Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Good Mind Possesses A Kingdom" (Seneca)
In a bucolic vision of a corner of Norfolk we are drawn into the daily life of Kingdom and Kingdom, solicitors. Each episode features one or more of the cases the firm handles with the story lines of the sibling Kingdoms threaded through the episodes. Peter Kingdom, played by Stephen Fry, heads the firm and is assisted by his articled clerk. In Peter Kingdom we see a...
Published on 22 Feb 2008 by Kathleen A. Schelberg

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and solid entertainment
Kongdom is good and solid entertainment although the story about the solicitor with a heart of gold who spends more time being a psychologist than a lawyer is hardly very original. Kingdom shows some beautiful pictures of Norfolk and did to that county what Doc Martin did for the west country. But here comparisons must end as Clunes is the more versatile actor (Fry is...
Published on 2 Feb 2010 by TKr


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Good Mind Possesses A Kingdom" (Seneca), 22 Feb 2008
By 
Kathleen A. Schelberg "michelleberg" (Chappaqua, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
In a bucolic vision of a corner of Norfolk we are drawn into the daily life of Kingdom and Kingdom, solicitors. Each episode features one or more of the cases the firm handles with the story lines of the sibling Kingdoms threaded through the episodes. Peter Kingdom, played by Stephen Fry, heads the firm and is assisted by his articled clerk. In Peter Kingdom we see a man who, while daily confronted with the less attractive side of human nature, exhibits the virtues of "a good man" possessed of an excellent mind and an extraordinary conscience. He finds comfort and pleasure in the small things that make life enjoyable. It is a wise man who finds a moment or two of pleasure in tea cakes, chocolate biscuits, a glass of wine, a favorite mug, a '67 Audi, toy trains and the like. Peter Kingdom is an even wiser man for of higher value to him is family loyalty and his belief in the virtue of personal redemption. He is the essence of honesty and decency.

I should think there is a good deal of Stephen Fry in Peter Kingdom.

The series is a homage to the beauty of this corner of the earth. Lovingly photographed, the sea and the surrounding countryside are integral to the mood and stories presented.

The quirkiness of the characters that inhabit the town is delightful.

This is a well written and well acted series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just what it says on the tin, 24 Feb 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
At first glance this is just another in the series of those heartwarming comedies that spring from the BBC, and in many ways it is just that. There's the usual roundup of comic characters all doing their best east anglian accents, the major characters are all good people, and no one gets seriously hurt.

What sets it above the run of the mill is firstly the quality of the acting; Stephen Fry and Hermione Norris are especially good, and secondly the way in which the characters build and develop and bits are added to the back story episode by episode. There's a solid story under the froth.

I for one am certainly hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 11 Jun 2008
By 
S. HADAVI "sinead" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
What a refreshing change this series is. Quality drama, a superb cast, Stephen Fry as the solicitor with a conscience and compassion, hermione norris excels as Beatrice Peter`s tormented and utterly self centred sisiter whom one should hate but cant help feeling sorry for. Karl davis as trainee solicitor Lyle is brilliant there is such a rapport between him and Fry. Celia Imrie marvellous as Gloria the firms secretary who is a greiving widow with a troubled son. Tony Slattery is so funny as the tiresome Mr.Snell always wanting to sue the council and making Gloria reach for the air freshner.The series is set in Market shipborough on the Norfolk coast, the scenery is absolutely lovely. The stories contain humanity and subtle humour. A pleasure to watch, do buy this dvd if you want a change from all the violence and cynicisim on tv .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming and funny, 3 Oct 2007
By 
Kim Jennings "MyKarmaisDogma" (Parma, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
What a wonderful series! I had to force myself to watch the episodes one at a time, because in short order I wanted to know all about the characters and their lives. I can't wait for the next series to come out. I assume ther is one?) I live in the US...I sure wish they made television like the Brits do....I love Stephen Fry...he is perfect in this part. In fact, all of the casting seems spot on. Well worth the money and the time spent in viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From across the pond, 24 Aug 2008
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Just proves once again that you guys in the UK win hands down when it comes to excellence in television! This is a wonderful series that has just enough comedy, intrigue, and emotion to be loved by all the age groups in my household. We are really looking forward to series 2! I am recommending this series (and region free dvd players) to all of my friends here in Chattanooga, Tennessee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom - Series 1 (DVD Set), 6 Jun 2007
By 
P. D. A. WALDER "Paul Walder" (West Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
What an excellent series. I have thoroughly enjoyed this series starring Stephen Fry and ex-Emmerdale star Kyle Davis. As well as a serious drama series it also has comedy in with it to which does make this show shine even more. I think the accompanying music is really good to and should be released on CD. Great to have the DVD out to enjoy in your own time over and over again.

Top marks to the writers and let's hope ther will be another series soon.

Well Done ITV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 6 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit, this isn't the type of show I'd watch normally, but when you have the quintessential Englishman Stephen Fry, as Peter Kingdom, then it becomes a different scenario altogether! But it wouldn't be fair to eliminate the other cast members, who do a splendid job as well: Celia Imrie, Karl Davies, Tony Slattery & Hermione Norris (who eats men for breakfast, lunch & supper!)

I'm only up to episode 4 so far, but the ratings say it all for ITV, who've announced that a 3rd series has been commissioned for 2009. And don't forget, series two is due for transmission this year...

Great writing,great location shooting and fine acting ensures a guaranteed,future DVD purchase.Oh, and to quote Little Britain: "Love the theme tune, sing the theme tune!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovable fantasy, 6 Mar 2008
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
As a solicitor I can say that this is about as far away from reality as you can get but all the better for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle intelligent drama with humanity and optimism, 13 Nov 2007
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Stephen Fry really can do very little wrong - although that dodgy photo on the DVD cover doesn't do him any favours.

This is firmly in that special English class of comedy, like the similarly excellent Doc Martin, where character, observation, detail and slow thematic development under the story of the week mark it out as enthralling.

Well worth an evening or two in to watch them all in a row, with your feet up, a fire roaring in the grate and a glass of mulled wine - oh, and the dog curled up at your feet.

Smashing stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KINGDOM, 7 Jun 2007
This review is from: Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I love watching this series simply because part of it is filmed at WELLS-NEXT THE SEA where I ve spent many happy holidays,this series is like a nice warm bath very cosy you also know all will end well & nothing nasty will happen to anyone unless they deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD]
Kingdom - Series 1 [2007] [DVD] by Stephen Fry (DVD - 2007)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews