Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Good Mind Possesses A Kingdom" (Seneca)
In a bucolic vision of a corner of Norfolk we are drawn into the daily life of Kingdom and Kingdom, solicitors. Each episode features one or more of the cases the firm handles with the story lines of the sibling Kingdoms threaded through the episodes. Peter Kingdom, played by Stephen Fry, heads the firm and is assisted by his articled clerk. In Peter Kingdom we see a...
Published on 22 Feb 2008 by Kathleen A. Schelberg

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and solid entertainment
Kongdom is good and solid entertainment although the story about the solicitor with a heart of gold who spends more time being a psychologist than a lawyer is hardly very original. Kingdom shows some beautiful pictures of Norfolk and did to that county what Doc Martin did for the west country. But here comparisons must end as Clunes is the more versatile actor (Fry is...
Published on 2 Feb 2010 by TKr


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Reliant On British Humor And Wit, 18 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I need Series Two. Please Amazon.co.uk, pass the word--the demand--to whomever releases this DVD. I rely on British drama and comedy to tickle my wickle. I've purchased many programs, and I suffer the wait for those Complete Series. For example: Absolute Power Series 2; Kingdom Series 2; Lead Balloon Series 2; Annually Retentive Series 2. The list continues. These are potential sales and big bucks considering for me the U.S. Dollar is half the British Pound's value. Help me. Our programming doesn't equal yours. Britain is far superior in humor, wit, dialogue, vocabulary, and generally thinking before speaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5* for Kingdom, 0* for Amazon, 7 May 2014
Stephen Fry, beautiful Norfolk scenes and heartwarming drama what more could you want to curl up in front of on a Sunday evening. Having watched the first few episodes for free on Amazon Instant Video (Prime) I was looking forward to watching some more a week later. However I was to be very disappointed as Amazon had raised the price to 1.89 per episode. I'm sure I was just unlucky with the timing, but the pricing was a bit of a swindle considering I could buy the set (6 episodes) on DVD from Amazon for only 4.69.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Stephen Fry at his best as great put your feet up and enjoy. The series follows Peter Kingdom, a small-town solicitor whose work revolves around cases brought by the eclectic and eccentric populace of Market Shipborough. The series retains a largely episodic format, where self-contained plots play out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought because loved the series, pity the next series is so expensive! Looks like I will have to wait till its cheaper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Fry, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Fry at his best". A series for all Fry admirers. You need his books, and all his series.... Even a frenchy like myself can enjoy this gentleman.. Kingdom series should be in every household, refreshing and sweet series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb!, 18 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Stephen Fry, so this review is totally biased, but Kingdom is such a wonderfully produced piece of programming, done in a way that only we Brits know how.

It's beautifully shot, and brilliantly cast, with each storyline holding your attention from start to finish.

If you've never seen it, you're missing out on something very special indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series full of great actors, a must watch., 4 Aug 2009
By 
Rob S "Rob S" (Conwy, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Only discovered this series after watching an episode on the TV which I later found was series 3.

I ordered series 1 on DVD which is excellent, It also helps me understand the characters better in series 3.

Stephen Fry is superb as Peter Kingdom, Hermione Norris shows what a good actress she is, she is so different from her character Ros in spooks. Celia Imrie is as always superb.

The person that really surprises me is Karl Davies who is the sharp young trainee solicitor, Lyle Anderson, I remember Karl Davies in Emmerdale and how much I disliked him in the show, It goes to show what a good actor he is, he is superb in Kingdom.

A great series full of great actors, a must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best Stephen yet, 17 Jun 2009
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Stephen Fry is playing Stephen Fry a loveable gentle man with concern for his fellow man. i think those are the qualities one can detect in the real life man which make him my absolute favourite. A "feel good"programme, more like this please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Highly Entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth a shot, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Much more good than bad for me; excellent cast and, for the most part, good and long episodes.
On balance, I shall buy the second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD]
Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] by Stephen Fry (DVD - 2007)
4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews