Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
20th Century Fox originally released this DVD on April 30th, 2007 but they accidentally missed off the crucial, opening credit sequence lasting about three minutes. They re-released it on July 28th 2008 corrected, with the opening credit sequence in English rather than Italian, but about a minute shorter than usual. This classic is in a nice steelbook cover, and the...
Published on 1 May 2007 by Robert

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less a film more a mini series
I originally saw this film in a 4 hour version over 30 years ago and always remembered if fondly. However viewing it now in its full 5 hours and one minute directors cut I find it a mixed bag. There is no doubt there is a sweeping good tale with great characters within this epic but there is also a lot of pretentiousness. The dubbing of some actors (Cast is part Italian,...
Published on 5 Nov 2009 by F. Perry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 1 May 2007
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1900 [DVD] (DVD)
20th Century Fox originally released this DVD on April 30th, 2007 but they accidentally missed off the crucial, opening credit sequence lasting about three minutes. They re-released it on July 28th 2008 corrected, with the opening credit sequence in English rather than Italian, but about a minute shorter than usual. This classic is in a nice steelbook cover, and the second disc includes fascinating interviews with director Bernardo Bertolucci on the casting of and making the film. This is the first major picture in which Robert De Niro played the lead. A great edition from Fox; don't miss it.
PLEASE BE WARNED: SOME COPIES BEING SOLD BY SELLERS UNDER 'USED AND NEW' ARE FAULTY STOCK WITH THE OPENING CREDITS MISSING! Buy only from amazon or any official retailer selling brand new stock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars politics made easy, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Richard J. Jardine "rjchardine" (the north) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1900 [DVD] (DVD)
1900 sets out to render the ideological difference between left and right, as good and evil, succeeds and overlays romance and the dilemmas associated with growing up in a world of conflict. Sutherland is suitably unpleasant and as we find out in the opening reel gets forked for his ways. De Niro amusingly looking nothing like his real old age version, Depardieu does what Gerard does best. A long ramble that is wonderful to look at if a bit stagey at times, there's overacting and underacting in equal measure due to the language (&star versus ordinary villagers as actors) mismatch, is there an Italian with english subtitles version?, if so I would prefer it. the frank and shock tactics still work, strangely, despite the passage of time since its release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth seeing again and again, 4 April 2010
By 
Christopher Nutt "cnutt" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1900 [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite films ever, a four-hour operatically constructed review of the Italy of the early twentieth century. The roles are all brilliantly played and Bertolucci cleverly pastiches social realism in some amazingly choreographed scenes. The farm is itself a symbol for Italy as the main characters play their roles to the leitmotifs of this period in Italian political, economic and cultural history. The photography is also superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less a film more a mini series, 5 Nov 2009
By 
F. Perry (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1900 [DVD] (DVD)
I originally saw this film in a 4 hour version over 30 years ago and always remembered if fondly. However viewing it now in its full 5 hours and one minute directors cut I find it a mixed bag. There is no doubt there is a sweeping good tale with great characters within this epic but there is also a lot of pretentiousness. The dubbing of some actors (Cast is part Italian, part American) is an unusual and sometimes annoying feature. The acting varies from over the top - Burt Lancaster/Donald Sutherland to the quite moving. One truly wonderful feature however is the magnificent cinematography. If you've not seen it before and and wish to fill a long wet evening you could do worse but ultimately its just too damn long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Finest Films of All Time, but be warned, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: 1900 [DVD] (DVD)
This is currently at number 4 on my top 100 films of all time, it is that good. A stunning epic of magnificent proportions by the great Bernardo Bertolucci. The cinematography and direction of this film have almost never been bettered, it is a stunning achievement visually. The acting is exemplary and, although dubbed, still memorable performances from my favourite actor Robert De Niro, who is not dubbed, and Gerard Depardieu (when I think of Depardieu I certainly think of this role). Burt Lancaster and Sterling Hayden give great little performances as well, I really enjoyed that. Donald Sutherland plays the detestable Attila, and it is another stunning performance, probably Sutherland's finest. Ennio Morricone's score is in my opinion his second finest, after his score for my all time favourite film, Once Upon a Time in America. This film chronicles Italy in these forty five years excellently, it is a real history lesson in politics, and I really learnt a lot from it, especially that Bertolucci is a strong communist (haha). This film is a real achievement, especially is you can actually appreciate it, I know of a lot of people who just cast aside this film as boring but that is a meaningless comment, as anyone who appreciates films should know. This is one of the finest films of all time, a remarkable achievement, but it does run five hours long and as I mentioned before it may play on most viewers nerves. The second disc also has two little featurettes which are very interesting. But be warned! This film contains some scenes that are VERY shocking, you may want to check the IMDb parents guide to check because there are some moments in this film that have really disturbed people (although it is CERTAINLY NOT a gore fest porn show).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply flawed, but also quite amazing, 11 July 2012
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1900 [DVD] (DVD)
So flawed that I almost feel weird giving it this high a rating. But
two viewings of this somewhat bloated 5 hour plus film left me feeling
the same way; The film is over-simplistic in its characters and
politics, badly dubbed (with actors from all over speaking their own
language, so whatever soundtrack you pick there are important
characters who sound like something out of 'What's Up Tiger Lily'), and
even the English spoken by DeNiro seems post- recorded, making for an
oddly stiff sounding performance.

Yet for all these complaints it is somehow a near-great film. There are
so many moments; images, incidents that are indelible, and in the end
there's such a real emotional punch to this overview of the history of
Italy from 1900 to 1945 as seem through the lives of a few people in a
small town that it overcomes many of the flaws.

I couldn't defend the film from anyone who wanted to tear it down -
e.g. the simple-minded jingoistic endless competition between fascism
and communism as if those were the only two options in the world, with
both sides reduced to cartoon like figures of evil and good.

But it's strengths are strong enough that I'd urge people to judge for
themselves. You may find, like me, that all the flaws don't matter to
you when a film has so many unforgettable moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Novecento, 26 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1900 [DVD] (DVD)
Good film, most people will find it a bit long, but it does explore the full spectrum of human nature. Quick delivery, light packaging. Very good overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 hour Masterpiece, 30 Aug 2010
This review is from: 1900 [DVD] (DVD)
When I got this DVD, I was expecting a steel book cover with 30th anniversary edition .I ended up getting the standard edition . After some research,I found out that the version that was sent to me was the complete version as on the back it says it runs for 301 minutes and reviews say the complete version is 315 minutes but the UK Version when put on DVD does show the whole film at a slightly faster rate (undetectable with the human eye).
The film follows two boys friendship from their childhood to old age in Italy .Things change with war ,love and politics which tests their friendship. Three established actors: De Niro, Depardieu and Donald Sutherland give unforgetable performances. If you liked Once Upon a Time in America then you will like this . For Robert De Niro fans, this is a MUST SEE performance .I paid [...]for a five hour masterpiece. Great value for money !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turn of the century Interesting historical perspective of Italy, 24 Feb 2014
By 
J. P. Carreiro (Azores, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1900 [DVD] (DVD)
The so called «tips» don't help much. Good to see again with different eyes after all those years although the big screen makes a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare antique!, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1900 [DVD] (DVD)
Beautifully filmed, terrific story and well acted. Have now watched it 6 times and still find so much to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1900 [DVD]
1900 [DVD] by Bernardo Bertolucci (DVD - 2008)
£6.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews