Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For many, an undiscovered gem
Yes, the sequel (Viva Blackpool) is bloody awful - but don't let that put you off: Blackpool itself is sensational.

The device of introducing big, corny song-and-dance numbers into drama-comedies was first introduced by Dennis Potter in Pennies from Heaven and The Singing Detective. Here the device works excellently. You can't walk through Blackpool without...
Published on 23 Sep 2007 by Dr. George L. Sik

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I remembered from the tv.
Blackpool not as good as I remembered from tv, maybe having seen it once I lost the element of surprise. The two David's (Tenant and Morrisey) are very good as are the rest of the cast. The sudden burst of song are fun. However at times I wanted it to move along faster and Viva Blackpool is inferior to the original and a bit of a disappointment.
Published on 11 Oct 2011 by KAW


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For many, an undiscovered gem, 23 Sep 2007
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, the sequel (Viva Blackpool) is bloody awful - but don't let that put you off: Blackpool itself is sensational.

The device of introducing big, corny song-and-dance numbers into drama-comedies was first introduced by Dennis Potter in Pennies from Heaven and The Singing Detective. Here the device works excellently. You can't walk through Blackpool without hearing music playing somewhere in the background, so why not?

This is an accomplished comedy-thriller, but the comedy never detracts from the thrills and nor do the thrills spoil the comedy. The BBC tried something similar with Funland, also set in Blackpool, some time later and it didn't really work. Here it is pitched perfectly: you care about the characters and you know that Ripley Holden is a tragic hero of positively Shakespearean proportions.

Brilliant from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It made me want to go to Blackpool!!!, 28 Dec 2007
By 
Dawn Finnigan (Durham (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
Yes - it really did! This 3 disc set is fabulous. Well - let's say that 2 of the discs were fabulous and watching disc 3 was a struggle, even when trying to be objective (there should have been just a little back story used...it was too far removed from the original series).

I loved Blackpool when it was on TV but this DVD set brings the whole drama back to life...and it's something that I can watch again and again - and then go to the music sections to watch them over yet again!!! My personal favourite is "Don't Leave Me This Way" as I love how the song intertwines all of the main characters and their feelings at that moment...

Superb performances from all of the lead actors...and also the supporting cast, especially the slithering accountant and the ever orange police superintendant! David Morrisey, Sarah Parrish and David Tennant are all at the top of their game in this - and how many nightdresses does Sarah's character get through in all of those bedroom scenes??? Favourite scene, the little boy lost look on Carlisle's face when he believes he has lost the love of his life forever - priceless!

DVD set recommended for a girl's night in (we have had a few nights of watching - and more to come no doubt!) A terrific drama that stands out from the crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! - apart from the sequel, 9 Jun 2007
This review is from: Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
I love Blackpool, it's definitely one of the BBC's best shows this side of the millennium - the brilliantly catchy songs, the Ripley/Natalie/Carlisle triangle - missed it when originally shown but it's fantastic. All three of the leads act their socks off, esp David Morrissey who was born to be Ripley - such a contrast to his character in the equally fab 'State of Play'. BIG BUT - the sequel is awful, twenty minutes in and I had to turn it off. Ripley's lost all of his spark and there's a big hole where Natalie and Carlisle's amazing chemistry used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A murder mystery comedy, 22 Aug 2007
This review is from: Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunately i missed it on telly but being a David Tennant fan bought the box set. Watched it start to finish in a day. Im not a fan of musicals but absolutely loved the song and dance sequences. Very strong performances from the three leads, superb casting!!! TV at its very finest, everything else is uninspired drivvle by comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional TV drama, 12 Sep 2007
This review is from: Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
Disclaimer: I haven't seen the follow up - my review is of the original series.

TV drama at its best, and clever into the bargain.

I only rented this because I wasn't sure, from what I had read, what I would make of it.

Now I've added it to my wishlist!

It's a bit of an odd concept - gritty northern drama meets musical meets murder investigation meets comedy - but it's very very well done, with a brilliant cast.

Morrissey is, as someone else has said, born to play this role; sleazy but compelling, by halfway through the first episode I very much wanted to see how he would turn out. A performance that makes what could have been a bit of a one-trick-pony character into a complex and interesting man, for whom, in spite of everything, one still has compassion. An outstanding performance.

Parish and Tennant are the heart of the drama, at turns heartbreaking, beautiful, and sexually charged.

Tennant in particular shines as the disciplined policeman falling into potential corruption and having his life turned upside down. Fascinating performance to watch and impossible to take your eyes off him in so many scenes. Compelling.

All the supporting cast are strong, down to workers at the amusement arcade, Ripley's family, the religious "nut" outside the front door (fantastic - better known as Filch in the Harry Potter movies but a brilliant cameo in this role) and, possibly a personal favourite, DCI Carlisle's (Tennant) sidekick Blythe.

Impeccable. Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All singing, all dancing great stuff!, 1 Oct 2007
This review is from: Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
I received this DVD from Amazon on Friday and watched it from start to finish on Saturday. I think I enjoyed watching it in one sitting far more than as a once-a-week series on television. David Morrissey is just brilliant as Ripley Holden, an absolute casting coup. The chemistry between David Tennant's and Sarah Parish's characters is electric, and I just love the song and dance routines the cast break in to periodically - they made me laugh out loud. It sounds like a bizarre concept (if you have not seen "The singing detective" or similar before, but it fits perfectly! An excellent supporting cast and fabulously gaudy sets make this a memorable and singular series. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A MUST BUY FOR DAVID TENNANT FANS", 12 Mar 2008
By 
V. Harrison (Rochester, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big David Tennant fan and if you love David like me then you must buy Blackpool, he is brilliant in this and absolutely gorgeous. I thought i would probably be buying Blackpool just cause he was in it but i loved it, it's very funny and David Morrisey is superb too. The music is great I have just brought the cd as well. So a BIG reccomendation go and buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The doctor dances!, 17 Sep 2008
This review is from: Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant script, superb acting, fun song and dance routines and of course David Tennant at his witty, sexy, gorgeous, brooding best. Personally I could have done without some of the musical numbers but that's just nit-picking. I have watched this DVD over and over again (great for filling in a couple of hours on a wet afternoon when you've got a pile of ironing to do!). I don't think I'll ever tire of the scene where he tells Sarah Parrish 'all the things we won't do.' Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackpool Fun, 13 July 2009
By 
E. Boer "moviefanatic" (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
The series Blackpool and Viva Blackpool is a join to watch. It is a hardhitting drama series, but because of the musical element it doesn't take it self too seriously. Some time you can almost cry from the heavy storyline and the next minute you are laughing because of the chosen song at that point. To have a great night in front of the telly, just buy this series and you wouldn't regret it.

Eddie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 24 Jan 2010
By 
Spyder (W. Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD] (DVD)
I highly recommend anyone go get this DVD, the acting is superb throughout and the music really compliments the scenes. Too often when songs are played in a movie/series you never get to hear the whole song, every song in this series is played to its entirety. Unlike a lot of reviews on here, my wife and I enjoyed the follow up, Viva Blackpool, I guess you need to see it as a stand alone episode which has little to do with its previous series. The music and acting quality are top notch in this follow up also. It's hard not to admire David Tennant's work, from Dr Who to Casanova and others, this DVD set won't let you down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD]
Blackpool + Viva Blackpool 3 Disc Set [DVD] by David Tennant (DVD - 2007)
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews