Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars75
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£17.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 2 June 2010
very funny series. great characters. standard on a par with faulty towers and dads army.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 5 March 2013
Is it really thirty years since this was on our television screens? Brilliantly written and superbly cast, Brass has long been one of my all-time television favourites and the discovery that it was available on DVD made my day. Although Timothy West is clearly the leading character, the "star", Brass owes much of its humour to a very strong cast of actors, able to portray and caricature life in a nothern mill town in an age gone by. This was a very funny series when it was first shown and it still is - and it still makes me laugh.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Hardacres v. Fairchilds, the first series comfortably over 30 years old, the last some 25 or so. Still not beaten as a pastiche of so many different targets it is hard to keep track. Accents, drama series, every class, sacred cows galore, no target is safe and all are pretty mercilessly beaten up, though the writers are clearly quite fond of many. A talented cast going right over the top with repeated jokes, catch-phrases and legs pulled on 'worthier' dramas. So much so that the shows are seriously endangered, and boy, did some of them warrant it.

The viewer needs to invest quite heavily in deliberate suspension of disbelief, without this and an appreciation of physical comedy there is little point in viewing. Given such a predisposition the viewer is in for a good deal of fun.

Utterly implausible, and quite daring to take on such a diversity of targets all at once, this could have quite easily have resulted in a howler of a failure. I feel it came close, but it is saved by the cast treating it all absolutely straight, however unlikely the scenario, how they managed to keep straight-faced through some scenes is quite hard to imagine. I can't help wondering whether subsequent costume dramas may well have been a bit better as a result of their avoiding comparison to this series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 1 September 2013
I'm so glad I bought this. It has all the best black humour as well as some silly bits, but it's the details that leave me coming back for more. The joke of the the sons Austin, Morris and Bentley has been noted, but I took me a couple of weeks to cotton on to the joke of Morris' bear Hesketh (the mascot of Hesketh Racing who James Hunt won his first GP for was a teddy bear).

No additional bits, but who cares when the original is so good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 March 2012
Brass is funnier if you know a bit of history I think. It's set in the 1930s and has references to the Kennedy family when Joe was American Ambassador. The scientist Alexander Fleming (he discovered penicillin in a dish of mould) gets fired by Bradley Hardacre because his corner of the lab is filthy. 'Look at the mould in this saucer - you could grow tomatoes on that!' I watch every episode twice as jokes get missed first time round.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 August 2009
It had been so long since i had seen this program that i thought that it was lost forever. I sent an e-mail to ITV who reccomended Amazon so i looked and to my surprise there it was, so i bought it.
I was not dissappointed the series is pure clever witty comedy something that is sadly lacking nowadays. One of the best buys i have made and in the future i will check with Amazon if there is anything that i cannot find.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 23 August 2010
I loved this as a little kid but while I laughed at the many physical gags, a lot of the parody, political referencing and double entendre went totally over my head. What a treat to re-visit this all these years later as an adult and appreciate the whole point of the programme, which as a 9 year old was completely lost on me. If you like parody, pastiche and incredibly clever verbal comedy then this series is for you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 29 May 2012
There wasn't much to laugh at in the 80s but there was - gloriously, unforgettably - Brass, which over the course of three series told the story of the feuding families of the utterly northern mining village of, well, Utterly. Self-made man and owner of the village mine, mill and munitions factory, Bradley is the head of the Hardacre clan, which comprises his three sons, Bentley (deceased), Austin and Morris; as well as two daughters, Charlotte (passionate about doing good works and, says her father, "innocent to the point of simplicity") and Isabel, whose bedpost is more notch than wood. Then there's his wife, Lady Patience, a wheelchair-user ever since her terrible tambourine accident.

On the other side of the colliery tracks is the Fairchild family. George, its nominal head, worships the ground his employer Bradley treads him into, while his magnificently-cleavaged wife Agnes, so poor-but-proud that she irons her clothes before washing them, rails with fury at all life throws at her. They have two sons. One is hardworking Jack, who has inherited his mother's socialist leanings, but is periodically diverted from bringing down capitalism by his secret and exhausting life as Isabel's sex-monkey. ("I love him hopelessly! Passionately! Recklessly! Frequently.") The other is poetry-writing Matt, who is determined, once he has made the final payments on the family pencil, to go to Cambridge despite his love for Charlotte H ("Thou are more lovely and more interesting/Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May but that's quite another thing") and his good job - "a job wi' a stool!" - at the mine works.

The winters being cold, television being uninvented and the demands of Lawrentian parody being what they are, most of one family ends up sleeping with most of the other to pass the time and/or relieve the strains occasioned by the latest mill, mine or munitions disaster caused by Bradley Hardacre's less-than-zealous approach to health and safety ("Everything possible is being done, short of risking damage to valuable equipment") until their lives and fates are inextricably entwined.

The pastiches - of BBC costume dramas, kitchen-sink plays, the gritty north of art, literature and legend - never let up, supplemented by plenty of visual gags (from Bradley's favourite dish of lobster and chips to Lady Patience delicately spooning her gin and tonic hors d'oeuvre into her mouth before falling gracefully face-first into her bowl). Innuendo - which, done right, is the lowest form of wit - abounds. "Oh Matt," sobs Charlotte as he bids her farewell. "I shall always wonder how many poems the lead in your pencil would have been good for!"

They all talk in great, long, high-flown, hyperbolic sentences and the whole thing is essentially one long jazz-riff of daftness with actors and writers all seeing just how far out they can go and still bring everything safely back. It's a joy. Or, as they would doubtless say in Utterly, it's awreet, if you like laffin'.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 14 December 2010
I remember seeing Brass on the TV and thoroughly enjoying it but was disappointed when the TV channel failed to play repeats. I couldn't resist buying Brass- it is such a good show and all the characters are great. It's so humorous and a real send-up of this kind of melodrama.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 31 August 2009
This series is simply rollocking good fun. There's so much tongue in cheek humour you may need facial surgery, and so un-PC as to deliver loads of laughs targeting the funniest subject of the lot...human beings, their hang-ups and behaviours.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
Find Brass Music CDs & DVDs At The Juilliard Store. Shop Online!