Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very wise investment for high quality security
After doing some intensive research into the technique of effectively locking up your bicycle, it was clear that I needed a D-lock into addition to the basic cable lock that I was using. The decision came as to whether it would be worth spending £55 on this top-of-the-range Kryptonite New York lock to guard my £300 bike. Now that I own the product, I have no regrets...
Published 4 months ago by Nathan

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy lock but poor bracket
This is a good sturdy lock. It is heavy but it does the job and gives me confidence that my bike is safe when used in conjunction with a second decent lock. The only problem is that it is nearly impossible to get it through the frame and wheel of my bike. I guess it depends on the type of bike you have. The second problem is that the bracket is rubbish. I've only been...
Published on 17 Jan 2012 by Lauren Rae


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy lock but poor bracket, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket (Sports)
This is a good sturdy lock. It is heavy but it does the job and gives me confidence that my bike is safe when used in conjunction with a second decent lock. The only problem is that it is nearly impossible to get it through the frame and wheel of my bike. I guess it depends on the type of bike you have. The second problem is that the bracket is rubbish. I've only been using it for 2 weeks and it has already slipped all over the place, with the rubber inside the bracket that keeps it in place falling out last night. It basically means the bracket is done and I'm now looking at other options for transporting this thing around without putting it in a backpack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong Lacking in Utility, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket (Sports)
This is a very strong lock, or certainly locks strong. This is the principal advantage of this lock; what follows are the various limitations which (in addition to the large price-tag) determine whether or not this high level of security is a worthwhile investment.

At 2kg, the lock is heavy, though this is clearly advertised. Weight is necessary to security, though does place a certain class of customer at risk of entering into a false economy / dis-economy: the lock is heavy enough to make a swanky new alloy-framed bike weigh as much as a steel-framed one, a consideration which might make the other advantages of having a high-quality bike (especially one intended for commuting rather than exercise, when the lock can be left at home) less economically worthwhile.

The largest shortcoming is the bracket for connecting the lock to the bike's frame, which is very poorly designed; it is barely compatible with thin, light-weight frames (typical of the expensive bike which you are probably trying to secure) and the plastic is easily warped and torn through assiduous tightening of the screw. More significantly, even once the bracket is attached, the lock doesn't then fit inside frame. The lock is simply too large, given the manner in which the bracket connects to the fame; the frame would have to be large (56"+) for it to be otherwise. The bracket requires the lock to fit *inside* the frame, whereas it would have been preferable to have one (as used on some Abus locks) which places the lock outside the frame, but parallel to it, so that no collision or incomparability can occur.

The plastic bracket is also too stiff for the metal clip on the lock. This metallic connector (visible in the picture) is itself very annoying and has a tendency to fall off during locking/unlocking--mine eventually got lost. Surely it would have been possible to attach this clip to the shackle properly with a thread, or something. Finally, the LED key does not come ready-assembled and is fiddly; mine came without one of its components and could not be used.

In short, this lock is strong, but Kryptonite haven't succeeding in tempering this strength with much utility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very wise investment for high quality security, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket (Sports)
After doing some intensive research into the technique of effectively locking up your bicycle, it was clear that I needed a D-lock into addition to the basic cable lock that I was using. The decision came as to whether it would be worth spending £55 on this top-of-the-range Kryptonite New York lock to guard my £300 bike. Now that I own the product, I have no regrets whatsoever.

Understandably, these Kryptonite D-locks are very expensive initially, potentially leaving your pocket over half a hundred GBP lighter. But it is the quality of these locks that you are paying for. Ok fair enough, I don't live in a bustling metropolis like London, or a city at all for that matter; I am a rural dweller who commutes to local towns and villages for all sorts of reasons. Now, it is advised that the amount one should spend on their bicycle lock should be roughly 10% of the cost of their bicycle. Despite this recommendation, many other bicycle safety websites advise spending as much as you can on a bicycle lock - simply because it offers you peace of mind that you will be getting maximum security and longevity. Basically, it is the confidence that your bike will be there when you get back.

The lock is very sturdy despite the very slight wobble between where the shackle and lock bar actually meet. Its thick 16mm shackle is very intimidating to opportunists and bicycle thieves, not to mention the mass of this thing, coming in at around 2kg. At first, the locking mechanism takes some getting used to, simply because you have to turn the key to release the shackle, then carefully insert the shackle into position, and then connect the shackle back to the lock bar with the key still in. After a few attempts however, I have no problem locking my bike with this lock in a matter of seconds when stopping off for a couple of minutes at the local shop. Some have complained about the mass of this lock, but in a high quality one, this is a feature that aims to deter determined thieves! Besides, if you are a sensible biker, you would have a backpack containing a bike pump, first aid kit, food, drink, bicycle locks, etc. Yes, the mass of this lock can indeed become a burden for cyclists, but it is also a reminder that you have paid good money for a solid lock.

The product's locking mechanism seems very smooth and rapid, but of course this will need lubricating once in a while. The lock as a whole seems weather proof, but this is what you expect from such a highly priced bicycle security feature. In comparison to the Kryptonite Mini D-lock, this one has a shackle with a larger area, so those with fairly thick tyres, and those wanting to put the shackle through the frame and wheel, should only consider this size of lock.With my bike, there is very little room for leverage within the shackle space after putting the lock through my back tyre, frame, and bike locking object.

I have to fault the mounting bracket, simply because I would find it useless: the mass it would add to the bike frame would reduce cycling efficiency. In addition, the countless reviews regarding the difficulty of mounting this bracket has put me off from doing the same. It will stay in the backpack for now I think. The added support that is supposed to come with this lock is very poor, as it is a complicated process that is ultimately designed to put-off the customer so that Kryptonite does not have to compensate all the money that they promise if your bicycle gets stolen. Honestly, I don't really care about the added support - just give me the good quality lock that I paid for.

The service from WoollyHatShop was extremely good. It had my lock dispatched in a matter of hours, and arrived at my address very quickly. Good job!
After putting this product into action several times now, I could not any more happier with my purchase. In combination with a cable lock and padlock, the whole bike feels secure wherever and whenever I leave it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid and heavy lock, 23 May 2010
By 
Mr. Thomas Lewington (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket (Sports)
Bought it to comply with bike insurance requirements as it is a gold level lock, you will want to carry this lock around as it is very heavy. Bought with a kryptonite 7ft cable, which makes a comprehensive security package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars XXXXXplendid, 31 Dec 2013
By 
R. Diaz Leon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket (Sports)
I have this lock since November 24, 2009...

0 problems other than the awfull "bracket" which I don't need any more because I lace the Lock in the frame while I'm on the go.

Actually, it's pretty awesome that 4 years later is alive, truth said, it needs a replacement one of these days, but I need 0 reviews to know which is going to be his substitute.

Used with a custom Street/Dirt bike (+1200) and several Mountan/Fixed Gear Bikes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lock, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Claudia M. Mayer (Jersey City, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket (Sports)
This is a great lock, but be prepared for it to be REALLY heavy. It conforms with the Gold Standard that most bike insurance companies require as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Locked overnight outside Waterloo station in London for 3 years, 20 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket (Sports)
I leave my bike locked to a street sign outside Waterloo station each night after work. It's been there for three years of nights every weekend and even when I go away on holiday. It is locked with this lock and a kryptonite cable through the wheels. The proof of the pudding is the bikes is there every morning I put that down to this lock and parking the bike in an open visible place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A super-hardy, bulletproof lock with few downsides, 17 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket (Sports)
This lock is pretty-much bulletproof. If you're looking for the strongest possible lock for your bike, this is the one to go for (perhaps coupled with a flyout cable so that you can tie your wheels together and to the lock). Note that this is a "short" D-lock, which is far safer, because a would-be thief can't do the usual D-lock-breaking technique of using a car jack on it, very easily, but it also means that you'll sometimes find it difficult to fit it around both your frame and the thing you want to lock your bike to. Also note that it's very heavy, and that the mounting bracket doesn't fit around the thickest of frames.

All in all, though, this is an ultra-hardy lock that should discourage all but the most-determined of criminals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lock!!!, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket (Sports)
This lock is extremely heavy but it's great. I leave it at work so that I have less weight on the bike. Top marks!!! Bought one for the other half also. We've still got our bikes and others have been stolen around ours. What more recommendation is there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WORTH ITS WEIGHT !, 2 Sep 2010
By 
R. Phillips (Bedfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket (Sports)
Like other reviewers, I need a gold rated ('Sold Secure Gold') to comply with my very expensive bike's insurance.

Having spoken to a couple of bike hardened commuters, I also bought a security cable to prevent those easily removable items being filched- regretably loosing saddles was their own experience, as well as advising me to buy the best lock that I could afford: the 3000 NY being recommended by both my insurer and the commuting cyclists.

FOR:- Tough, recommended, easy to use ( I don't find the keys fiddly or awkward- the hoop is a good size for street furniture)) and primarily 'Sold Gold Secure'.

Against:- Heavy.

My comparison is the silver rated Kyrptonite Standard lock I use for my folding bike and it is much lighter but no good for my more expensive, insured cycle. Conversely I don't need the ultimate securtiy for my cheap folding bike but appreciate the weight saving silver rated Krypto lock.

I realize this weight is because it so strong but it is not a convenience, hence only 4star.
Don't be put off by this, just be aware it's a serious piece of security.

IN A NUTSHELL... WELL WORTH THE WEIGHT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket
£55.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews