Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars173
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2007
I have just wasted 2 hours of my life watching this truly awful film. And what's more I was conscious of every second passing. Its depiction of Jane Austen's life, work and family is a travesty - biographically and historically. The plot lacks pace, direction or credibility, the script is dire and the two leading actors weak and totally lacking in chemistry. Julie Walters, Maggie Smith and James Cromwell are all fine performers but, in this film, appear to have given up the unequal struggle with the leaden plot and script. The best performance comes from Laurence Fox as Mr Wisley. Even in his inarticulacy, he is infinitely more sexy than James McAvoy, whom he acts off the screen. The film appears to have been made to cash in on the success of the BBC's Pride and Prejudice amongst people who know nothing else of Jane Austen or her work. The references to the BBC series - characters, camera shots and dialogue - are so blatant as to be embarassing. In fact the whole thing is so bad it makes you cringe.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
Have not seen it yet but looking forward to it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Ex price,arr in super quick time-thank u
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Good product, arrived on time, no problems. Anne Hathaway doesn't inhabit the skin of Jane Austin for me. Disappointed with the direction and script of the film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
GREAT DVD NO PROBLEMS.THANK YOU.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
Loved it a varity of emotions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
great seller, happy with DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
it was excellent and im very pleased. The product also came with the original cover as i wanted.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2008
OK, it's not an exact account of Austens life, but if you just look at it as a film, not a factual documenturey, it's a very good film, with a very touching ending. Lovely scenerey and the acting is very good. Especially from James McAvoy (plus his eyes are gorgeous all through it!). I'm a big fan of Austens work and I thought this was a great film, well worth a watch.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2007
I love this movie despite the rather melancholic feeling i get towards the end of the film...
Anne Hathaway did a great job portraying a rather active Jane Austen! James McAvoy is as always divine in any role that he plays and he did a wonderful job here as a suave Thomas Lefroy.. I really believe Jane Austen could have been totally attracted to this young brash fella in her youth!
This is definite must-watch for all Jane Austen fans... a smart, beautiful & entertaining movie! Love the extras too esp the making-of parts..wish there were more!!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)