Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film
Gripping tale of forbidden passion in a foreboding climate.The scenes unravel into a spectacular frenzied chase through the Mexican backwaters as we are led to the inevitable ,almost allegorical, conclusion.Kevin Costner is at his smouldering best alongside sensual Madeleine Stowe in one of modern movies' most memorable understated seduction scenes.Anthony Quinn excels...
Published on 3 Sep 2003 by don

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten classic
I was lucky enough to pick up a copy of this on R1. It's a somewhat messy film probably due to the rumours that the producers re-edited it long after Tony Scott had finished shooting. The story labours a little at the beginning, and Costner's character is kind of hard to root for because he's not all that pleasant, but that's part of Revenge's charm. It's not clear cut...
Published on 25 July 2006 by Neil Butler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten classic, 25 July 2006
I was lucky enough to pick up a copy of this on R1. It's a somewhat messy film probably due to the rumours that the producers re-edited it long after Tony Scott had finished shooting. The story labours a little at the beginning, and Costner's character is kind of hard to root for because he's not all that pleasant, but that's part of Revenge's charm. It's not clear cut and definitely not predictable despite appearing to show all its cards in the title. Anthony Quinn is great as always and even manages to evoke sympathy for his character at times. Costner's character is very similar to Richard Gere's in Breathless, a bit of a nasty sort, but kinda cool. Madeleine Stowe puts in probably her finest performance too. If you're looking for a film that doesn't tick all the do's and don'ts of a Hollywood mainstream movie then this could well be up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 3 Sep 2003
This review is from: Revenge [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Gripping tale of forbidden passion in a foreboding climate.The scenes unravel into a spectacular frenzied chase through the Mexican backwaters as we are led to the inevitable ,almost allegorical, conclusion.Kevin Costner is at his smouldering best alongside sensual Madeleine Stowe in one of modern movies' most memorable understated seduction scenes.Anthony Quinn excels as the overlord tortured by the double betrayal.Compelling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Michelle, 19 May 2008
By 
M. Barry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revenge [DVD] (DVD)
My partner highly recommended this film to me and although I half guessed the end, I thought it was an excellent film.

A litle slow at first, but was soon transfixed - excellent performance from Quinn and Costner and an unusual storyline Impossible not to cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparks Fly in this Steamy, Sensual Thriller, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revenge [DVD] (DVD)
A very seldom seen thriller these days and if you're a Kevin Costner fan, this ticks all the boxes. At his prime, Costner's character becomes embroiled in a claustrophobic love triangle, brilliantly played out by Madeleine Stowe who gives that understated sexuality to her sultry character tormenting her sugar-daddy husband played by the late superb Anthony Quinn. It's got all the slow, sexually charged build up required to give this thriller it's tense, but, tragic finale. Thoroughly watchable - they don't make them like this any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge, 16 Aug 2011
By 
TracyH "Tracy" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Revenge [DVD] (DVD)
Had thing on videotape years ago and have never forgotten it. I cried for hours after it had ended. Absolutely loves this film and would recommend it to anyone who likes a good love film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 6 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revenge [DVD] (DVD)
Despite Tony Scott's at times heavy handed approach, this remains Costner's most sensitive and emotional performance. This film has moments of real beauty, carried essentially in the performances. Stowe and Costner are intense together and the Mexican setting is a dream. powerful stirring stuff. The last five minutes has me in tears every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 8 April 2011
i have watched this movie twice, and it never ceases to amaze me, that i get the same buzz each time, this is one helluva exiting must watch movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tony Scott at his best....., 15 July 2007
By 
Graham (Co Durham England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Revenge [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw revenge about 14 years ago now and still after watching it today i still give it the same review this is a powerful, violent and very sexual film.

Directored by Tony Scott (Top Gun, Man On Fire, Days Of Thunder etc) and co-produced by Kevin Costner. I recomended this to any fan as this is one of the pairs best movies.

After just watching the Unrated version (not yet avaliable in UK unless import ) i have to say i like that version better even though it is 30 minutes short of the original release it is more fast paced and with more scenes added it makes revenge a more obsessive and sexual movie.

Don't be put off by negative reviews with an all star cast and superb director any fan of costner or scott will not be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The film was great, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the film once I had bought the UK version. I ordered to US version in error. We have friends visiting from US soon and I will pass the film onto them. Kevin Costner is great as usual. The plot is gripping and touching. Well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film!, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revenge [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this film. Worth watching if you like Kevin! Good price too. Not much else to say really as don't want to ruin the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revenge [Blu-ray] [1990] [US Import]
Revenge [Blu-ray] [1990] [US Import] by Tony Scott (Blu-ray - 2007)
11.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews