Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great set
this particular pick set is very good at average padlocks and doors.
great variety of tention tools,and all the picks you will need...

my advice to anyone who picks with paperclips and is longing for a variety
of picks is to get this one. you dont need the reenforced handles and this
set comes with some neat polymer handles.

ordered...
Published on 2 May 2012 by Nelg.cool

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate but not great
The tools are supplied with separate rubber handles which you need a little bit of patience to fit. The actual tools are quite flimsy and likely to bend with a little use. The case has only 1 pocket inside so all of the picks have to be put in there as a bunch so you have to take them all out to see which one you want to use. On hindsight I should have paid a little more...
Published 7 months ago by Pen Name


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great set, 2 May 2012
This review is from: Lock Picking Set PXS-14 14 Piece Lock Pick Set (Misc.)
this particular pick set is very good at average padlocks and doors.
great variety of tention tools,and all the picks you will need...

my advice to anyone who picks with paperclips and is longing for a variety
of picks is to get this one. you dont need the reenforced handles and this
set comes with some neat polymer handles.

ordered monday arrived thursday. great quality and overall brilliant

thx :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Picking Set PXS-14 14 Piece Lock Pick Set (Misc.)
This is a great beginners set.The picks are of good quality and the handles make holding them comfortable. It has all the picks and tension bars you will need for some time. The wallet is slim enough to fit into your pocket no problem. I would recommend this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality set for the price., 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Picking Set PXS-14 14 Piece Lock Pick Set (Misc.)
This lock-pick set replaces and older one I have. It's got a good feel to the picks and for the price doesn't seem flimsy as you would expect with cheaper products.

The little handles advertised are a bit disappointing. They are just foamy (leather-ish) sleeves that can be placed on the normal picks and are not actually attached to the pick itself... however the pick fits snug inside and does not slip. The picks DO feel better with the handle on as well.

The case received is better than the case seen in the picture. I got a zipped leather southord case, with just one pocket to hold your picks inside. This seems better than getting a standard slip case as shown.

This kit has everything you need to get you going, in learning or in practice.

Most of the other kits advertised came with a simple lockpicking book Easy Pickings. However this must be one of the only kits that did not include this book.

Overall a good set of picks and fast prompt delivery. Exactly what I would expect when buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lock picks, 13 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Picking Set PXS-14 14 Piece Lock Pick Set (Misc.)
Arrived in very good time well packed and are good quality have tried them out and they are very good. Nice feel to them and not a bad case to keep them in. The booklet is very very basic so if you are a novice then think about getting a good instruction book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lock Picking Set PXS-14 14 Piece Lock Pick Set, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Picking Set PXS-14 14 Piece Lock Pick Set (Misc.)
Happy with this pick set and it looks decent quality.
I bought it for a bit of fun just to see if I could pick a lock. I am getting better but still pretty useless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't pick your nose... pick that lock..., 17 Dec 2013
By 
graham (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Picking Set PXS-14 14 Piece Lock Pick Set (Misc.)
Bought these as a bit of a bet really, more a joke, as I don't really intend to be out picking locks all day long. In the passed I have picked a few older locks, mainly padlocks and mortice locks, which was a long time ago and I thought I'd lost the touch.
When these arrived I gave them a test run on some old locks I have in the shed, old front door locks I've somehow collected over the time.
The picture on here shows bare metal handles but in the package I found a little envelope which contained several soft coverings for each of the metal handles, which, with a bit of a squeeze, slotted over the metal handles to give each pick a more comfortable feel.

Once all were covered, I set about picking locks, starting with a euro cylinder lock, which took all of 30 seconds to unlock. Then I tried the same type of lock on the garage door, again, 30 seconds later and the door was unlocked.

I tried them in a yale traditional lock, the ones that slide locked when you close the door. This was a little harder to unlock as I had to turn the weight of the lock itself, unlike the euro locks which you just have to turn to release the catch. But about a minute and a half later, and a very careful turn of the tension bar as the lock turned, I released the catch from the lock... job done.

Most doors these days are euro locks and, with these, are easy to unlock with very little effort at all.

Each pick is made well, and, even if they look and feel as if they could break in a heart beat, they have stood up to some pressure, even though to pick a lock you don't need any pressure really. But the picks are made to handle a bit of hassle. The tension bars are again, built well, although these have no cushioning over the handles, but as you need to feel the gentle pressure, or lack of it really, of the bar then I supposed a cushion on them would give you the wrong pressure and would make picking the lock a little harder.

The only negative is that the case is a little stupid, so to speak, dues to the fact that it is not like the one in the picture, it is one where there is a zipper that goes around three of the four sides, two short sides and one long side. This means that you need to unzip the entire length of the zipper, leaving the case flapping on one long side, which means that it's easy to forget that none of the picks are held in place securely, leaving you with picks all over the floor.
The case looks nice and holds all the picks and tension bars, but when it comes to opening it you have to be very careful.
On one side there is a little pocket which I have put the tension bars in, leaving the picks loose. I am on the look out for a new case which will hold the picks in place properly, maybe one with a bit of elastic in it or something, or maybe I'll try and re-design this one with a pair of scissors and a bit of twine.

In all, a nice little set with nice cushioned handles. The case is nice but be careful opening it or you'll end up dropping picks all over the floor.
(I'm thinking of making a video to show how easy it is picking a lock using these tools, if I do i'll upload it on here).

So, if you're interested in lock picking, or just want to give it a go, (but not on my doors please), then this is a nice set to start with as you'll be flying away in no time.

Well worth the money for a good set of picks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top quality, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Picking Set PXS-14 14 Piece Lock Pick Set (Misc.)
Top quality steel, nice gripes, and a very good case. I will buy again, Thank you.ooo ooo ooo ooo oooo/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate but not great, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Picking Set PXS-14 14 Piece Lock Pick Set (Misc.)
The tools are supplied with separate rubber handles which you need a little bit of patience to fit. The actual tools are quite flimsy and likely to bend with a little use. The case has only 1 pocket inside so all of the picks have to be put in there as a bunch so you have to take them all out to see which one you want to use. On hindsight I should have paid a little more and gone for better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, everywhere is now open for me!, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Picking Set PXS-14 14 Piece Lock Pick Set (Misc.)
Bought these as always enjoyed puzzles, locks being the next step. I don't know as not an expert, but the quality of these picks seems very good. I bought these as only wanted basic set to learn the art. Have successfully opened padlocks and other locks, but be warned the tools are only a small part, research and practice are needed. You have to get to know each lock very well. The pouch and handles in with the metal picks complete the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great service, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock Picking Set PXS-14 14 Piece Lock Pick Set (Misc.)
Turned up very quickly, great service and was a very good price too.
Would use this company again. Items are of top quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews