Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joyful to watch
Reminds of a time in my teens when things were so much easier - brought back great memories of the Eighties. Full of 'feel-good humour. You'll enjoy this!
Published on 24 Feb. 2012 by pineman

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much cheese!
The film starts on a premise; the premise of Jack Jericho (Robert Downey Jr.) being able to pick up any woman he wants (which works, considering his smile and the way he talks). There is one woman who piques his fancy, but she doesn't want him.

Set over 48 hours, the films bucks through twists and turns, including seeing a side of Jericho that was unthought of...
Published on 11 Mar. 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joyful to watch, 24 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pick-Up Artist [DVD] (DVD)
Reminds of a time in my teens when things were so much easier - brought back great memories of the Eighties. Full of 'feel-good humour. You'll enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun film, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pick-Up Artist [DVD] (DVD)
The 'Pick up artist' staring Molly Ringwald as Randy Jenson and Robert Downey Jr as Jack Jericho, is a romantic commedy about a young full of himself kind of guy who knows all the chat up lines under the sun. One day Jack meets an attractive girl called Randy, and from then on he is totally smitten with her.
Randy has problems with her father because of money he owes to some bad guys, and this is where Jack steps in to help
The main theme of the film is Jack trying to win Randy over.
This is one of Robert Downey's earlier films and it is easliy seen that he has real acting ability which holds him in good stead for the roles he was to get in the future. The film also has good background music which adds to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pick-Up Artist [DVD] (DVD)
I really like it, it's funny, I would recommend it to my friends, nice comedy, nice to watch it, in a sunday afternoon :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pick-Up Artist, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pick-Up Artist [DVD] (DVD)
I came across this when trying to complete my collection of films by Robert Downey Jr.
It's a very sweet storyline, and RDJ is as amazing as ever. No doubt, this movie plays a lot on his natural charm,
and it probably wouldn't be this good with someone else as the lead character, but it is a good film to watch when you feel a little down.
I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear ..., 12 April 2011
This review is from: The Pick-Up Artist [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as part of my "own everything Robert Downey Jr. has ever done"-collection, and that's pretty much all it's good for; sitting on a shelf.

It could have been a good film, the plot itself isn't a bad idea. But it's not a good film. The dialogue is bad at best, and it just ... doesn't work. You end up annoyed rather than intrigued.

Not worth it, unless you're an RDJ-fan like me and this helps complete your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much cheese!, 11 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Pick-Up Artist [DVD] (DVD)
The film starts on a premise; the premise of Jack Jericho (Robert Downey Jr.) being able to pick up any woman he wants (which works, considering his smile and the way he talks). There is one woman who piques his fancy, but she doesn't want him.

Set over 48 hours, the films bucks through twists and turns, including seeing a side of Jericho that was unthought of with the wya he treats women (he is a teacher who lives with his ill grnadmother). It is this human side that allows us to not hate him so much for being successful at being a git.

But the film cannot be saved by him alone. With a weak storyline, and a typical happy ending, the film does not answer all the questions, but is suitable froth for a chick flick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the pick-up artist, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pick-Up Artist [DVD] (DVD)
great film i like robert downey and molly ringwald together in this film it is great for a girl's night in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... made by this group of actors and specially I love the fragility of the actress Molly Ringwald, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pick-Up Artist [DVD] (DVD)
only bought this one because I collect the movies made by this group of actors and specially I love the fragility of the actress Molly Ringwald .But was disappointed, in this movie Robert Downey Jr act more like a clow,in comparison with other movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pick-Up Artist [DVD] (DVD)
Love 80s movies!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reliving me teen years, 24 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pick-Up Artist [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this on a whim after looking at films I remember from being a teenager, this definitely took me back.
Film is a great reminder of those years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pick-Up Artist [DVD]
The Pick-Up Artist [DVD] by James Toback (DVD - 2007)
£4.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews