Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT IS WHAT IT IS (Im hoping it never gets tested)!!!
This is meant to be the best quality 1cm security flex that you can buy, and as this hasn't been tested as yet, I have no reason to disbelieve it. It certainly looks the business & is good value for money & is perfect for locking front wheels & removable seats to an existing lock.

Having said that, (and I apologise here in advance if the following advice is...
Published on 22 Aug 2012 by IntensiveCareNurse

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Cable Lock *Shame someone successfully tested it :(
This was used to protect my husband's cycle (as it was full of quick release clips) at the local train station and had been fine since I purchased it in March of this year. Great length, no kinks, weatherproof, a deterrant (or so we thought!). However, my husband came home to find it had been cut through and his saddle was stolen (didn't realise the saddle was such a...
Published on 18 Sep 2012 by LittleOl'Me


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT IS WHAT IT IS (Im hoping it never gets tested)!!!, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
This is meant to be the best quality 1cm security flex that you can buy, and as this hasn't been tested as yet, I have no reason to disbelieve it. It certainly looks the business & is good value for money & is perfect for locking front wheels & removable seats to an existing lock.

Having said that, (and I apologise here in advance if the following advice is teaching grandma's to suck eggs...):

I do urge people looking for security for their bike to understand that any thief worth his salt can still get through this cable with just decent quality snips in only a very short time.
You therefore need to anchor the bike to an immovable (eg steel post) object via a decent heavy duty lock & chain or shackle lock (google "Sheldon Brown" online, but preferably secure through rear wheel & frame together if possible). Try not to leave room for a thief to get a small "bottle" jack in the "D" of a shackle lock if using this mode of security (try to buy the shackle that fits your bike snugly & just has room for a post).
I suggest that for evey £10 you spend on bike, you spend at least £1 on lock... (and start at no less than £20).
The Sold Secure Silver Kryptonite Kryptolok is a decentish sub £25 shackle for anything up to around £200 new, for example. Their Evolution lock is just a few quid more and is Sold Secure Gold (see my other review, as I have one).
Please however remember that if a thief good at what he does wants your bike, he will have it... The trick (unfortunately for others) is to move up the ladder by getting him to move onto easier pickings.

Other tips:
1) Lock bike outside cafe's, pubs, places here plenty of people are visible just inside (the thief does not wish to be disturbed by an irrate owner/punter).
2) Park where monitored by CCTV (although most thieves would not be massively deterred)
3) Make sure the post/fixing you attach to does not allow your bike to be simply lifted up & over it!
4) The item you attach your lock to must not be construed to be actually much weaker than your lock (although attaching to anything immovable offers another layer of security).
5) A good independant reviewer of all bike locks (attack tested independantly) is "Bike Radar" (just google it). Be wary, as the odd sold secure gold lock does not rate particularly well in their practical testing.

I hope thats of help to some (sorry if you read that lot & knew it already)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for on the move security, 9 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
Easy to carry and attach to your bike using a D-lock or preferred item. I went with the 7ft as i have allot of quick release items on the bike and with this you can go round the wheels and seat if done correctly. Easy to carry and secures your bike enough to make the quick steal difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap tool for keeping what is yours already!, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
Having all or part of a bike stolen is heartbreaking. Even when the one stolen is as cheap as chips. Take it from experience. Anything that can help is worth its weight in gold and this is a device that will get your average bike thief to move on to one that doesn't involve quite as much work. Unless, naturally, your bike is a Rolls Royce. Then all bets are off!

For those that don't know, this fits in various ways. Through the seat if you want, but in my case through both wheels and around a solid D lock and through a cheaper cable lock too. In other words, stops either wheel being taken. However - to be clear - if the main lock is broken this is broken too.

Don't cheat yourself on length. Shorter might leave you struggling. This will - in my case anyway - warp around the seat pole and could even be used to secure shopping to the front handlebars. The advantage of a sturdy bike.

No complaints at all - should be standard issue in today's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works OK, but difficult to carry around, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
The cable is well-finished (no fraying anywhere) and sufficiently supple and long to loop around both bike wheels. You need to have a padlock or (better) a strong U-lock in order to lock the two looped ends together, so the description "cable lock" is a bit misleading (although the Product Features section makes this clear).
I carry my cable in a pannier bag. Not sure how I would carry it without a bag, although I guess it could be looped fairly tightly around a bike tube and fastened by putting one end through the other (as in the product picture) and then back through again to make it less likely to slip off.
In summary, I'm glad I bought it; it means I don't have to carry my bike wheels around with me when I park the bike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Cable Lock *Shame someone successfully tested it :(, 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
This was used to protect my husband's cycle (as it was full of quick release clips) at the local train station and had been fine since I purchased it in March of this year. Great length, no kinks, weatherproof, a deterrant (or so we thought!). However, my husband came home to find it had been cut through and his saddle was stolen (didn't realise the saddle was such a good one???!). They kindly left both quick release wheels in place! So it does work but if some person is dead set on taking something, or the whole bike, it seems it's easily cut (didn't seem to be multiple cuts; it was just the one all the way through).

Not one for leaving negative comments, but just thought you might like to know. The D-Lock probably helped to ensure the bike frame and rear wheel remained at the bike stand :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and strong, 15 Aug 2011
By 
G. Conde (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
This is a great option to lock your bike securely with peace of mind, the cable is quite flexible and allows you to lock both wheels to your main lock. is it strong enough? it doesn't look like because of the flexibility, but they will need a saw to cut it so it will deter thieves and will avoid someone passing by to steal one of you wheels to come later for the bike. overall I would recommend anyone that has a bike +£350 to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cable & a half!, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
This is a great length, goes through both wheels of my cycle and around whatever I want to lock my bike to. Very thick so will deter some thieves. Combined with a good lock, what more can you ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for securing your accessories or wheels, 26 May 2013
By 
TotallydubbedHD "Tech Reviewer" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
First of all, do NOT use this lock on its own.
It is not designed to be used without a D Lock.

However, it does a great job in going around my whole bike, securing my front and back wheels to my D lock.
This is useful for just giving you that extra added protection for your bike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kryptonite 7ft cable more than long enough, 23 May 2010
By 
Mr. Thomas Lewington (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
Excellent piece of kit but could have managed with the shorter version as bought with a Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock NYL with Bracket, so it is only used link frame and wheels to the lock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 7 Aug 2010
By 
F. Dal Colle (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) (Automotive)
I use this togheter with a d-lock to tie the front wheel. No problems so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews