Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first season of the best Trek show out there
The first season of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine was a very interesting beginning. We discovered in the first episode that we would be staying in one place, exploring a little but dealing much more with the Bajoran people and how they are recovering from years of occupation, along with their grooming to be new members of the United Federation of Planets. Past Trek shows...
Published on 29 Nov. 2004 by David Roy

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best star trek show starts off ok...
STDS9 is the best of all the Star Trek shows in my opinion. It,s more ambitious than STNG and more intelligent than Voyager. No wishy-washy counselors or sexy borg-babes in sight; just well-rounded three-dimensional characters living in a real world where actions have consequences. To rewatch the first season of such a show is like watching
a beautiful flower before...
Published on 1 Nov. 2007 by micheal zeeland


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first season of the best Trek show out there, 29 Nov. 2004
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
The first season of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine was a very interesting beginning. We discovered in the first episode that we would be staying in one place, exploring a little but dealing much more with the Bajoran people and how they are recovering from years of occupation, along with their grooming to be new members of the United Federation of Planets. Past Trek shows have been on a ship, but this show would take place on a space station. One thing this means is that they can't run away from their problems. If something comes up, they have to deal with it, and the consequences of the problem could very well come back and haunt the crew later on. Recurring characters (Garak and Dukat are introduced in the first season, along with Keiko O'Brien coming over from Next Generation) abound, and relationships are allowed to grow and change. These characters are not static like the Next Generation characters generally were. I can't see much of a difference between William Riker in season 1 and William Riker in season 7 of Next Generation. Kira Nerys, on the other hand, has changed greatly just within season 1 of Deep Space Nine
I was really glad when all seven seasons came out in DVD boxed sets. The presentation is wonderful, with four episodes per disc (except the first one, which includes the 2-hour premiere). The menus are great, with the Deep Space Nine theme projecting majestically from the speakers. It's always been my favourite of all the themes anyway. After you choose an episode, you then can either play it, press "set up" (where you set up your audio and subtitle options), "chapter log" (where you can go to any scene), or return to the main menu.
There are six discs in the set, with the first five containing the episodes and then the sixth being a bunch of specials. There is a documentary on the first season, called "A Bold Beginning." There's a crew dossier on Kira Nerys, the secrets of Quark's bar, a sketchbook of production sketches and a little bit about alien props. There are also a bunch of easter eggs on this disc, with other crew dossiers and little interesting tidbits about the actors and their roles. We hear about how they got their part and what their feelings are about their characters. Some of the interviews are from the first season, when the actors didn't know where their characters were going. Others are from after the show, or during the last season. They're par for the course for actors' interviews, so if you're naturally bored by them, you won't find much of interest here. If you like the show, though, they're intriguing.
All in all, this is a wonderful collection of episodes. The picture quality is wonderful, with the exception of one episode, but I'm sure that's just on my edition. "The Storyteller" made my DVD player have conniptions, and I had already had so much hassle with Columbia House that I wasn't going to try and deal with them to get a better copy. It's just one episode, though. The packaging is interesting and sturdy, with two fold-out covers revealing the plastic disc trays. The overall quality of these discs is quite high. Only the quality of some of the episodes themselves brings the rating of the boxed set down to 4 stars. They had a rough patch in the middle of the season.
As for the episodes themselves, they are like many first seasons of shows gone by, with some standout episodes, some strong ones with weaknesses, and quite a few misses as they try to find their legs. The best two actually end the season, as "Duet" (the story of a Cardassian war criminal coming back to Bajor which is not necessarily what it appears) and "In the Hands of the Prophets" (dealing with the mixture of religion and schools, but also showcasing just how far Federation/Bajor relations have come, and how far they have to go). There are definitely some strong ones near the beginning, too, but there is a string of misses in the middle of the season that just makes you wonder. If it hadn't been for the strong opening, I may have really despaired.
This is a wonderful beginning to the Deep Space Nine odyssey, in my opinion the best Trek series out there.
David Roy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't already own DS9 on DVD, now's the time, 1 May 2007
By 
J. Day "Swift" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek - Deep Space Nine - Series 1 (Slimline Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
The Star Trek DVDs have always been pricey, which has probably put a lot of fans off buying them. However, these slimline editions are £25 RRP, in comparison to original editions which I've seen retailing up to £85.

Also, like the The Next Generation slimlines, these contain ALL THE EXTRA CONTENT of the original editions. Essentially all that's different is the packaging, the disc covers, and of course, the price.

So, to summarise, the far more reasonable price tag makes these DVDs an essential purchase for DS9 fans, or Trek fans in general who want to own it all on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DS9 it's about time!, 4 April 2003
By 
A. Walmsley "neferkaya" (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finally DS9 is released on DVD but it was well worth the wait. The boxset includes all the season 1 episodes as well as some brilliant special features, interviews with the cast, the making of DS9, and even features on the make up and model designs. All in all a fantastic buy for anyone who loves startrek. Buy it and Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DS 9 - The Best of Trek, 22 Sept. 2004
By 
mark burniston (redcar, cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I never caught much of DS9 when it was first shown on TV, mainly due to being out of the country and not having English TV to watch. The episodes that I did catch I enjoyed, although not having senn many episodes much of the back story was a mystery to me. So when the DVDs came out I decided to buy them all and watch it from the beginning.
What can I say but wow! The way the overall story arcs interweave through out the series, such as Dukat and Kai Winn, the emmisary story lines and the Dominion war puts it streets ahead of the "Pick up and Drop" nature of TNG. In a way it reminds me of the Babylon 5 (which is my all time favourite SF show) story lines were something happens and in a few more series it gets referred back to and suddenly it all makes sense.
Also, unlike TNGs "everything always turns out alright in the end" typical Star Trek stories, in DS9 sometimes things go tragically wrong (Duet springs to mind).
The evolution of the characters throughout the series is far superior to other ST franchises. Lets face it in TNG, apart from Data getting a little more human and Worf occasionally smiling, the characters ended the series much as they started it. The fact as well that the characters in DS9 frequently conflicted with each other and had their own agenders other than the perfect idea of Federation paradise added a grittier feel to the series.
Overall DS9 is darker, grittier and dirtier than other ST offerings, which is possibly why a lot of hardened fans didn't like it as it ruined the idea of a utopian Federation, but dont let that put you off. Its a roller coaster of a ride, from the relativley slow begining of series 1 through to the adrenaline pumping close of series 7. Buy them all, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It dared to be different and is the best Trek yet, 11 Mar. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DS9 was widely critisised and still has many who feel that is was not a true Trek, however this is its strenght. All the other Treks (from the original to the latest Enterprise) are ongoing repeats of fly somewhere, meet aliens, something happens, story ends..next episode and repeat same. Whilst in each series this was generally done well, DS9 tried something very different and I believe delivered a masterpiece.
TNG and Voyager improved with each series (lets hope that Enterprise does the same!) and begun to create story threads, but the very essence of DS9 was the interwoven story line that kicked in with the first episode and how it was allowed to develop over the entire series. Moreover we were also treated to the development of both characters and cultures which never really happened to any great degree in the other series. DS9 was also ready to explore both the dark and light of personalities and cultures and delivered some outstanding moments of laughter and tears.
I am delighted that at last the DVD series is issued, perhaps this will allow even more to appreciate the true quality of DS9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, bad picture, 21 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek - Deep Space Nine - Series 1 (Slimline Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
If you are considering purchasing this, then you probably know what DS9 is about- I won't go in to it. What I will go in to is the dvd picture quality. The picture could generously be described as being in "soft focus." In my estimation, it resembles the quality of pre-broadband internet streaming video. At times, the picture actually pixilates during shots where the camera moves quickly.

I try to tell myself while watching this that it's about as good as a VHS image. I suppose an excuse as to why it looks this way is that there are four episodes per disc, and that it was compressed for space. However I have several other tv shows that also sport four hour-long shows per disc, and they actually look quite good. I suspect that the versions of the episodes on these discs are actually transfers from the original broadcast VHS copies, and not the master films. I have nothing to back this up, but that is the only explanation that I can come up with as to why they look like such rubbish.

This is a great release if you're looking to catch-up on the stories and don't really care about image quality. The price is fantastic and the stories will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Space 9 - About time !!!!, 26 Mar. 2003
By far, the best incarnation of Gene Roddenberry's Star Trek universe. A series that started off darkly, only got better and better as it went on, and Im glad that it has made its way onto the DVD format. The character chemistry between Odo and Quark is made obvious and is likened to that of Spock and McCoy. Avery Brooks is spellbounding as Commander Benjamin Sisko, who appears at all times, to be in control of the often chaotic surroundings of the Cardassian space stations. Over all, an amazing first season and well worth the money and wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but subtitles are somewhat poor., 23 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Stevens (South East, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek - Deep Space Nine - Series 1 (Slimline Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
After having watched the whole of Season 1 since my purchase, I can't help but think the subtitles are done very badly compared to ST:TNG. Very often I can vaguely tell (I'm hard of hearing) that the subtitle text is missing out quite a big chunk of additional words voiced by the actors/actresses, perhaps occurring maybe 5 or 6 times per episode.

It's a minor annoyance as I don't want to miss out on any plot-relevant lines, otherwise I'll get confused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing!, 9 Nov. 2003
5/5 and worth it!
This is where DS9 began and the quality really shines through. The 1 and a half hour opener 'Emissary' is almost worth the cost of the DVD's on its own. This season is filled with talent and humor and provides some of my favourite Star Trek episodes ever made. 'Duet' and 'In The Hands Of The Prophets' are some of the most fantastic, deeply subtle episodes ever made for DS9 and they still pack one hell of a punch. All the episodes are of good quality and enjoyable and watching the cast beginning to work together and to grow is incredibly emotional. Watching some of Kira and Odo's struggles to define themselves had me in tears.
This series defined what DS9 was and where it would go. It is pivotal to own, whether it's a stand-alone or the start of a collection of the seven seasons. My envy goes out to those who haven't yet seen DS9, for here is a rollercoaster story that will change your lives.
'A legend never dies...' Bajoran proverb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Langages & subtitles, 12 Feb. 2009
By 
P. David (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek - Deep Space Nine - Series 1 (Slimline Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Languages :
Dolby Digital 5.1 : english & German
Surrond : French, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles :
English, English for the hearing impaired, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Spanish, Swedish.

I have bought the 7 seasons on amazon.uk and they are all the same about audio and subtitles.

Some words for french dudes :
La VF est bien "française" et pas "québecoise", ce sont exactement les mêmes DVD que ceux vendus en France / Belgique, seules les jaquettes (en anglais) changent. Ah oui, et le prix aussi, bien plus léger (15 / box au cours actuel contre 30 par box chez nous).
Pour info, j'ai commandé les 7 saisons de Deep Space Nine et au niveau audio / sous-titre, c'est pareil sur les 6 autres coffrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek - Deep Space Nine - Series 1 (Slimline Edition) [DVD]
£15.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews