Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously powerful
You might think that being based on the true life tale of Jesse James Hollywood (it's really only the names that are changed), all the tension would be gone from this movie - we all already know the ending, right? In this case, however, that doesn't happen, and that's totally down to the relationship between Anton Yelchin as the eventual victim and Justin Timberlake (yes,...
Published on 21 Aug 2007 by H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow start, interesting later, but not *very* interesting.
Version I saw: UK DVD release
Actors: 6/10
Plot/script: 7/10
Photography/visual style: 5/10
Music/score: 5/10
Overall: 6/10
It's only by chance that I ever heard about this movie. I don't remember it getting much of a release back in 2006, and I am not surprised. It's not a bad movie, but not much better than that.
After a slow start,...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. R. A. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously powerful, 21 Aug 2007
By 
H (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Alpha Dog [DVD] (DVD)
You might think that being based on the true life tale of Jesse James Hollywood (it's really only the names that are changed), all the tension would be gone from this movie - we all already know the ending, right? In this case, however, that doesn't happen, and that's totally down to the relationship between Anton Yelchin as the eventual victim and Justin Timberlake (yes, I know he's a pretty boy singer but the guy can and does act extremely well in this movie). It's heartbreaking to watch the story unfold and you really feel for this poor, trusting kid who honestly believes that his kidnappers are cool guys and that they'll be taking him home after a few beers and spliffs. Ben Foster also puts in an amazing show, but the entire cast is excellent and they're what keeps the film believable.

It is an excellent movie and well worth a watch but as per the drug culture it depicts every other word out of their mouths is an expletive so if you're not into swearing, then this is probably one to avoid. I urge you not to though, because there's a very real story under here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing film, 23 Aug 2007
By 
Ms. S. L. Denning "beanie121" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alpha Dog [DVD] (DVD)
I never got a chance to see this in the cinema so went out and got it as soon as it hit the shops. Well worth the money. It had me gripped from start to finish. Based on true events, the story was good, acting good ( yes JT too ) and the ending was very moving. I couldnt get it out of my head even days after seeing it. Go buy this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping saga with excellent performances., 12 July 2008
By 
G. McFarlane "gav_mcf" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alpha Dog [DVD] (DVD)
For those who don't know much about Alpha Dog, it is a Los Angeles set crime drama based on a true story. The plot is pretty simple, Jake Mazursky (Ben Foster) owes drug money to Johnny Truelove (Emile Hirsch) and his crew, so they kidnap Jake's brother Zach (Anton Yelchin) until he pays up. But as it gets deeper Johnny realises the trouble he's in and will take drastic measures to cover up his mistakes...

With Alpha Dog, director Nick Cassavetes is covering a very interesting story, based on Jesse James Hollywood, here called Johnny Truelove (the youngest man ever to be on the FBI's most wanted list). The question is: would it carry over well into a Hollywood movie? The answer is, thanks to the performances and easy story telling, yes.

Most of the actors put in very solid performances which makes you care about the story much more. Emile Hirsch is predictably excellent as head man Truelove, getting into more trouble as the film goes on and Hirsch brilliantly shows the panic that the character faces so early in his youth. Also great are Shawn Hatosy as Truelove's right hand man Elvis Schmidt, Anton Yelchin as the kidnapped Zach but the standout is Justin Timberlake as Frankie who is charismatic and very effective in another performance that leads to panic and indecision which he does very well. However, the usually very good Ben Foster as Jake seems to totally overact and shout as much as he can. Bruce Willis doesn't have too much to do as Johnny's dad Sonny but is good to watch as always. There's not many female roles, Sharon Stone is OK as Zach's mum and sexy Mean Girls star Amanda Seyfried is good as one of the crew's party girls.

Another aspect thats effective in Alpha Dog is the storytelling, it doesn't try to pack in too much and just stays easy, relaxing and natural. It could have easily taken the Domino route and just been an overblown event of wild set pieces, but fortunately it has a very much real life feel. It's also got a neat visual effect counting witnesses as it goes along, which also helps you keep track of everyone that seen the horrible mistake these guys made.

Of course the main story in all this is the tragic kidnapping of Zach Mazursky, which actually turns out to be a lot different than you think. Zach actually enjoys hanging out with these guys and is having the time of his life away from his parents, which makes the decision of what to do so much more difficult for the crew. With this story at the centre of attention, there is a lot of pressure on Anton Yelchin, but the future Star Trek and Terminator 4 star delivers very well and you can't help but engage in the confused teenager as the story goes on.

Minor gripes about Alpha Dog are that the film runs a little bit too long for the amount of story it covers and the pointless party scenes take the focus away from the story a bit. Other than that Alpha Dog is a gripping, sometimes heart-felt drama worth checking out for the excellent performances of Hirsch, Timberlake, Hatosy and Yelchin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 21 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Alpha Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Just finished watchin this film and it was awesome. As people have said before, it went from party time to edge of your seat "i cant believe it happened" sort of thing.

JT is good - very realistic and all the other cast our outstanding.

Not knowing it was based on true events, it becomes obvious during it it is. Very very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stellar Cast For A Stellar Movie, 5 April 2008
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Alpha Dog [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a film with possibly some of the best actors in the business. Bruce Willis & Sharon Stone as the veterans of the business and Emile Hirsch, Anton Yelchin & Justin Timberlake as the promising up and comers of the movie business.
The main protagonist of this movie is Johnny Truelove, a wannabe gangster from a pretty well off background. He is owed money by a typical scumbag drug addict known as Jake Mazursky. As a form of revenge Truelove, along with friends Tiko Martinez & Frankie Ballenbacher they kidnap Jakes younger brother Zack. This event leads to a matter of different events that none of them had ever expected.

Firstly the Hostage of this movie, Zack (Yelchin) seems more than welcome to being kidnapped by these men and shows that he's fine with the situation. Frankie (Timberlake) has an attack of conscience and knows that the kidnapping will only lead to dreadfull things. Johnny (Hirsch) simply seems to care about one thing and that's getting his money back. While Zack is kidnapped he is shown this privileged gangster lifestyle and he falls in love with it, he becomes part of the gang. On the other hand Truelove & Frankie continuously argue back and forth about whether to let the kid go as to avoid any devastating situations.

This is a surprisingly good movie that depicts the mindset that some of the younger generations have towards life, no matter how privileged their background may be. From the start it seems to drag on non-sensically but towards the middle the plot starts to make sense as it becomes a movie about morals, friendship and trust. The most surprising thing is, is that this film is based entirely around true events which is a bit upsetting but again a true depiction of the lives of some young generations in suburbia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alpha Dog, 4 Dec 2007
This review is from: Alpha Dog [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I thought the film was a little slow to start and just couldn't see where it was going - until about half way through. That's when the movie really began to liven up. It was not only entertaining but really interesting, and I found myself pleading with the characters to do the right thing. I guess that's just how a film can get you involved. To make it worse, I realised it was a true story! Some good acting, Justin Timberlake doesn't just use his fame and stature (as some pop stars try their hand at being 'actors' but can't act to save their life), he was actually pretty convincing and did a good job. If you don't like a fairly grimey movie this isn't for you, but I would certainly recommend it and say it's worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth a watch, 1 Sep 2007
By 
S. coates (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alpha Dog [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film on a spur of the moment decision and not really knowing too much about the plot, but it was well worth it.

The pace of the film constantly changes throughout changing from subtle and calming moments to intrigue and edge of your seat moments. All actors portrayed their characters brilliantly and justin timberlake did really well in fulfilling the criteria of the role.

its well worth watching!! enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Justin films, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Antsy justin film will always be five star, a true star and entertainer, arrived quickly, happy with service, xx xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slow start, interesting later, but not *very* interesting., 14 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Alpha Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Version I saw: UK DVD release
Actors: 6/10
Plot/script: 7/10
Photography/visual style: 5/10
Music/score: 5/10
Overall: 6/10
It's only by chance that I ever heard about this movie. I don't remember it getting much of a release back in 2006, and I am not surprised. It's not a bad movie, but not much better than that.
After a slow start, the film has a few interesting things to say about the Californian youth culture, and paces nicely toward an end in which I have to admit I was engaged. Justin Timberlake (in the midst of his transformation from music star to acting star) stands out as one of the slackers/wannabe gangsters who kidnap a kid and then don't know what to do with him, and the young cast are ably supported by veterans Bruce Willis, Harry Dean Stanton and Sharon Stone.
It is interesting to see a film which only becomes interesting when the action *stops* rather than starts. On the whole though, I would only recommend seeking out this movie if you have nothing better to do.
For my full review, see my independent film blog on Blogspot, Cinema Inferno: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not like, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alpha Dog [DVD] (DVD)
Didn't like this movie too many irritating characters for my taste loud and brash not for me,to me its for the younger generation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alpha Dog [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 1.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews