Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film's got Soul
This film is awesome. I can't compare it to seeing the broadway show as I've not been fortunate enough to see Dreamgirls on broadway. I would imagine that it loses a little something when converted to film, its usually the case. But You should never write a musical off, just because its on film. If this film taught me anything - it's that!

The songs are...
Published on 28 May 2007 by R. Keech

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A glamorous musical with a slightly thin story
Dreamgirls is a glamorous musical with the backbone of a music biopic propping up the plot. While the story is fiction it draws from other musicians' stories heavily and parallels with Diana Ross and the Supremes and Motown records are obvious from the offing.

Great performances from Jamie Foxx and Eddie Murphy brighten the films basic story. It's refreshing to...
Published on 18 Mar 2007 by O. Parker


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film's got Soul, 28 May 2007
By 
R. Keech (Berwick upon Tweed, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is awesome. I can't compare it to seeing the broadway show as I've not been fortunate enough to see Dreamgirls on broadway. I would imagine that it loses a little something when converted to film, its usually the case. But You should never write a musical off, just because its on film. If this film taught me anything - it's that!

The songs are fantastic and I think do justice to the Motown sound they are there to imitate, every song is performed with a lot of care and attention and I was drawn into the story pretty early on.

Jennifer Hudson is definitely the star of the show, but the supporting cast are what makes this film great. Beyonce does a great job of underplaying her voice for the majority of the film, which not only helps serve the dynamic between her character and Jennifer Hudson's - but also makes her delivery of the song "Listen" much stronger and more relevant to the story. Eddie Murphy is outstanding throughout and he takes the character of Jimmy Early on an extremely convincing emotional ride through fame, fortune, women and the pitfalls that such a life can bring. He's got a pretty good soulful voice on him too!

Jamie Foxx is also very good - though its clear that his skills lie more in acting than in singing. His character sings less frequently than any other of the main parts and you can kind of hear why (sorry Mr. Foxx). He's by no means awful, just understandably underused.

For me this film earns a solid 4 stars out of five - however, today its getting a 5 out of 5 from me purely to bring up the average that the first reviewer has caused with his 1 star rating. I know reviews are essentially one person pushing their views onto others but they are also meant to provide a rounded view from like minded individuals - especially on a site like this!

Ignore his review. If you like musicals and are open minded enough to realise that musicals are a current medium for telling stories (and not some stone age concept as you may have been lead to believe) then see this film. You'll enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Film FANTASTIC singing from Jennifer Hudson, 31 Mar 2008
By 
MJ King "MJK" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamgirls [1 Disc Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
First of all, this film is NOT the story of Diana Ross & the Supremes, no one in it sounds like either Ms Ross or the Supremes & there are no obvious Motown sounding songs in the film.

The film's story does take bits of the Supremes & Motown's history & clearly intends viewers to make the connections.

As such, 'Berry Gordy' (Curtis Taylor Jr. in the film, well acted by Jamie Foxx) comes out badly, being depicted as a money chasing white wannabe, dumbing down the `blackness' of his acts in order to sell records to (white) pop music buyers.

What the movie doesn't do is put this in context; making a success as a black person in 1960s America was harder than most modern day viewers could ever imagine. If it meant some compromises along the way in putting black artists on TV & in the charts & out of poverty then surely it was worth it. Today's black stars such as Oprah Whitney & Destiny' Child have testified how they were inspired by Diana Ross etc.

Anyway, back to the film. The acting is uniformly good, Eddie Murphy shows he can really sing, Beyoncé Knowles shows she can act as well as sing & the film is consistently interesting in showing glimces of a long gone time as well as how tough the music business can be.

In truth, if you don't like soul music then you might find the film boring though the amazing vocal performances of Jennifer Hudson should cure you of that pretty quick! (go to the scene where she sings "And I'm Telling You I'm Not Going" & then see if soul music still bores you!!)

Jennifer Hudson is the star of the film & well deserves the Oscar she got for her performance. Her acting is surprising good but her singing - sounding a lot like Aretha Franklin at her best - is simply out standing, & worth the price of the disk 100 times over!

She shows that Simon Cowell may know what music sells but knows nothing about quality & also effortlessly destroys the notion that singers like Duffy, Amy Winehouse & Joss Stone are `soul' singers.

This is a real `feel good' film that thanks to the quality of the singing, can be watched over & over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A glamorous musical with a slightly thin story, 18 Mar 2007
By 
O. Parker "opark_77" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamgirls [1 Disc Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
Dreamgirls is a glamorous musical with the backbone of a music biopic propping up the plot. While the story is fiction it draws from other musicians' stories heavily and parallels with Diana Ross and the Supremes and Motown records are obvious from the offing.

Great performances from Jamie Foxx and Eddie Murphy brighten the films basic story. It's refreshing to see Murphy in a decent role that it seems he's enjoying playing and he brings such charisma to the character that I wished I was watching the story of James "Thunder" Early some of the time. Foxx nails the driven manager of the band and it was wonderful seeing him play such a villainous and manipulative character. Beyonce Knowles is passable but Jennifer Hudson is the more charming of the Dreams themselves.

The songs were well performed but few stood out for me. I'm glad someone is still making musicals for the cinema and writer/director Bill Condon is leading a very thin pack of filmmakers in this genre; perhaps a little competition would raise the bar higher. All in all an enjoyable film thats well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if you like musicals, 21 May 2007
This review is from: Dreamgirls [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
I bought this from Amazon.com about 3 weeks ago. The first time I viewed the film I thought I had made a bad choice because it was hard to hear some of the dialogue due to background effects. That aside however, I found the HD quality very good and the vocals and acting are excellent. A lot of the dialogue is sung rather than spoken which adds to the enjoyment. Disc 2 is also filmed in HD and has excerpts from the screen tests as well as interviews with the wardrobe designers, set designers etc. All in all, a very enjoyable film. Especially if you like musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking Musical - Mind Blowing Performances., 31 May 2008
I've watched this film a couple of times since i've had it, i knew it was going to be brilliant, so i invested a little bit more in getting the 2 - disc showstopper edition, and i'm certainly glad i did.

Back in 1981 this film was originally performed as a Broadway musical, written by Tom Eyen and staring Jennifer Holiday, since then it has had a number of changes & new features added to it, the person most responsible for these changes being screenwriter & director Bill Condon, who I must point out did a brilliant job in bringing Dreamgirls to the big screen, the story itself is set in the 60's, has strong references to Motown, and is reminiscent of the Diana Ross and the Supremes era.

The film includes a strong, super talented cast including Beyonce Knowles who plays the beautiful girl who's secretly talented, and in the foreshadow of Effie (Jennifer), newcomer Jennifer Hudson who apparently won the part over 782 actresses, very much well deserved as she is an extraordinary singer and really fits her role as Effie, Eddie Murphy who plays James `Thunder' Early and imitates the vocal style of James Brown, Jamie Foxx who plays Curtis, a more deceitful character, and finally Anika Noni rose who joins up with Effie and Deena in the `Dreams`.

I never expected the film to be as extravagant, or as well put together as it was, it makes you laugh, cry and it draws you in and makes you feel that you are involved, the film has countless performances each song performed in a different setting, the songs also mark the events in the film, those were the things that really impressed me.

If you are planning to buy Dreamgirls, i highly recommend that you buy the 2-disc showstopper edition, as it takes you behind the scenes, and shows you how they made the film, it also contains exclusive interviews with various cast members, original auditions and screen tests and much more, you don't get this on the standard version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All that and then some!, 30 Aug 2007
By 
christgirl (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
I think my only regret is not watching this movie in the cinema, on a big screen, to get the full experience. It's wonderful! The opening scene, the music, the script, the characters evoke a myriad of emotions.
There is, however, no way of mentioning Dreamgirls without giving a mental standing ovation to Jennifer Hudson. She simply stole the show, which is actually a compliment to the other stars, especially Beyonce, that they allowed a 'newbie' to take such role while they played off her. With the famous 'I'm telling you I'm not going', she sealed the deal for her oscar.
The DVD is a collector's item, the movie is all that, and then some!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 July 2007
I completly dissagree with MOST reviews on this 2 disc DVD set. This film is fantastic! Don't listen to anyone else! This is a MUST HAVE movie. A tribute to Diana Ross and the Supremes. Here's how you know (Diana Ross and the Supremes THEN Deena Jones and the Dreams). This is a fantastic film about the lives and times of a girl group named the Dreamgirls.
They go bankrupt, fall out, cheat, split up and fall in love - through stardom! This looks like a really girly film - however it is sutable for men alike! It has fantastic acting and real life events built well structured in to the plot! BUY NOW WHILST STOCKS LAST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic pastiche; The Campbell Connection - brilliant!!, 15 Jun 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamgirls [1 Disc Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
If you watch this for the music alone, you'll love it even if the story's a little simplified. Superb original songs which to my mind are a significant enhancement on the Motown source material. The music has an extraordinarily complex articulation which despite this, does not overshadow its soul.

I hate musicals but I was enthralled by this one primarily for the music.

I would prefer to give it 3.5 stars to be honest because I feel the whole piece lacks a certain depth.

Extremely entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Hudson as Effie White is a name to reckon with, 29 May 2007
This review is from: Dreamgirls [1 Disc Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
A stellar cast ;Eddy Murphy, Jamie Foxx, Beyonce Knowles and Danny Glover. This mockumentary on Diana Ross and The Supremes (so you thought it was a work of pure fiction ?)has a brilliant soundtrack and great performances from everybody. However, in addition to the 4 names above, there is one newcomer who steals the show; Jennifer Hudson as Effie White is a name to reckon with. The former American Idol contestant shines in her first film; bright enough to win an Oscar.
Her feisty approach and confident demeanour even when she is eclipsed by Beyonce and sidelined by Foxx is memorable. She has it; reminiscent of Queen Latifah in 'Chicago'. She will go far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising, but somehow lacking, 1 April 2010
By 
Jennifer Malsingh (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamgirls [1 Disc Edition] [DVD] (DVD)
The idea behind Dreamgirls seems so great, and the stars in it are big talents. However, it never really comes together. Beyonce's vocal talents are completely wasted, in my opinion, and she seems a far cry from her usual gobsmacking big voice. Jennifer Hudson is certainly impressive vocal-wise, but the story doesn't really give her much time to come into her own. Jamie Foxx plays a fair enough villianous record exec, but it's fairly cliched.

The real star of this is Eddie Murphy. Man that guy has talent! Sure he's made some utter rubbish, but he is brilliant in this. His voice, his persona, it's all spot on. In fact, you should watch Dreamgirls just to see his performance, but don't expect fireworks from any of the rest of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamgirls [1 Disc Edition] [DVD]
Dreamgirls [1 Disc Edition] [DVD] by Bill Condon (DVD - 2007)
£2.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews