Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic from my teenage years
I have very fond memories of this album even though the track "Sweet Lorraine" simultaneously blew my then stereo`s speakers when the synthesiser kicked in at the start of the verse!

The band were brought to my attention by one of my school teachers who had a few of Uriah Heeps albums (ahhhh, vinyl gatefolds and mirror covers lol)

At the...
Published on 17 May 2013 by Mr. L. Murphy

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chris of Wrexham
Although like all Heep albums, it grows on you, this one is not as good as their first 3 nor Demons and Wizards.

There is some good keyboard work especially on the title track but overall it is disappointing.

If you already own the above albums then you may want to buy this one. Otherwise buy the others first.
Published on 2 Dec. 2006 by Chris of Wrexham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic from my teenage years, 17 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magician's Birthday (Audio CD)
I have very fond memories of this album even though the track "Sweet Lorraine" simultaneously blew my then stereo`s speakers when the synthesiser kicked in at the start of the verse!

The band were brought to my attention by one of my school teachers who had a few of Uriah Heeps albums (ahhhh, vinyl gatefolds and mirror covers lol)

At the time Prog Rock was in full swing with Yes being the flag bearers and to have one of these albums tucked under your arm going into the 6th form common room meant you had kudo`s for your intellectual taste.......ha ha ha those were the days!

The tracks dont have a coherent storyline like some classic Prog Rock but it more than made up for any shortcomings with the high quality of the musicianship on display.

David Byron is definitely one of the UK`s great lost and under rated singers and surely deserves a retrospective regarding his voice.
Gary Thain was one of rock musics truly great bass players up there with Andy Fraser and Jack Bruce.

In fact the whole band were top quality including the songwriting talents of Ken Hensley who had a good knack for powerful and sensitive rock music.

All I can really say is I highly recommend this great eriod piece to anyone who likes to turn the lights down low, light the candles and disappear into a fantasy world of Warlocks, Demons, Wizards and tune into some seriously good songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Remaster., 10 Jun. 2008
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magician's Birthday (Audio CD)
`Heep` were riding high on their crest of a wave Called `Demons and Wizards`touring everywhere then getting the call album 5 must get recorded a mere six months later, well the gauntlet was thrown down and `Magicians Birthday` was as the remaining members say was too quickly cut and released..Rushed it was but Demons 2 it is almost! with five tracks written by Ken Hensley the other three including the ten minute title track group compositions all turned out well . what I like most is `Robert M Corich` remasterer and vault tape detective! has once again done himself proud by digging out an extra NINE out takes. ,which to listeners like me are unmissable.There is even a rumour that the original album was to have been a double. It is now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chris of Wrexham, 2 Dec. 2006
This review is from: The Magician's Birthday (Audio CD)
Although like all Heep albums, it grows on you, this one is not as good as their first 3 nor Demons and Wizards.

There is some good keyboard work especially on the title track but overall it is disappointing.

If you already own the above albums then you may want to buy this one. Otherwise buy the others first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true masterpiece!, 7 Jan. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Magician's Birthday (Audio CD)
This is Uriah Heep at their best! "The Magician's Birthday" may not be as heavy as its prodecessor "Demons And Wizards", but it's equally good if not even better! From the first note of the opening track "Sunrise" you understand that there is a magical feeling in this album. The quality of the songs is just outstanding! Don't expect to hear anything that sounds like Deep Purple here... This is masterfully crafted art rock! The album surely has its harder moments but most of it moves to a more melodic direction with an amazing use of hammond, piano, acoustic and electric guitars and the best vocals that David Byron ever recorded. "The Magician's Birthday" is definitely not the heaviest album of Uriah Heep, but from an artistic point of view this one has to be their finest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memory lane, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magician's Birthday (Audio CD)
I bought the album decades ago and listening to the music again has bought back so many happy memories for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DEMONS PART 2 ?, 6 Dec. 2008
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Magician's Birthday (Audio CD)
Quality follow up to demons and wizards,possibly should have taken a break and polished up the songs but it was always going to be hard to follow a classic like demons,still found time to record arguably one of their greatest ever songs 'tales',this cd is worth the price for that track alone.Constant touring and rock n roll lifestyles would soon take their toll
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best...., 10 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Magician's Birthday (Audio CD)
A very underrated rock band. They produced some excellent albums in the early 1970's, and my Uriah Heep albums sat comfortably next to my Deep Purple and Led Zeppelin albums. "Magician's Birthday" was my introduction to the band, and has remained my favourite Uriah Heep album to this day (followed by "Demons & Wizards", and "Sweet Freedom"). The song writing is superb, with no weak tracks (if you ignore the bonus tracks), and David Byron's vocals are brilliant. The title track is a 10 minute epic. "Demons & Wizards" was their first great album. Their next album was "Magician's Birthday" and it was, in my opinion, the pinnacle of their albums. If you enjoy 1970's rock - and what a decade it was for rock music - then you must buy this album, and play "Sunrise" at full volume. Buy "Demons and Wizards" too. You will not be disappointed.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 21 Feb. 2008
By 
AJ "Alan" (Joburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Magician's Birthday (Audio CD)
Great album from a great band got it remastered,sound quality excellent.Solid album from the band not too much unsimilar to the superb Demons and Wizards and Look At Yourself albums,buy it if you dont already have in your collection you wont be dissapointed its great and one of my favourite Heep albums.I would also highly recommend the following Heep albums in no particular order;Salisbury,Raging Silence,Sea Of Light,Wonderworld all part of the fantastic Uriah Heep catalogue.The band have just released there latest album Wake The Sleeper.July 2008,please check out my review on this fantastic new offering its a rocker and comes highly recommended.
Hope review is of help.please check out my other reviews you might find something of interest.Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Magician's Turkey!, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magicians Birthday (Audio CD)
How could a band I loved so much,paid money to see live,bought their albums and singles have served us up this turkey?
I'd forgotten just how bad it was until I stupidly bought it out of curiosity / nostalgia recently (as I missed it in 1972 when it came out).
I now remember why I avoided it back then and bought Electric Warrior instead,a much better investment of my hard earned cash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic heep "career highlight", 23 Sept. 2008
By 
Gcm Verbaandert "Gerard Verbaandert" (Tilburg, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magician's Birthday (Audio CD)
This album has always been underrated. The album peaked at 28 in the uk and 31 in Billboard. It has a fine balance between rock and soft rock. This is due to Ken Hensley who is responsible for most songs. The song Rain is an example of a fine tune. It is also heard on his solo album Proud words on a dusty shelf (1973). Ken is still recording great albums. When i first finished listening the songs i said WOW..this is great. I played the album at least a hundred times.
Spider woman could have been a hit single but in my view but they released sweet Lorraine and that was no sucess. Blind eye is my favorite song. It is a dark song with great lyrics. Overall the album feels "dark" and the tension is pushing it to a great level. The album ends with the great song "The magicians birthday". A fantastic album and 5 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magician's Birthday
The Magician's Birthday by Uriah Heep (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews