Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars100
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£21.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2004
The first season of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine was a very interesting beginning. We discovered in the first episode that we would be staying in one place, exploring a little but dealing much more with the Bajoran people and how they are recovering from years of occupation, along with their grooming to be new members of the United Federation of Planets. Past Trek shows have been on a ship, but this show would take place on a space station. One thing this means is that they can't run away from their problems. If something comes up, they have to deal with it, and the consequences of the problem could very well come back and haunt the crew later on. Recurring characters (Garak and Dukat are introduced in the first season, along with Keiko O'Brien coming over from Next Generation) abound, and relationships are allowed to grow and change. These characters are not static like the Next Generation characters generally were. I can't see much of a difference between William Riker in season 1 and William Riker in season 7 of Next Generation. Kira Nerys, on the other hand, has changed greatly just within season 1 of Deep Space Nine
I was really glad when all seven seasons came out in DVD boxed sets. The presentation is wonderful, with four episodes per disc (except the first one, which includes the 2-hour premiere). The menus are great, with the Deep Space Nine theme projecting majestically from the speakers. It's always been my favourite of all the themes anyway. After you choose an episode, you then can either play it, press "set up" (where you set up your audio and subtitle options), "chapter log" (where you can go to any scene), or return to the main menu.
There are six discs in the set, with the first five containing the episodes and then the sixth being a bunch of specials. There is a documentary on the first season, called "A Bold Beginning." There's a crew dossier on Kira Nerys, the secrets of Quark's bar, a sketchbook of production sketches and a little bit about alien props. There are also a bunch of easter eggs on this disc, with other crew dossiers and little interesting tidbits about the actors and their roles. We hear about how they got their part and what their feelings are about their characters. Some of the interviews are from the first season, when the actors didn't know where their characters were going. Others are from after the show, or during the last season. They're par for the course for actors' interviews, so if you're naturally bored by them, you won't find much of interest here. If you like the show, though, they're intriguing.
All in all, this is a wonderful collection of episodes. The picture quality is wonderful, with the exception of one episode, but I'm sure that's just on my edition. "The Storyteller" made my DVD player have conniptions, and I had already had so much hassle with Columbia House that I wasn't going to try and deal with them to get a better copy. It's just one episode, though. The packaging is interesting and sturdy, with two fold-out covers revealing the plastic disc trays. The overall quality of these discs is quite high. Only the quality of some of the episodes themselves brings the rating of the boxed set down to 4 stars. They had a rough patch in the middle of the season.
As for the episodes themselves, they are like many first seasons of shows gone by, with some standout episodes, some strong ones with weaknesses, and quite a few misses as they try to find their legs. The best two actually end the season, as "Duet" (the story of a Cardassian war criminal coming back to Bajor which is not necessarily what it appears) and "In the Hands of the Prophets" (dealing with the mixture of religion and schools, but also showcasing just how far Federation/Bajor relations have come, and how far they have to go). There are definitely some strong ones near the beginning, too, but there is a string of misses in the middle of the season that just makes you wonder. If it hadn't been for the strong opening, I may have really despaired.
This is a wonderful beginning to the Deep Space Nine odyssey, in my opinion the best Trek series out there.
David Roy
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 May 2007
The Star Trek DVDs have always been pricey, which has probably put a lot of fans off buying them. However, these slimline editions are £25 RRP, in comparison to original editions which I've seen retailing up to £85.

Also, like the The Next Generation slimlines, these contain ALL THE EXTRA CONTENT of the original editions. Essentially all that's different is the packaging, the disc covers, and of course, the price.

So, to summarise, the far more reasonable price tag makes these DVDs an essential purchase for DS9 fans, or Trek fans in general who want to own it all on DVD.
22 comments|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2003
Finally DS9 is released on DVD but it was well worth the wait. The boxset includes all the season 1 episodes as well as some brilliant special features, interviews with the cast, the making of DS9, and even features on the make up and model designs. All in all a fantastic buy for anyone who loves startrek. Buy it and Enjoy!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2004
I never caught much of DS9 when it was first shown on TV, mainly due to being out of the country and not having English TV to watch. The episodes that I did catch I enjoyed, although not having senn many episodes much of the back story was a mystery to me. So when the DVDs came out I decided to buy them all and watch it from the beginning.
What can I say but wow! The way the overall story arcs interweave through out the series, such as Dukat and Kai Winn, the emmisary story lines and the Dominion war puts it streets ahead of the "Pick up and Drop" nature of TNG. In a way it reminds me of the Babylon 5 (which is my all time favourite SF show) story lines were something happens and in a few more series it gets referred back to and suddenly it all makes sense.
Also, unlike TNGs "everything always turns out alright in the end" typical Star Trek stories, in DS9 sometimes things go tragically wrong (Duet springs to mind).
The evolution of the characters throughout the series is far superior to other ST franchises. Lets face it in TNG, apart from Data getting a little more human and Worf occasionally smiling, the characters ended the series much as they started it. The fact as well that the characters in DS9 frequently conflicted with each other and had their own agenders other than the perfect idea of Federation paradise added a grittier feel to the series.
Overall DS9 is darker, grittier and dirtier than other ST offerings, which is possibly why a lot of hardened fans didn't like it as it ruined the idea of a utopian Federation, but dont let that put you off. Its a roller coaster of a ride, from the relativley slow begining of series 1 through to the adrenaline pumping close of series 7. Buy them all, you won't be disappointed.
33 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2003
DS9 was widely critisised and still has many who feel that is was not a true Trek, however this is its strenght. All the other Treks (from the original to the latest Enterprise) are ongoing repeats of fly somewhere, meet aliens, something happens, story ends..next episode and repeat same. Whilst in each series this was generally done well, DS9 tried something very different and I believe delivered a masterpiece.
TNG and Voyager improved with each series (lets hope that Enterprise does the same!) and begun to create story threads, but the very essence of DS9 was the interwoven story line that kicked in with the first episode and how it was allowed to develop over the entire series. Moreover we were also treated to the development of both characters and cultures which never really happened to any great degree in the other series. DS9 was also ready to explore both the dark and light of personalities and cultures and delivered some outstanding moments of laughter and tears.
I am delighted that at last the DVD series is issued, perhaps this will allow even more to appreciate the true quality of DS9.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2003
By far, the best incarnation of Gene Roddenberry's Star Trek universe. A series that started off darkly, only got better and better as it went on, and Im glad that it has made its way onto the DVD format. The character chemistry between Odo and Quark is made obvious and is likened to that of Spock and McCoy. Avery Brooks is spellbounding as Commander Benjamin Sisko, who appears at all times, to be in control of the often chaotic surroundings of the Cardassian space stations. Over all, an amazing first season and well worth the money and wait.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2003
5/5 and worth it!
This is where DS9 began and the quality really shines through. The 1 and a half hour opener 'Emissary' is almost worth the cost of the DVD's on its own. This season is filled with talent and humor and provides some of my favourite Star Trek episodes ever made. 'Duet' and 'In The Hands Of The Prophets' are some of the most fantastic, deeply subtle episodes ever made for DS9 and they still pack one hell of a punch. All the episodes are of good quality and enjoyable and watching the cast beginning to work together and to grow is incredibly emotional. Watching some of Kira and Odo's struggles to define themselves had me in tears.
This series defined what DS9 was and where it would go. It is pivotal to own, whether it's a stand-alone or the start of a collection of the seven seasons. My envy goes out to those who haven't yet seen DS9, for here is a rollercoaster story that will change your lives.
'A legend never dies...' Bajoran proverb
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2009
Languages :
Dolby Digital 5.1 : english & German
Surrond : French, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles :
English, English for the hearing impaired, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Spanish, Swedish.

I have bought the 7 seasons on amazon.uk and they are all the same about audio and subtitles.

Some words for french dudes :
La VF est bien "française" et pas "québecoise", ce sont exactement les mêmes DVD que ceux vendus en France / Belgique, seules les jaquettes (en anglais) changent. Ah oui, et le prix aussi, bien plus léger (15 / box au cours actuel contre 30 par box chez nous).
Pour info, j'ai commandé les 7 saisons de Deep Space Nine et au niveau audio / sous-titre, c'est pareil sur les 6 autres coffrets.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2003
Be very careful when opening these box sets! The joints are rather weak and broke when I opened the lid a bit too far, with both season 1 and 2. The plastic they used is much weaker compared to the plastic of the TNG-boxes, which is much sturdier.
Now for the contents: Season 1 is a bit of a mixed bag, with good and bad episodes. My favourite episodes are: Emissary, Past prologue, Dax, Move along home, The Nagus, Battle lines, Progress, Dramatis Personae, Duet, In the hands of the prophets.
The extra features are also rather good. I particularly enjoyed seeing Armin Shimerman (Quark) without make-up in one of the hidden files. Beware of spoilers in “Kira Nerys's crew dossier”!
This set deserves 5 stars, but because of the weak casing I give it 4 stars.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2003
Can't wait to own DS9 on DVD. DS9 was always considered the black sheep of the Star Trek family, and in many ways it was... however, given that the franchise has stretched for some 35 years and is almost totally bereft of creative spark nowadays (just look at the waste of film that was Voyager) that is no bad thing. DS9 was the Trek series that dared to take risks...it pushed the boundaries of what TV sci-fi could do, and at its best it pushed the boundaries of what television itself could achieve. Bold, daring, inventive, dark, twisted, complex, funny, intelligent...DS9 was all of those things.
Granted, this first season was a bit of a mixed bag. Despite an assured debut (Emissary is still the best of the Trek pilots by a long shot), the season meandered with rather nodescript plots some of which felt like TNG castaways. DS9 was afraid to be that much different to TNG: there are umpteen TNG crossovers. DS9 wasn't being allowed to truly be itself and plays to its own strengths until the final two episodes of the season, the stunningly powerful holocaust allegory 'Duet' and the impressive season finale. Those two episodes demonstrate just how could DS9 can - and would - be. Shame it took so long to get there.
Nonetheless, I'm still looking forward to owning season one. The highlights are: Emissary, Captive Pursuit, Battle Lines, Progress, duet and In the Hands of the Prophets. The low points are: Babel, The Passenger, Move Along Home and Q-Less.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse