Customer Reviews


255 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When what you need is a little light relaxation
Thank goodness we're all different. Unlike one of the reviewers, who appears to be unable to find any merit in this offering of Ridley Scott's, "A Good Year" did, quite precisely, hit the spot. It's got a simple and predictable plot. It's about the perennial theme of the real values in life - something that get's more important as we get older. It's got wine,...
Published on 2 Sep 2007 by K. Moss

versus
33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A relaxing watch
Rich London money boy inherits house in France. Discovers money isn't everything. Happy ever after is just around the corner.
What takes it beyond that, is that it's a Ridley Scott film, so naturally it looks excellent. Russell Crowe is affable but doesn't really have to stretch himself. You'd think the whole thing was carried along by the chance of spending a summer...
Published on 18 July 2007 by Mark Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is a lovely feel good film - particularly if you love France - and wine! Easy to watch - we see more in it every time we watch it. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
We bought this item for a romantic moments of our Saturday night, without any one of the greatest film ever made in this genre with an excellent quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ULTIMATE FEEL GOOD FILM, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you ...

* Need cheering up,
* Want to see some sunshine,
* Enjoy beautiful views,
* Listen to a well chosen soundtrack,
* Meet some great characters,
* And generally enjoy a cracking good yarn with some very talented actors, directed by a craftsman ...

Then treat yourself to this! It will not fail to make you smile and leave you with a warm glow inside. It's a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing movie, 24 Jun 2009
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Good Year [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A GOOD YEAR (2006) was a delight but hardly surprising seeing as how it was directed by Ridley Scott (Alien, Thelma & Louise, Tristan & Isolde). This is a cheer-upper, to lift your spirits.

I never expected to see Russell Crowe (Gladiator, A Beautiful Mind) in a comedic role and he does it so well in this. Crowe plays the part of a self-centred and successful business man, Max. His uncle (played by Albert Finney) dies and leaves him a wonderful villa and vineyard in France where Max grew up. Max goes over to France to sell the place but there are complications. Wonderful, funny, highly entertainable complications which a dash of romance.

The book was written by Peter Mayle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good rom-com, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Beautiful setting, matched by easy going music. Some fabulous throw away lines. Good Sunday afternoon material - sit back and dream!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year (Amazon Instant Video)
Not a fan of Russell Crowe but one slightly warms to him in this film. Everything else is brilliant with a lovely storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie which offers something different to appreciate, 24 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Good Year [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A Good Year is a movie which offers something different to appreciate and a bit more variety to viewers. I am little bored with the influx of sexual, violent, psychological thrillers and classic remakes Hollywood is continuously exhausting viewers with. A Good Year surely expands the repertoire of movies which the industry can offer to viewers in terms of originality and variety.

If we focus on the movie itself, the plot to the story shifts from the bustling and financial district of London, to the beautiful and picturesque countryside of France. The movie follows the life of a workalcohic worker (Max) played by Russell Crowe who is one a mission to inherit an estate his uncle left behind. Does he have any interest in the estate or not? His adventures in France including meeting some colourful characters and a beautiful dark haired lady ( Marion Cotillard), but their is one hiccup that the uncle has left some of the estate to be inherited by a cousin. That is the general flavour of the story.

A Good Year main plus points are it choice of locations and excellent characterisation particularly of Max who is so charming, but can be irritating and unlikeable at times. The storyline is little predictable at times. The movie contains shuttle humour associated within the traditional context of English and French rivalry. The bottom line is A Good Year is something different to appreciate and to admire the magnificent scenery of the countryside set in the region of France. I am really looking for movies offering variety and nice and simple to connect to. A Good Year certainly fulfilled these criteria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've bought nine copies as gifts so far ...., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A unique beautifully crafted romantic film that will warm the emotions and cockles of the heart again and again. Russell Crowe at his comedic best starring along side the beautiful French actress Marion Cotillard and Albert Finney, supported by Didier Bourdon, Abbie Cornish and Tom Hollander. The settings in Provence are spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good film with a gentle story and excellent cast., 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
We have seen this film on TV on a couple of occasions and felt that we wanted a copy of our own. It is a very gentle love story which starts with a high powered executive hungry for money and power amid the rat race in USA, and ends with a man who finds love and complete fulfilment in a vineyard in Provence. We love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most enjoyable film, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Year [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A good, most enjoyable story, but it is character and atmosphere of southern France that is so beautifully captured in this film that drew me to it. What a quandary for Max the buzz and glamour offered by London or the delights of Provence and a gorgeous girl! A film you can watch time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Good Year [DVD] [2006]
A Good Year [DVD] [2006] by Ridley Scott (DVD - 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews