed. This series is fun, sometimes thought provoking and tends to have a "David and Goliath" theme but there are many underlying issues, from a nymphomaniac sister to a mysterious, gambling, maybe dead brother. Stephen Fry plays a great role as the man who holds it all together as the head of family and mentor to a young lawyer and a small town of friends.
Not too heavy emotionally but makes you think of relationships.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Kingdom for a....., 2 April 2010
By 
Michael J. Seibert "UK TV FAN" (Oak Park Ca.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Exceptional, warm, whitty, you want to watch it at the
end of the evening, and dream pleasent dreams of
Kingdom.
Stephen Fry brings to life a good natured soul,who has
patience and a kind heart matched with a razor sharp mind.
This is a place you'd love to spend time in with all it's
quirky individuals and highly interesting stories.
The scenery is beautiful and haunting, as is the theme song,
it captures the mood.
The cast is well stocked with talented actors, intelligent writting,
and back stories as good as the main story. I only wish they produced
at least double the episodes, it is a very special production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb16a3dd4)

This product

Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD]
Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] by Stephen Fry (DVD - 2007)
4.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews