Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fame
This is easily Gervais' best DVD yet. His materiel is as funny as ever and he has a way of making things that are disgusting into things that are quite harmless and funny. Can't wait for his next tour-Science.
Published on 24 May 2009 by Jane Godfrey

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not shabby hey
i found this to be a good show, not a great show as he doesnt always hit the nail on the head but he is likeable, thats for sure. I dont really feel the self smugness that people complain off, there is the odd hint of well they say i spent 2.5 million, its more like 3.5 million but billy connolly has been doing stuff like that for years and people dont go mad. I feel...
Published 23 months ago by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fame, 24 May 2009
By 
Jane Godfrey (Poole, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is easily Gervais' best DVD yet. His materiel is as funny as ever and he has a way of making things that are disgusting into things that are quite harmless and funny. Can't wait for his next tour-Science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet, 19 Jun. 2008
By 
Matthew Wood "Matt Wood" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of Ricky Gervais and own all of his Stand Up DVDs, this one being easily the best. His stage persona, his presence and his material has just got better and better.

Many reviewers have found this material offensive. However, what these people need to remember is that Ricky is a comedian, and not a politician. The jokes that he makes are not supposed to be taken seriously. Like many great comedians, he tries and makes light of heavy situations. He plays a lot with what you can and can't say, which will obviously offend some people. But if you are easily offended, I really don't know what you're doing watching Ricky Gervais.

The claims that some of this material is racist is simply not true, and it is an insult to suggest it. Putting on an African accent to make a joke about something else entirely is in no way racist! It's no different to someone putting on a Scottish accent to illustrate a point.

Other topics he includes are rape, cancer, ME and obesity, which again offend some, but he is showing his comic talent by being able to make these subjects lighter and funny, which he does very well. It's also what Ricky has done in his previous Stand-Up DVDs.

For me, the material on this DVD is largely original, different and refreshing. If you are prepared not to take what he says as gospel and see it for what it is: a fantastic comedy piece, then you will enjoy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not shabby hey, 1 May 2013
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
i found this to be a good show, not a great show as he doesnt always hit the nail on the head but he is likeable, thats for sure. I dont really feel the self smugness that people complain off, there is the odd hint of well they say i spent 2.5 million, its more like 3.5 million but billy connolly has been doing stuff like that for years and people dont go mad. I feel there are some very funny tales on show here. If an adult comic cant offend then he isnt doing his job so none of that bothers me.
At times he tells an overcooked tale or two but for the most part i would recommend this hey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really funny! Ignore poor reviews, 10 Jan. 2009
By 
Mr. B. LAWRENCE "Trumpet" (Shoreham-by-Sea, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I was shocked to see a string of 1 star reviews. This is a very funny dvd. Obviously you have to like Ricky's style, and you should already be aware of his 'close to the mark' humour....i.e can offend.

I do prefer Animals and Politics, but this still has some amazing jokes in it. Well worth getting if you are a gervais fan like me.

Gervais is not the best stand up comedian but he is really really good at it! Office, Extras, his radio show, was the top of his game. But stand up is still amazing.

So at this price, i would definitely get it. You will find it funny.

I love it anyway and have watched it 3 times within a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Upsetting.....yes, written by a cancer patient!, 8 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Okay.... i love ricky gervais and thought that animals and politics was witty, cleverly written and bloody hilarious! So i was really looking forward to this dvd. But when i bought it i found it really offensive. I was diagnosed with a life threatening form of cancer a year ago. Losing my hair and feeling so weak was so degrading and i am disgraced by the comments on here that cancer patients find people poking fun at them funny. anyone who knows me knows that i certainly dont get offended easily, and am the first to poke fun of myslef but this really upset me.... i just think that its a sad state of affairs that society finds it funny to poke fun at terminally ill people. i dont want any sympathy from anyone, but the person who wrote on here who also has cancer and finds it hilarious does NOT speak for all cancer patients, as nor do i. Surley Gervais has more witt and hunour left in him to find other things to laugh at?? and just because he gives to charity doesnt make it right. thats like giving permission to bully someone just because they give money to Childline!!! Maybe i am being oversensitive.... but i thought there was a limit to what was funny, and that making fun of others illnesses was a no go area, but clearly gervais wanted to shock and awe people, and that he did. i may be only 16yrs old but even i no where the line is drawn........ maybe one day if he ever has the bad luck of getting cancer he'll understand the trauma of going through the treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, however....., 19 July 2007
By 
P. Garrigan "Paddy" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely adored the 90 minutes or so I spent in the Manchester Apollo for Ricky's third live tour, but like a fellow reviewer said he will always be an actor delivering lines and not a stand up.

Not that this is a bad thing. Even whilst watching him 'mess up' trying to do an African accent I was thinking that surely this is part of every show, but that doesn't seem to matter as he was convincing the few hundred (thousand? I dunno the capacity) that this show was a completely unique experience - just for us. The man is a first class writer and performer so uses the skills he has and give an hilarious 50 minutes or so.

Also fantastic was the (as Gervais fans will know) constantly under the cosh Robin Ince - who you get the feeling actually IS a really good stand up! Hopefully his half hour or so will be on the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his finest work!!!, 2 Oct. 2007
By 
Mr. Wsh Youdale "Will Youdale" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I give this three stars because even as a huge fan of Ricky Gervais i found this to be distinctly average. I watched this show twice, once at the the very start of his tour in Edinburgh and once again right at the end of his tour once again in Edinburgh, both times it irritated me that what used to be his tongue in cheek arrogance has become an egostistical rant with nowhere near the humor that made him so successful with Animals and Politics.

Finally if you are a massive Ricky Gervais fan, i suggest you watch it but dont expect to enjoy it anywhere near as much as his first two stand up shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly A Let-Down, 6 Dec. 2007
By 
T. Heslington "Tom" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Having missed out on tickets for the tour, I was eagerly anticipating the DVD release of Fame. I'm a huge fan of Gervais' sitcoms and his last two live shows; Animals and Politics, were top notch. Which made it all the more disappointing that fame is completely average. We aren't given any of the great stories we heard previously, nor does he bring on-stage aides which is a shame as he puts them to great use in his other shows. Rather than try to find a good joke from a risky subject, there is a lazy approach of "if it's controversial it's funny". The material is shabby throughout and there's a horribly pained sequence with Ricky "trying" to do an African accent, made worse with the knowledge this was repeated show after show for however many months the tour lasted.

I'm aware that Gervias has done so much good in the past that he has built a massive following who'll hear nothing bad about him but the truth is there are many, many young comedians touring with better material right now (see Live At The Apollo). Perhaps if I had got my hands on a ticket I'd have been wrapped up in the excitment but instead I'm left hoping that next time Gervais reminds us what he can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Tour Yet, 8 July 2007
By 
D. Reynolds (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the stand-up in March at Brighton and got a fantastic seat with my family. The atmosphere was very good in the Centre and everyone was so anticipating seeing Ricky's 3rd tour! The support act was on which did drag a little bit but nonetheless was still funny!

Ricky enters as the King of Comedy with Queen's 'One Vision' playing which is funny already! Throughout the show he touches on some boundaries but limits them so he can make a hilarious joke out of it! People complain he's too offensive to those suffering in Africa and disabled people. If so, why does he give heaps of money to charity and open his first couple of gigs with proceeds going to charity? One of my favourite parts is his encore. He talks of an incident that occured when he saw X-Factor live and what happened during a commercial break with Chris Tarrant and Sharon Osbourne.

I won't spoil anymore for you but will say that I was laughing for pretty much the whole show! And thankfully the show was longer than Politics, we got out at around 10.30pm after starting at 9pm so that was good :) Great tour, best one yet I think! Pre-order now!

*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick to TV!, 31 Oct. 2008
By 
Mrs. Sharon L. Lawson "Sadakohere" (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Oh Ricky. Excellent in 'The Office', not too bad in 'Extras'...but as a stand-up act? Not your craft.

Gervais is at his best on his podcasts with Karl Pilkington and Steve Merchant. He seems to excel when feeding off others and it's no wonder his podcast is so popular - mainly because of Pilkington mind you!

Fame made me feel embarassed watching it and had to turn off after about 25 minutes. I've no idea why he insists on continuing to mock himself, go on about Africans, mock Christianity and show ignorance when it comes to disease. The ME section was very poor taste and offensive.

Ricky tries to be clever in stand-up but ends up looking a bit of a fool. Shame really.

For die-hard fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD]
Ricky Gervais Live 3 - Fame [2007] [DVD] by Ricky Gervais (DVD - 2007)
£2.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews