Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you need to buy this !!!!
I have read the other reviews here and i must say i do not agree. I own all the dimmu albums but that does not automatically make me biased as a superfan or whatever. This album does take more getting used to than the last few, on Dealth Cult Armageddon and Puritanical Eurphoric Misanthropia the mix of music and symphany hit you in the face before you can even begin to...
Published on 4 May 2007 by A. STEPHENS

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good, strong album but it's a little boring at times.
In Sorte Diaboli is a good hard album. It has some excellent tracks of it such as The Serpentine Offering and The Invaluble Darkness, but after awhile it begins to become a little boring and you'll find your self picking about 6 out of the 9 songs every time you listen to it. While Dimmu Borgir are moving away from the traditional Black Metal sound, this album is missing...
Published on 26 Aug. 2007 by Acartartanius


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you need to buy this !!!!, 4 May 2007
This review is from: In Sorte Diaboli (Audio CD)
I have read the other reviews here and i must say i do not agree. I own all the dimmu albums but that does not automatically make me biased as a superfan or whatever. This album does take more getting used to than the last few, on Dealth Cult Armageddon and Puritanical Eurphoric Misanthropia the mix of music and symphany hit you in the face before you can even begin to think. This album is different in style but never fails to be Dimmu Borgir. The more you listen to this album the better it gets, at first songs seem similar but as you listen on you seem to free them up and find each song is very different. Its very clever what Dimmu have done, they wanted to make a story concept album so the songs have to fit together and they do very well. The sweeping orchestral feel which you would normally find on a Dimmu album has been pushed aside but is still used to great effect on certain songs. This is a very heavy album with crushing guitars and some awesome drumming from Hellhammer. The technical brilliance of this album is astounding. If you have never listened to Dimmu borgir before i suggest you do as you will be suprised. If you have heard Dimmu you should already own this by now, if not shame on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The evil remains !!!!!!, 18 Jun. 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: In Sorte Diaboli: +DVD (Audio CD)
dimmu borgirs seventh album isnt the natural follow up to their excellent album,'death,cult...' as it isnt as opratic and majestic but is nevertheless an album that rewards the listener the more they listen too it and after a few listens its brilliance starts to dawn.

Its a shorter,leaner and certainly in some ways meaner than any of their previous albums,clocking in at 48 mins signifies that the band have a purpose,to be unrelenting,but they certainly stick to the melodies,choirs,clean vocals and trumpets and symphonic black metal that won them grammys and made them the first norwegian group since A-HA to break into the American billborad chart,in truth this album is a runaway success for a black metal group and i cant fault this too much.

The album opens with the brilliant 'the serpentine offering' and throughout the album the melodies are rich and very well structured,of course vocalist shagrath screams his head off but these days he is easier to make out and in truth his clean vocals have never sounded better,look no further than 'the sacrilegious scorn' for evidence of that.

On the ten songs here,one of which is a bonus track and one an instrumental,the band dont stray from their formula much at all but thats perfectly understandable,and one fact remains,that this is a classic album in the making,time will prove me right or wrong on that but my money is on the former.

****************

As this is the deluxe edition that i purchased then special mention must go to the contents,a stunning booklet with lyrics back to front and a glass mirror to read them,including an explanation of the man behind the inspiration for this concept album and a dvd with music video and two interesting documentaries ,well thats hard to beat,brilliantly done lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM - BUT BRING BACK THE ORCHESTRA FOR THE NEXT ONE!, 6 July 2008
By 
Adam Jackson (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Sorte Diaboli: +DVD (Audio CD)
Very good album, and it was my first taste of Dimmu!
Very heavy with big emphasis on Metallic riffs, Double Bass drums and a BIG, clear production sound. One of the best productions around. Sounds like a million dollars!
A concept album, with an interesting story, similiar to Sabbat's Dark Age lyrical themes. Very brutal and varied vocals from the charred throat of Shagrath and Clean vox from bassist ICS Vortex (better than on Death Cult Armageddon, as good as if not better than on Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia).
The guitar work is more Heavy Metal/Thrash in style than early BM tones, and Hellhammer is an apt way of describing the drummer's nature as well as name! Very fast, heavy with a very clean, powerful sound.
Mustiis, as usual, delivers some great symphonic keyboard work particularly on epic opener, The Serpentine Offering. However it's a dissapointment that the band did not use a real orchestra or at least a string section (as on DCA & PEM). Synths can sound great, as they do on here, & replicate a symphony orchestra really well (see Epica) BUT there's no substitute for the real thing. The material is so well written & produced, that if a full orchestra had been added, I would almost certainly consider this the best DM album of all! The good news is that the band are starting work in 2008 on the next concept album (the 2nd part of Diaboli's story) and are looking to work with no less than the London Philharmonic Orchestra - So effective on Nightwish's Once & Dark Passion Play albums, and The Lord Of The Rings Film Trilogy.
Standout tracks: All of them, most work standalone and all work as a whole concept!
The packaging is great - yes, the inverted lyrics/mirror idea is a bit naff but the fonts and dark ages style illustrations are really good!
The Bonus DVD is actually VERY good, with informative footage from the recording studio, indepth interviews, and the promo video for The Serpentine Offering (which is almost like a mini movie with it's historical look married to the band performing). Absoluteley love the 'Dimmu look' as well - OTT in it's 'Evil' style but totally suiting the music!
If you like Symphonic Metal (even if no real orchestra) and like well produced, VERY heavy music, then I would recommend. If you like the heavier end of the likes of Judas Priest, then make a leap as Dimmu's music is not the poorly produced noise that many people consider Black Metal to be.
In all reality, as with Emperor and Therion, Dimmu Borgir have left the Black/Death Metal shackles behind, taking the aggression & darkness with them, and adding the melodic sensibilities, professional productions and higher musical excellence needed for the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My descent is the story of everyman..., 30 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Sorte Diaboli (Audio CD)
Dimmu Borgir have always had an unhealthy interest in satanism, so it was only natural that they eventually came round to writing a concept album all about it. "In Sorte Diaboli" tells the story of a priest in the time of the crusades who begins to doubt his faith in God and christianity, and begins a path down the road to becoming the antichrist. This, I have to say, seems like a pretty cool concept, and one that works pretty well with Dimmu's music. The beginning of the story is explained in a short text in the album booklet, and the rest continues in the lyrics of the songs. Unfortunately, they never seem to have got very far into the concept, as the protagonist seems to fall into satanism in the first song, which leaves around another 7 rather general songs about satanism until he is eventually burned at the stake in the final song.

The music is, predictably, pretty damn heavy! As very heavy metal goes, theres not much to say against it... There are plenty of good riffs, killer drumming and Shagrath displays a more impressive vocal range than usual. On the downside, Dimmu seem to have gone a bit over the top with proving how "evil" and "black metal" they are, and on the whole neglected the melodic side of their music. Particularly given the concept, the album would have hugely benefitted from more inclusion of the eerie keyboards and backing choirs which a few of their songs hint at. Nonetheless, "In Sorte Diaboli" easily stands up to their last few albums, although it is true that there isn't a huge amount of variety between songs.

The atmosphere and style of music is seriously black and evil, and there are some fantastic moments. The highlight is obviously the single and opening track "The Serpentine offering", with a fantastically dramatic orchestral-sounding opening, some of their ocasional operatic clean vocals and a crushing riff. "The Conspiracy Unfolds" and "The Sacriligious Scorn" also hit dramatic musical highs, although none of the songs are particularly poor. On the whole, the concept and lyrics could have done with a bit more work and there is a marked lack of some of their more melodic elements which could have worked well, but on the whole, this is Dimmu Borgir doing what they do best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Dimmu album ever, 16 May 2007
By 
Afrow UK (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Sorte Diaboli (Audio CD)
I was waiting with great intensity for this album and when it finally came I couldn't wait to listen to it. Took it to college but the computers there don't have CD drives. Doh!

Anyway, this album is definitely not the best Dimmu album in the ranks (I have them all also) but by all means it is definitely not a load of rubbish. It is true that you need to listen through a few times to get into the music (I remember doing so with their last albums in fact) because at first, the different tunes have quite a similar style (unlike the last two albums especially). This was disappointing at first, but after a few listens through, you really do get into the album and you are relieved to be back at Dimmu Borgir's door step!

I ordered my copy from caimen_usa (they are AWESOME) through 3rd party sellers, and fortunately for me it came with the US bonus track "The Heretic Hammer". After the first track, "The Serpentine Offering", The Heretic Hammer is probably the next best track. It's such a shame that it didn't make the European version of the album. Perhaps it has some swearing in it that us European folk would find distressing (listens again).

I would still recommend this album. Dimmu will definitely reach a wider audience with this release (as much if not more than their last release, Death Cult Armageddon) and why shouldn't they? If more people want to listen to anti-Christian music and satanic profanity then so be it. The more people listening to what I listen to the better I say (the BM 'scene' is rather lonely around here)!!

If you want some good Dimmu material, I'd get Spiritual Black Dimensions and Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia and of course, this album. Death Cult is also a good album, but didn't quite do it for me especially since their style changed rather a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good, strong album but it's a little boring at times., 26 Aug. 2007
This review is from: In Sorte Diaboli (Audio CD)
In Sorte Diaboli is a good hard album. It has some excellent tracks of it such as The Serpentine Offering and The Invaluble Darkness, but after awhile it begins to become a little boring and you'll find your self picking about 6 out of the 9 songs every time you listen to it. While Dimmu Borgir are moving away from the traditional Black Metal sound, this album is missing the sort of Black, Idustrial and Thrash Metal sound Death Cult Armageddon possesed. The lyrics on this album seem a little weak at times, but for the most part their ok.

Shagrath's vocals are still as good as they were on the previous titles and Vortex is continuing to add some really intreaging pieces to the songs he sings in. Hellhammers drumming sounds good, but I prefer Nicks. Silenoz and Glader's guitar work still has the industrial Metal sound to it, which I like. And Mustis' work of the keyboard still impresses me. So what wrong with it? Well for starters the tracks to sound a bit similar, and they get a little boring after a while. The Serpentine Offering is the stand-out track on the album it's certainly the best. The chanting in some songs was a nice affect aswell, I don't think their were any solo's on this album so I was a tad disapointed by that as well. The acctual story, about the priest, is nothing more than a nice little read.

Overall, it's a good album that I would reccomend to others - truly enjoyable, but at certain times boring and repeative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but one of the best., 25 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: In Sorte Diaboli: +DVD (Audio CD)
This album begins with an epic opening track, reminiscent of classical / film music - then continuing into the Black Metal that people know this band for.
It's a great album, but despite it having one of the best productions in Black Metal - it doesn't have the songs as their previous classic album "Death Cult Armageddon". A great album for someone interested in the band, but probably not a great first listen as it's a concept album so it has a central theme, which might not translate to those unfamiliar with the bands material and outlook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jury Still Out, 15 May 2007
By 
J. Halstead "BlackMetal41" (Solihull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Sorte Diaboli: +DVD (Audio CD)
I remember the first time I played Puratinical Euphoric Misanthropia and being blown away by what is a fantastic CD. I often rave about the mighty Emperor but if I'm being honest it was only Nightside and Welkin that were the utter classics with the orchestration and the atmosphere they created. Puratinical.. came close to acheiving what Emperor could have done with IX Equilibrium and Prometheus. Then came Death Cult Armageddon... Words don't explain how fantastic that CD is, and 5 stars don't do it justice - Its certainly up there with the aforementioned Emperor classics and the mighty Cradle Of Filth collectiion that never ceases to disappoint. Finally we come to In Sorte.. hmm.. its just not doing it for me - Yet! I've a feeling its much like how I felt listening to IX Equilibrium.. the atmosphere created by Death Cult is missing and I don't find myself humming the songs in the bath etc. The time is now for Dimmu with Ozzfest and Download behind them, but all you guys looking to find the masterpiece should go to Death Cult Armageddon before you try this one. Don't get me wrong - Its 4 Stars, maybe even 4 1/2, I just think they've struggled to match its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, but not outstanding, 26 Oct. 2007
By 
D. Killick (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Sorte Diaboli (Audio CD)
After dislodging 'Death Cult Armageddon' form my CD player where it had taken up near permanent residence, I was happy to hear that In Sorte Diaboli immediately reached the high standard that I have come to expect from Dimmu Borgir.
I was a little disappointed that although all the tracks are a very good listen in their own right, I soon began to feel that they sound somewhat the same.
It lacks the 'standout tracks' of Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia or the diversity of D.C.A. but nonetheless, a good buy, and easily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 😪😪🚲😄, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Sorte Diaboli: +DVD (Audio CD)
Bought for partners birthday. Arrived in plenty time. Was in really good condition. A really good quality, well designed box set. He was chuffed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Sorte Diaboli
In Sorte Diaboli by Dimmu Borgir (Audio CD - 2007)
Click for more info
In stock on May 5, 2015
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews