Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars20
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVDChange
Price:£8.99+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2008
I watched the first series of Elephant Diaries when it was shown on the BBC back in 2005 and eagerly awaited its release on DVD. It follows a year in the life of the orphaned baby elephants, cared for so incredibly by the Sheldrick Trust. The work of Dame Daphne Sheldrick, her family and all the keepers and staff at the Trust is simply awe-inspiring. Their dedication and devotion to the needy babies in their care is plain for all to see. Around half of the rescued babies will not make it to their second birthday - they are so vulnerable and have been through so much. But all the staff pick themselves up from the inevitable moments of heartbreak and go on because of those remaining who need them. The successes they have had over the years are a fitting tribute to the Trust and the work they do in raising these babies and caring from them at the orphanage and then one of the release sites as they take the steps needed to return to the wild to live as they were meant to - free and majestic and safe. The Trust are also involved in helping to protect all wildlife with their anti-snaring teams who search the bush for the evil snares that cause such hideously painful and unimaginable deaths. And they work hard to prevent poaching, which sadly still goes on and results in far too many orphans needing help. Since first seeing Elephant Diaires in 2005, I now foster 3 baby elephants and continue to support the Trust and all the amazing people who devote their lives to these magnificient, intelligent, fun and empathetic animals. Series 1 is superb and the DVD unmissable. I just hope that it will not be too long before Series 2 is released on DVD - and that the BBC follow up the stories of these delightful babies with Series 3. A must buy and a wonderful stocking filler for any animal lover.
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2007
I first saw this documentary on Animal Planet. It introduced me to the Sheldrick Wildlife Trust which I never heard of before. Because of this amazing film and the extremely important work of the dedicated people there, I am the proud foster parent of nine orphaned elephants and one blind year-old rhino. It pulls at your heartstrings. It's a wonderful film and an extraordinary wildlife orphanage.
0Comment25 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2007
I first watched this series on TV and, like the last reviewer, wanted to find out more about the work of the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. I and all my family now sponsor the Trust - thanks to this documentary series. Watch these gorgeous animals get through experiences (most of which humans could not possibly endure) and be rehabilitated by the wonderful people of the Trust. When you've watched it you'll want to give them all your money. If you want to find out more about the Trust's work, go to [...]
0Comment18 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2010
The whole Series of these Elephant Diaries are totally worth getting hold of. The photography is fabulous and the direction - of "everything human" was very good: the presenters weren't always in the foreground; they let the elephants take their leading role! The filming was very "comfortable" viewing... even the sad bits made sense and there was none of the grotesque, in-your-face voyeurism on blood and gore! What a refreshing change. Anyone potty about elephants will love the series and we hope you find them as enjoyable as we did.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
Brilliant series following the fate of young orphan elephants in Africa. Loved every second, never a boring moment, and the end of each episode always left me anxious to find out what happened next. Definitely addictive, in fact, I have the second series ordered and on it's way. The team really do such great work and the way the keepers interact with the orphans to make them feel loved and cared for, even to the extent of sleeping with them at night, is very touching. Would recommend this series to any animal lover.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2010
We absolutely love this DVD and the second series. We have watched it many times and never tire of the stories about the 'baby Ellies'. MY daughter now wants to be a vet and is absolutely determined to visit the Elephant orphanage as soon as she can! Both presenters are very pleasant to watch and obviously loved making this project. It is beautifully and sensitively filmed.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
Having lived in Africa for many years and visited the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage as a writer on wildlife and conservation, I was hugely impressed by these compelling chronicles. With the current escalation in elephant poaching, Elephant Diaries is a reminder to us all that the future existence of these magnificent creatures in the wild can no longer be taken for granted.
Michael McKeown
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
This DVD takes you to the Elephant orphanage in Kenya. It shows perfectly how the keepers take care of the baby-elephants. How they care for them. What the elephants lives are about. It shows a lot of love. And natural elephant behaviour. It's just wonderfull to watch. And it's real.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
A very moving true story of the wonderful work that is being carried out in Kenya. Tiny orphan elephants are looked after by such caring workers. The dvd shows the fun times and the sad times.
If you are an animal lover this is def worth watching.
If you purchase the DVD through the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust then part of your money is given to charity.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
If if you did not love baby eles you will when you watch this
Buy it now and go to kenya to see them in the flesh
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse