Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars49
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2007
Season 5 continues where season 4 left off with a few select members of DS9 undergoing surgery to infiltrate the klingon to empire in order to root out a dominion impostor. The 5th season borders on brilliance with fantastic episodes like the ship, the mid season 2 parter (in purgatory's shadow & in infernos light) before leading to a spectacular season finale which sets up for season 6.Along the way there's some great episodes like rapture when the stations biggest crook & security chief are marooned together on an isolated planet & the genuinely tense & chilling empok nor one of the best episodes of DS9. These are just a few of the great episodes in this a great season of drama & action at a great price.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2008
In what is a fantastic series all the way through, season 5 is in my opinion a stand out season. The Dominion story arc really kicks off, and the final episode is one of the best of the whole run. 5/5 easy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
Ok, I know that there are die heart Star Trek fans who would disagree with me but I think Deep Space 9 is the best Star Trek series. The reason is the humor. I love the humor, and I love the character development in Deep Space 9. It tells you who these individuals are. Better acting and casting. I love the Frenghi character Quark. I think he is my favorite Star Trek character. I like the idea of shape shifters.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2004
Ds9 season 5 starts of well,The first 3 episodes are very watchable,4 episodes on 1 disc youll enjoy the first disc for sure.It starts off carrying on the story from season 4 with Sisko,Worf,Odo and O Brien going undercover as klingons deep into klingon territory to unravel a mstery with the changlings(Odos people)The dominion has secret agents disguised as klingons and the crew have to expose just 1 to stop a war that the dominion wants a war that will cripple Cardassia.
The 2nd episode simple titled The ship is a siege type situation involving the crew and a crashed jem hadar ship and a secret in the ship.
The 3rd episode sees Quark having to fight hand to hand combat with Worfs help to win over his ex Klingon wife,stange but true,a subplot thats contiued from season 3 an episode called The House of Quark.
Eventually the crew of ds9 and starfleet get brand new uniforms that are grey that becomes the new uniform for the Federation.This happens midway through the season.
There are some very strong episodes aswell such as Things past,which sees Garak,Odo,Dax and Sisko being forced to relive events in the lives and events of 4 Bajorans convicted of trying to murder Gul Dukat.one of the few occupation style episodes.An episode which is very polular among most star trek fans is Trials and Tribble-Ations were the crew go back intime to Kirks era,the blending in of the past and present people and ships is quite genius.1 more very strong episode worh mentioning is Soldiers of the Empire which is if your a Klingon fan, youll really love, as it was based around what a series of star trek klingon would be like,based mainly on a kilingon ship you get to see the inside of it for most of the episode.
All in all a good season no real terrible episodes in my opinion only maybe 2 poor ones but thats it, mostly good,I think season 4 might be slightly better though as far as quality goes,but only just.The
extras on the dvd are the crew profile of Miles O brien and as always several hidden but easily found extra clips of interviews to watch found very easily by clicking on a map of the station.Also thers at least 4 documentries,one being the ferengi culture,two the aliens of season 5,three inside ds9 and 2 more about Trials and Tribble-ations and a photo gallery.pheww,
you also get a token to collect special merchandide,1 comes with every ds9 season.The extras are well worth seeing for europeans as thers hardly ever any interviews from the cast on european tv.Id recommend buying this if you really like ds9 or even just star trek.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2006
The viewing figures for this series were always ok but not great... yet this Star Trek spin-off is by far the most critically acclaimed. Why then does nobody listen one of the times they're actually right?
DS9 with its long story arcs and developed characters is far more addictive then almost any other sci-fi tv show... much darker than the other ST shows it is indeed enjoyable and for 6 disks is a bargain. Buy now before Paramount decides to stop even making the DVDs.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
The Deep Space Nine series is one of my favourites of the Star Trek franchise. Season 5 has some wonderful episodes including the hybrid Original Series/Deep Space Nine commemorative episode titled "Trials and Tribble-ations". It is seamlessly done and funny to boot. I do love the two guys sent from the temporal police to sort the anomaly out. And Dax in a mini skirt should appeal too.

The only downside is that the picture quality is quite video on this series of DVDs. No sprucing up for modern TV picture quality so the colours can be a bit... murky. Not High Definition quality by any stretch of the imagination. A good buy for fans of the series or anyone wanting to watch them all to see which ones they missed on TV the first few times around.

The characters and stories retain their appeal, and that is what made Deep Space Nine such a good series. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
Since getting a real shot in the arm with Worf's arrival in season four, season five capitalises on the strengths of the show with provoking, touching and downright excellent episode.

Best on the DVD is "Trials and Tribble-ations", the best tribute to the original Star Trek series there has ever been. Other highlights in the early part of the season include the Tarantino inspired "The Ship", the Cyrano de Bergerac homage of "Looking for par'Mach in All the Wrong Places", the excellent "The Ascent", where Rene Auberjonois and Armin Shimerman have many brilliant scenes together, and the touching "The Begotten".

Later in the season is "In Purgatory's Shadow" and "By Inferno's Light", where the Dominion invades, setting the scene for the Dominion War. The season is wrapped up with the excellent "Call to Arms", the best Star Trek cliffhanger since "The Best of Both Worlds".
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2008
Season 5 starts with Apocalypse (Great) and ends in Call of arms (great) If you are a DS9 fan or not then this is for you buy it sit down watch enjoy and get yourself ready for season 6 i promise you won't regreat it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Probably my least favourite Star Trek franchise but still enjoyable. I have the box set of all the series but it's out of warranty. However one of the discs from series 5 was faulty so I bought this just to replace that disc.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
As a huge Star Trek fan, this series was always my least favorite when it first aired back in 1993. Possibly due to it been very dark in nature and also too militaristic. However, years later I decided to purchase the slimline box sets(Excellent value) and the show has proved a sensation.
Well acted,good story arcs as well as stand alone episodes. There is more humour than I thought too which has pleasantly surprised me.
If you get the chance, I recommend this sci-fi show from the 1990s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse