Customer Reviews
Dig


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT
I have just recently bought this cd. It is one of the best Jazz cd's I have heard. I cannot fault any of the tracks. The vocals are superb, and the backing is 'Spot on'. Stand out track has to be 'Vanishing Point'. I really cannot put into words how Good this cd is. Have a listen and see for yourself!. You won't be dissapointed.
Published on 13 Jan. 2004 by Patrick A. Hearse

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Enduring Style of Boz Scaggs - "Dig" this!
This record has been promoted as the new `Silk Degrees', Boz's multimillion seller from 1976. On listening though, it is nothing like the acclaimed meisterwerk; in fact, sonically it bears more resemblance to the quieter numbers on 1994's `Some Change', while `Get on the Natch' and `Call That Love' on the album are straight blues more reminiscent of 1997's `Come On...
Published on 10 Jan. 2010 by Mr. Neil G. Macalpine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 13 Jan. 2004
By 
Patrick A. Hearse "kandycottage" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dig (Audio CD)
I have just recently bought this cd. It is one of the best Jazz cd's I have heard. I cannot fault any of the tracks. The vocals are superb, and the backing is 'Spot on'. Stand out track has to be 'Vanishing Point'. I really cannot put into words how Good this cd is. Have a listen and see for yourself!. You won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Enduring Style of Boz Scaggs - "Dig" this!, 10 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. Neil G. Macalpine "Northern Light" (Rossie Braes, near Montrose.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dig (Audio CD)
This record has been promoted as the new `Silk Degrees', Boz's multimillion seller from 1976. On listening though, it is nothing like the acclaimed meisterwerk; in fact, sonically it bears more resemblance to the quieter numbers on 1994's `Some Change', while `Get on the Natch' and `Call That Love' on the album are straight blues more reminiscent of 1997's `Come On Home'.
The album appears to be conceptualised as two sides of a record, the first 4 songs lulling you in like a sonic lullaby, then moving onto the blues, then soul in later songs like `You're Not'.
The difference is that the previous two albums were produced by Boz while here the textures are provided by Danny Kortchmar - whose guitar sound is all over the record- and David Paich, the latter being the musical arranger and keyboard player on `Degrees'.
Boz sings very well, about loves' lost and found, being an ongoing speciality with Boz since his earliest solo albums. `King of El Paso' and `Vanishing Point' are more reflective pieces on American characters on the road to perdition, a mix of Jack Kerouac and his beloved rhythm and blues lyrical themes.
After a few plays the album comes to life, and the different musical styles come out of the mix, becoming a stylistically varied album.
Overall then, it is not `Silk Degrees Mk II', but why should it be? That album was a continuation of the styles he had been mining up to then, as is this one, a summation even.
This is the latest Boz album, and is a very worthy addition to Boz's canon, and in continuing the "variations on that theme" he sings about in `Thanks To You' he remains a continuing pleasure to his fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 May 2006
By 
Friendlycard (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig (Audio CD)
This is a really excellent CD, and once again demonstrates Boz Scaggs' remarkable versatility. As others have said, 'Vanishing Point' is the stand-out track, but the whole CD is excellent. The only reason for not giving this one all five stars is that I prefer "Some Change" and "Come on Home".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boz is back., 26 Sept. 2001
By 
This review is from: Dig (Audio CD)
This album deserves to be a smash. There isn't a bad track on it. My favourite at the moment is Vanishing Point. Boz has a superb voice and his guitar playing on this is excellent. His best since Silk Degrees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure class !, 10 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Dig (Audio CD)
I bought this CD after hearing Miss Riddle on a Jazz FM compilation. I loved the lazy, atmospheric, West Coast feel of that track. I'm pleased to report that there are several tracks with a similar groove on this CD, namely 'Thanks To You' and 'Desire'. Other tracks have more blues, pop and R&B influences but all benefit from Scaggs' distinctive vocals, the input of quality musicians and excellent production. All-in-all, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dig by boz scaggs, 12 Nov. 2009
By 
D. P. Binns (featherstone .west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dig (Audio CD)
a really cool chill type of album.great courd changes making most of the songs slow but very listenable.boz has a really clear voice.very much like terry callier.well worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best cds in my collection, 16 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig (Audio CD)
this album is by far one of the best produced of all his albums, a must for die hard fans of his music and great for a first timer. A total joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dig, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig (Audio CD)
Boz at his unbiquitous best. Is he ever anything else?!! Any album you could mention of this guy is totally worth paying for. Dig it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boz at his best, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album - there isn't a duff track on it and is a constant source of delight. The musicianship is first rate, Boz's singing is on top form and the quality of the songs is first rate. When Boz kicks in to his soulful groove you just know he takes some beating - and this is Boz at his best! Buy this album - if you like bluesey, soulful music you will not be disappointed,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig (Audio CD)
A great album. Excellent late night music for relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dig
Dig by Boz Scaggs (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews