Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Slice Of The Fifties
Double CD "Top 10 Hits Of The Fifties", contains all the original hit recordings. 38 top 10 UK hits are featured on this two CD album, with 20 of them UK number 1's that spent a staggering combined total of 96 weeks in the top position!!

The tracks are taken from the year 1950 through to 1957 and includes the number one record from the very first UK singles...
Published on 17 Oct 2009 by Mr. D. Barber

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
all as described -ok
Published 2 months ago by Jackthelad1951


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Slice Of The Fifties, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. D. Barber "dnb418" (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top 10 Hits Of The 50s - 50 Original Hits (Audio CD)
Double CD "Top 10 Hits Of The Fifties", contains all the original hit recordings. 38 top 10 UK hits are featured on this two CD album, with 20 of them UK number 1's that spent a staggering combined total of 96 weeks in the top position!!

The tracks are taken from the year 1950 through to 1957 and includes the number one record from the very first UK singles chart of 15 November 1952 Here In My Heart - Al Martino (#1 for 8 weeks).

I purchased this CD to have good quality copies of tracks that I own on vinyl; I wasn't disappointed

For me the highlights are:-
Mr. Sandman - The Chordettes,
Memories Are Made Of This - Dean Martin,
Unchained Melody [Inst] - Les Baxter, His Chorus & Orchestra,
Love Is A Many Splendoured Thing - The Four Aces (ft Al Alberts),
Sixteen Tons - Tennessee Ernie Ford,
Zambesi Lou Busch & His Orchestra
Music Music Music - Teresa Brewer
Just Walkin' In The Rain - Johnnie Ray
This Ole House - Rosemary Clooney
Hot Diggity - Perry Como
Three Coins In The Fountain - Frank Sinatra
Glow Worm - Mills Brothers
The Great Pretender - Platters, The
Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White [Inst] - Perez 'Prez' Prado & His Orchestra
That's Amore - Dean Martin
Secret Love - Doris Day
Young At Heart - Frank Sinatra
Green Door - Jim Lowe with The High Fives
Singing The Blues - Guy Mitchell
Why Do Fools Fall In Love - Frankie Lymon & The Teenagers
Only You - The Platters,
Answer Me (My Love) - Frankie Laine
Rose Marie - Slim Whitman
Don't Let The Stars Get In Your Eyes - Perry Como
Stranger In Paradise - Tony Bennett
Too Young - Nat "King" Cole

I was also very happy to see included A Woman In Love by Frankie Laine that until now, I only had on a very noisy 78 RPM

(The compilers have not added any rock and roll, presumably as it is available on so many other CD's)

All in all a nicely put together album, at an excellent price, that gives the listener a feel of what music was like in the golden fifties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tp 10 Hits of the 50s, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top 10 Hits Of The 50s - 50 Original Hits (Audio CD)
Great music from the 50s. Good to just listen to or play at a party. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything on one CD that I was looking for., 1 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top 10 Hits Of The 50s - 50 Original Hits (Audio CD)
I wanted a variety of music for a golden wedding that was relevant to the year we were married. Everything I wanted was on this CD. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Oldies Are The Best, 20 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top 10 Hits Of The 50s - 50 Original Hits (Audio CD)
Although the artists are not always the English version we remembered the songs are the ones we remembered, & it is nice to hear the words for a change not like todays so called stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top 10 hits of the 50s, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have had so much pleasure from this item - it took me back to my youth - absolutely fabulous!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service, 18 July 2012
By 
Mr. William Drain "WD40" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top 10 Hits Of The 50s - 50 Original Hits (Audio CD)
Bought this and others as a present and the recipient was delighted. Nostalgia at its best.
Relaxing and easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top 10 Hits Of The 50s - 50 Original Hits, 25 Feb 2012
This review is from: Top 10 Hits Of The 50s - 50 Original Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this disc to play when we celebrate the Queen's Jubilee. All the old hits brought back memories of my childhood. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top 10 Hits Of The 50s - 50 Original Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this for my mother's 80th birthday and she loves it! The deciding factor was Paul Anka's 'Diana', which my mum bought as a 45 record when it was first released, but it has so many other good songs on it. She hasn't been too well lately and this CD has brought a big smile back to her face!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all as described -ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... of the 50s back into your living room it's great value for the, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top 10 Hits Of The 50s - 50 Original Hits (Audio CD)
this cd really does bring the sound of the 50s back into your living room it's great value for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top 10 Hits Of The 50s - 50 Original Hits
Top 10 Hits Of The 50s - 50 Original Hits by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews