Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Aid for School - KS2 and above
My KS2 child found this really easy to operate - the display is clear and the keys well labelled. It has sufficient vocab that it should last many years.

The games may amuse and educate a younger child and the crossword function is useful, as it allows them to enter parts of a complicated word to narrow the word choice.

Our local school is...
Published on 26 Sept. 2011 by AMacK

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars collins spellchecker
Although small this has an easy to use keyboard. However I was disappointed to find it did not have a Thesaurus and I have had some words in crossword solutions not in the dictionary. In this respect I am comparing it with two previous franklin spellcheckersn I have used.
Published on 17 Jan. 2011 by ThinPaul


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crosswords, 8 Mar. 2010
By 
E. Milne "Mary May" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller (Office Product)
I bought the Franklin Pocket Speller for my friend as a birthday gift. She is a great fan of the crosswords....it keeps her 75 year old mind active she says! She loves it , took her a couple of evenings to get her head round it. Good instructions. Prompt delivery, intact, no probs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket pleasure, 15 July 2010
By 
Bendy "Robert" (Co. Down. N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller (Office Product)
a great little gadget. great price, and has a substantial phonic spelling correction memory of 180,000 words.
Plus games,calculator and metric/currency converter - what more do you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for KS2/3 unless a member of Mensa!, 12 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller (Office Product)
I bought this for my 10yr old son - on recommendation of a dyslexic website. It is far too high a level. This is a full dictionary with ridiculous long words that only an English graduate would have come across ie "dificlt" becomes diaphysical! More importantly it doesn't seem to recognise his phonetic spelling. Also Hangman (which he was enjoying playing) gave the word fiber! I couldn't even find it in the dictionary myself (except as alternative to gyber or American fibre) - far too complicated. There is clearly a gap here between the really basic children's version, and the full on crossword completing adult. Example "color" - first suggestion is couloir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best spell checkers for dyslexia, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller (Office Product)
I bought these as a class set for an SEN class in a main stream school, the students use them intuitively and basic phonetic skills will help students find the spelling they are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller (Office Product)
Reasonable delivery, reasonably priced, and yet this has to be my worst purchase made from Amazon, to say this spell checker is very limited would be an understatement, vertually useless as a spell checker, very limited in the dictionary department, would perhaps be more suitable for a 5 year old child? would absolutely not recommend for any adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, 21 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller (Office Product)
I got this for one of my children (10) who was still spelling phonetically.

It's very simple in use, small, light and works well. The kids complained about the (random) words it chose for the hangman game (which really were a bit obscure) and there were a couple of words it didn't manage to guess (from the misspelled version), like: aireal, aeriel, aerial and diarea, diaorhea, diarhea, diarheoa, diarrhoea , but then their correct spelling is a bit obnoxious.

I dont hav it with me now, but I imajin it wud hav no trubbel with eny of this :-)

So, all in all, excellent -- especially at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars satisfied customer, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
Mrs. Amanda Horn (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller (Office Product)
we delighted with franklin spq109 collins pocket speller .transaction was first class and the product was exceptional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Franklin speller, 16 Dec. 2009
By 
G. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller (Office Product)
Brilliant item...great for Scrabble online. I bought this as bought one previously for my boyfriend & liked it. Compact & great value for money. Better & cheaper than a lot of others I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy., 4 Sept. 2014
By 
K. Sheppard (Staffordshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller (Office Product)
I bought this to replace an earlier model of the Franklin spell checker that the hinged cover had broken off, although it did still work. This model has several improvements including an improved hinge, and an additional feature that when in the 'spell mode', an asterisk may be inserted instead of a question mark to represent an unspecified number of unknown characters. Unlike a spell checker I own made by another manufacturer, it still works if the first letter of a word is unknown. The 'Build' function will find every word that can be made out of the displayed letters starting with the longest, and will also include solutions where an unspecified letter is included. It has a very large vocabulary that includes many words most people will never have heard of. The only complaint I have, is that it there is no notch to make it easier to open the cover, but it is OK when you get used to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Collins Pocket Speller, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller (Office Product)
Fantastic item and very good response to questions. Item arrived in good condition and within the time span stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Franklin SPQ109 Collins Pocket Speller
£13.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews