Customer Reviews


231 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT IS WHAT IT IS (Im hoping it never gets tested)!!!
This is meant to be the best quality 1cm security flex that you can buy, and as this hasn't been tested as yet, I have no reason to disbelieve it. It certainly looks the business & is good value for money & is perfect for locking front wheels & removable seats to an existing lock.

Having said that, (and I apologise here in advance if the following advice is...
Published on 22 Aug. 2012 by IntensiveCareNurse

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Cable Lock *Shame someone successfully tested it :(
This was used to protect my husband's cycle (as it was full of quick release clips) at the local train station and had been fine since I purchased it in March of this year. Great length, no kinks, weatherproof, a deterrant (or so we thought!). However, my husband came home to find it had been cut through and his saddle was stolen (didn't realise the saddle was such a...
Published on 18 Sept. 2012 by LittleOl'Me


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT IS WHAT IT IS (Im hoping it never gets tested)!!!, 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
This is meant to be the best quality 1cm security flex that you can buy, and as this hasn't been tested as yet, I have no reason to disbelieve it. It certainly looks the business & is good value for money & is perfect for locking front wheels & removable seats to an existing lock.

Having said that, (and I apologise here in advance if the following advice is teaching grandma's to suck eggs...):

I do urge people looking for security for their bike to understand that any thief worth his salt can still get through this cable with just decent quality snips in only a very short time.
You therefore need to anchor the bike to an immovable (eg steel post) object via a decent heavy duty lock & chain or shackle lock (google "Sheldon Brown" online, but preferably secure through rear wheel & frame together if possible). Try not to leave room for a thief to get a small "bottle" jack in the "D" of a shackle lock if using this mode of security (try to buy the shackle that fits your bike snugly & just has room for a post).
I suggest that for evey £10 you spend on bike, you spend at least £1 on lock... (and start at no less than £20).
The Sold Secure Silver Kryptonite Kryptolok is a decentish sub £25 shackle for anything up to around £200 new, for example. Their Evolution lock is just a few quid more and is Sold Secure Gold (see my other review, as I have one).
Please however remember that if a thief good at what he does wants your bike, he will have it... The trick (unfortunately for others) is to move up the ladder by getting him to move onto easier pickings.

Other tips:
1) Lock bike outside cafe's, pubs, places here plenty of people are visible just inside (the thief does not wish to be disturbed by an irrate owner/punter).
2) Park where monitored by CCTV (although most thieves would not be massively deterred)
3) Make sure the post/fixing you attach to does not allow your bike to be simply lifted up & over it!
4) The item you attach your lock to must not be construed to be actually much weaker than your lock (although attaching to anything immovable offers another layer of security).
5) A good independant reviewer of all bike locks (attack tested independantly) is "Bike Radar" (just google it). Be wary, as the odd sold secure gold lock does not rate particularly well in their practical testing.

I hope thats of help to some (sorry if you read that lot & knew it already)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for securing your accessories or wheels, 26 May 2013
By 
TotallydubbedHD "Tech Reviewer" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
First of all, do NOT use this lock on its own.
It is not designed to be used without a D Lock.

However, it does a great job in going around my whole bike, securing my front and back wheels to my D lock.
This is useful for just giving you that extra added protection for your bike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap tool for keeping what is yours already!, 19 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
Having all or part of a bike stolen is heartbreaking. Even when the one stolen is as cheap as chips. Take it from experience. Anything that can help is worth its weight in gold and this is a device that will get your average bike thief to move on to one that doesn't involve quite as much work. Unless, naturally, your bike is a Rolls Royce. Then all bets are off!

For those that don't know, this fits in various ways. Through the seat if you want, but in my case through both wheels and around a solid D lock and through a cheaper cable lock too. In other words, stops either wheel being taken. However - to be clear - if the main lock is broken this is broken too.

Don't cheat yourself on length. Shorter might leave you struggling. This will - in my case anyway - warp around the seat pole and could even be used to secure shopping to the front handlebars. The advantage of a sturdy bike.

No complaints at all - should be standard issue in today's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for on the move security, 9 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
Easy to carry and attach to your bike using a D-lock or preferred item. I went with the 7ft as i have allot of quick release items on the bike and with this you can go round the wheels and seat if done correctly. Easy to carry and secures your bike enough to make the quick steal difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works OK, but difficult to carry around, 15 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
The cable is well-finished (no fraying anywhere) and sufficiently supple and long to loop around both bike wheels. You need to have a padlock or (better) a strong U-lock in order to lock the two looped ends together, so the description "cable lock" is a bit misleading (although the Product Features section makes this clear).
I carry my cable in a pannier bag. Not sure how I would carry it without a bag, although I guess it could be looped fairly tightly around a bike tube and fastened by putting one end through the other (as in the product picture) and then back through again to make it less likely to slip off.
In summary, I'm glad I bought it; it means I don't have to carry my bike wheels around with me when I park the bike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Cable Lock *Shame someone successfully tested it :(, 18 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
This was used to protect my husband's cycle (as it was full of quick release clips) at the local train station and had been fine since I purchased it in March of this year. Great length, no kinks, weatherproof, a deterrant (or so we thought!). However, my husband came home to find it had been cut through and his saddle was stolen (didn't realise the saddle was such a good one???!). They kindly left both quick release wheels in place! So it does work but if some person is dead set on taking something, or the whole bike, it seems it's easily cut (didn't seem to be multiple cuts; it was just the one all the way through).

Not one for leaving negative comments, but just thought you might like to know. The D-Lock probably helped to ensure the bike frame and rear wheel remained at the bike stand :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cable & a half!, 9 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
This is a great length, goes through both wheels of my cycle and around whatever I want to lock my bike to. Very thick so will deter some thieves. Combined with a good lock, what more can you ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and strong, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
G. Conde (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
This is a great option to lock your bike securely with peace of mind, the cable is quite flexible and allows you to lock both wheels to your main lock. is it strong enough? it doesn't look like because of the flexibility, but they will need a saw to cut it so it will deter thieves and will avoid someone passing by to steal one of you wheels to come later for the bike. overall I would recommend anyone that has a bike +£350 to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific cable - adds an additional level of security when leaving my bike alone, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
Word of warning: You REALLY NEED A D-LOCK in addition to a cable. Don't just think you can use the cable around a post or ring and a lock to secure your bike. This is only really going to prevent somebody stealing your expensive quick-release wheels - if used in conjunction with a proper lock.

But onto the Kryptonite Cable. It's excellent quality. Very tough (and heavy), effectively you use it to loop around the front and back wheels (and through the bike frame). You then use your D-Lock to hold the entire set-up (bike and cable) to a fixed position (eg. lamp post).

I used it with a Kryptonite D-Lock to secure 3 bikes during a week long holiday in the Netherlands without trouble.

Lets face it, if you've spent £££ on your bike - it's worth adding additional security to ensure it's still there when you come back.

Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No contest for a determined thief, but a deterrent for a chancer, 22 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. Mischief (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
There really isn't a whole lot to Kryptonite's Kryptoflex bike lock cable, which is little more than a braided steel cable with loops at either end, housed within a clear rubber jacket. You use it in conjunction with your bike lock (Kryptonite or otherwise) to secure those parts of your bike that could be quickly removed by a nefarious type - the seat and wheels in particular - by looping it through those parts and then securing the cable's loops within the shackle of the lock. Basically, it's an extension to the lock itself, but most definitely not something you would want to use on its own to secure your bike.

What was quite surprising for me when I first got one is just how thick it is - 10mm doesn't sound much but it seems more "in the flesh" - and this almost puts it in a similar size bracket to the 16mm shackle on my Kryptonite u-lock, although the solid-steel lock is undoubtedly much harder to cut through. There are videos of Kryptoflex cables being put through their paces on YouTube as well as various blogs and review sites, and the overall consensus seems to be that whilst they would never stop a determined thief, they are a deterrent for the chancer.

Strength does come at a price, though, and in this case it's that the cable is quite heavy and quite rigid, so it doesn't lend itself to being looped up and carried around. It'll fit easily enough in a backpack or shoulder bag, but you might struggle to get it in anything smaller, and carrying it around on your bike might not be practical without some planning.

I use the cable primarily to help secure my bike at home rather than when I'm out and about, partly because I don't leave my bike anywhere in public for long and partly because carrying both the cable and a strong lock just isn't that practical. This might seem a bit of a waste but some of my family members have had bikes stolen from their properties so I see it as less of a luxury and more of a sensible precaution. For me, it's not only a deterrent but also peace of mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews