Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Daft Club
All things great about daft punk remixes. featuring all different dj's it's a great buy for those true fans of the robots
Published 8 months ago by DireWolf

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthy accompaniment to Discovery
As a remix album, this is automatically flawed. They all are. But if you loved Discovery and couldn't get the Daft Club thing to work online, then this is well worth a look in. Some big remix names (the Jaxx, Demon, Phoenix, Boris Dlugosch, etc) realise they can't better the original tracks, so wisely offer their own subtle spin on Daft Punk's sound.
Highlights...
Published on 24 Jan 2004 by Derek Knight


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthy accompaniment to Discovery, 24 Jan 2004
This review is from: Daft Club (Audio CD)
As a remix album, this is automatically flawed. They all are. But if you loved Discovery and couldn't get the Daft Club thing to work online, then this is well worth a look in. Some big remix names (the Jaxx, Demon, Phoenix, Boris Dlugosch, etc) realise they can't better the original tracks, so wisely offer their own subtle spin on Daft Punk's sound.
Highlights include the Neptunes remix of 'Harder Better Faster Stronger', which is a pretty mouthwatering combination, and Daft Punk's own cut up of 'One More Time' over 'Aerodynamic'. Trust me, you'll never again be able to hear the latter without singing the former over the top! But the surprise package is Gonazales' inspired Lounge cover of 'Too Long', sung in the club style.
And, ok, the tracks were previously available online, but credit to Daft Punk: they didn't have to release them online at all. The Daft Club was an original, generous and very clever way to get fresh material to fans for nothing when many other acts and labels were decrying the internet as the root of all evil. I certainly don't begrudge them releasing the material to those who couldn't download it or who, like me, wanted a nice vinyl or CD copy to play out and about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daft Club, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daft Club (Audio CD)
All things great about daft punk remixes. featuring all different dj's it's a great buy for those true fans of the robots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm...., 31 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Daft Club (Audio CD)
Fair enough, there are some disappointing tracks on the album, but there are some awesome tracks too!
If your copy of Discovery is scratched to catastrophic proportions (like mine) then you'll love this.
Give it a chance... it's not as daft as they say.
The acoustic version of "one more time" is a real spine tingler, as is "aerodynamite". The Slum Village track is like nothing you've ever heard before, a nice mix of hip hop and house. Also, if you're a fan of the Neptunes you'll love their contribution.
If, on the other hand, you have 100 watt floor speakers and enjoy making your house shake to the foundations then this album is definitely for you.
But I'm pretty weird, so I wouldn't listen to me if I were you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just daft, 7 Jan 2004
This review is from: Daft Club (Audio CD)
When you bought Daft Punk's last album 'Discovery' in 2001, you got a free membership card to the online Daft Club and access to a load of free exclusive tracks. These tracks have now been compiled and released (two-three years on) on this album.
While Discovery was a superb CD, Daft Club is not. The remixes are largely inferior to the energetic original cuts and mostly just add repetitive beats and dated production.
Mind you, fans will want to get their hands on Ouverture and Something About Us, both unreleased elsewhere and while the remixed Aerodynamite is a worthy addition, you can already get it on the single.
A hardocore fans purchase only, Daft Club only leaves you waiting for the next album proper...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not great but worth buying, 2 Sep 2007
This review is from: Daft Club (Audio CD)
i have always liked daft punk ever since hearing there discovery album and when i ordered this album i thought it was excellent

some of the tracks are very disappointing but out of the whole album i found only 2 tracks that i would never listen to more than once there is so much to choose from on this album and the remixes are handled with a brilliance that made me like daft punk in the first place

the price is extreamly reasonable for what this product contains and without a doubt this will make anyone who listens to it feel amazed at how fresh the sounds are after all this time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Daft Remixes, 21 Jan 2004
By 
E. Perkins "spideredd" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daft Club (Audio CD)
I was a little apprehensive about this title.
It is after all, basicly discovery re-mixed.
It isn't as good as Discovery, but it does have some excellent re-mixes.
Its a pity that these track were available on the internet otherwise it would have been rated higher.
The best track on this album is daft punks own remix of ayrodynamic, but this does not save the album from being average.
Because this is not a bad album, i can recomend it to fans of daft punk, but because it's not a good album, i won't recomend it to anyone else except house fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why did they make this album?, 12 Jan 2004
By 
John Miller (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daft Club (Audio CD)
Its a shame. Daft Punk have always been innovative and have produced some great tunes, BUT this album has got to be their worst. Its just a tacky rehash of old tunes and not worth parting with your money. Serious shame, I really liked their previous albums but this is just disappointing! Sounds like they just wanted to get an album out regardless of the quality to keep up their profile. Don't buy it, its not worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daft Club
Daft Club by Daft Punk (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews