Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible album
I joined the Modest Mouse party late, and probably have the benefit of this being my first Modest Mouse album. Many people listen to it burdened by the preconception that it won't be as good as Good News For People Who Love Bad News [Explicit], or that they've lost their way since the Moon and Antartica.

I personally feel this is an outstanding album. Grabbed...
Published on 3 July 2012 by Steven Brown

versus
2 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An album of Modest Mouse tics, but without any heart.
A mediocre Modest Mouse album I can't recommend at all. Try his previous album, or any other really. His worst album since Sad Sappy Sucker (his worst album).

Only one track stands out from the telephoned-in shouty Modest Mouse performance, which is "Dashboard", which you'll probably be able to download for free somewhere. So save yourself some money, just buy...
Published on 20 Jun. 2007 by Useless Article


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible album, 3 July 2012
By 
Steven Brown (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I joined the Modest Mouse party late, and probably have the benefit of this being my first Modest Mouse album. Many people listen to it burdened by the preconception that it won't be as good as Good News For People Who Love Bad News [Explicit], or that they've lost their way since the Moon and Antartica.

I personally feel this is an outstanding album. Grabbed my interest with Brock's shouting and unusual sound on opener March into the Sea. This segued into the more radio friendly Dashboard, an excellent, catchy tune, containing one of my favourite lyrics on the album ("if the world don't like us, It'll shake us just like we were a cold"), for me, evoking a sense of how easily mother nature could get rid of humanity if/when we eventually push her too far.

Parting of the Sensory is probably my favourite on the album - a superb song of two halves, building to a superb climax, with an Isaac Brock take on death "Someday you will die, and somehow something's going to steal your carbon".

This is followed by the lovely Missed the Boat follows, another radio friendly song.

Next standout is Spitting Venom - again, a song in sections, which ramps up to a superb speed and energy after an initial quiet section, before giving way to a wonderful "trippy" (tried my best to think of another word for this, but couldn't!) section at the end, inviting you to float away towards the end of the album.

The album finishes very well - love the last track, Invisible - ("you're not invisible inside your car") - even though I'm surely wrong, I like to think it's about those people that pick their noses in their cars and think people can't see them.

In summary - a triumph of an album, whether compared to their other albums or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They've got everything!, 26 Mar. 2007
By 
Mr. W. J. Rhoden "Jack" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank (Audio CD)
I must admit that throwing this album on for the first time was a bit of a nerve-wrecking experience as I have absolutely fallen in love with their back catalog and didn't want to be dissapointed.

Thankfully the first track is brilliant and catchy enough that all my fears were immediately eased. I did find myself listening out for which parts of the album were Marr's or Mercer's being a Smiths and Shins fan as well. However with the second listen it all came together perfectly.

The stand out tracks for me are Dashboard (single material), We've Got Everything (lyrically brilliant) and the insanely catchy Shins-esque Missed the Boat. Yet, like all Modest Mouse albums it can only be truly appreciated when listened to from start to finish. No other band around hold your attention quite like Isaac Brock and the boys.

The rapid changes of pace from crazed pop perfection to sleepy meandering riffage all held together with bizarrely enthralling lyrics can only be truly appreciated after multiple listens. I have only had this album two days and listened to it 4 times and I can quite confidently assert that if you were a fan before you'll have 14 more resons to love them afterwards.

If you've never listened to them, this is a great introduction to one of the best, most inventive bands around at the moment. A word of warning though if you fall in love with Modest Mouse then you better have some money in the old bank account because you won't be able to resist their other, equally brilliant albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another more than solid album, 21 Mar. 2007
By 
Mr. J. Milton "jambo234" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
It's time to freak out.

In the privacy of your own home, on the bus surrounded by several OAPs, in the build up to the gig where the DJ finally plays a song you like, whatever situation, most of the material on this record, Modest Mouse's sixth, will make your mind explode due to high pressure, make your limbs looser, give you the confidence to go a bit wild.

80% of this is true.

Because chances are, after several listens, as the album gradually grows on you, you'll be shouting at a rapid pace the words "Somehow you will die someday and someone's gonna steal your carbon!" during one of the final tracks on this record, 'Parting Of The Sensory'. It's one of the stronger moments on this rock solid album, one that will disappoint some possibly, but if you're a newcomer to this band, or simply someone with an open mind, this album could take over your life in a matter of a week. And those lyrics that you'll be singing are immensely powerful, meant to be sung in groups of fifty. But if that doesn't happen and someone tells you to turn the sound down, simply state: "Sorry, it's just an impulse". Because chances are, this album will control your body in ways that not many others can. It could change your mood in a matter of 1 song, to a sinister yet joyous one, or maybe it might just turn you into a maniac.

It's the vocals of Isaac Brock that do it, his furious stance on the modern day comes across and gets in your head like you have a mind of a toddler, learning everything you see and hear instantly. It's his raging confidence that makes this album stand out from the pack of American alternative albums, along with the magnificent backbone of the band overall, including that of Johnny Marr, whose presence doesn't quite stand out in this record as it did in previous records, but his genius is still obviously a contribution.

Single "Dashboard" is an example of a moment on the album which could either make a jubilant impression or one that will be ignored forever, a track that could be skipped straight away by those many fans who haven't taken to the sound of it very well so far, but those that believe that it's an instantaneous catchy affair will be taken under the rest of the record's wing at ease, because "Dashboard" may be a bit too commercial, a bit too unlike Wolf Parade, but it's still got the spirit of a thousand enthusiastic musicians giving it their all. However whatever your impression on some of the material on this record, there will be one song which you cannot ignore, simply cannot let pass by. "Spitting Venom". An 8 and a half minute epic which energizes your mind more and more as it increases in animation audacity. "Hold on to what you need/We've got a knack for messed up history" are more powerful words than they could possibly be in any other situation, on any other record, sung by any other vocalist. It is quite possibly as close to perfection as you can reach with music in 2007, the best thing I've heard so far this year? Quite possibly. As they personify this "ship" that is sinking, chances are, you will fall in love.

And there's more to find in this record that seems like it lasts an eternity. It may be an eternity, but it's an eternity of emotional joy for the listener. Despite moments of defying bonkers music, there are times where you can sit back and shed a tear. "Little Motel" is a five minute apology to a loved one, and as the guitars a prominent, they are the feature of the song that will get you weepy. "Missed The Boat" is another one that could get you holding your tears back, a highlight of the record, The Shins' lead singer James Mercer adds in some backing vocals to add to the already unstoppable spirit of the record, and then the final note of " Oh, what useless tools ourselves" fades away, you can safely reassure yourself that this band are somewhat genius' of their time, their records grow on your more and more, lots of records do these days, but there is something special about this record. Something that you probably won't find in any other record this year or the next. The odd moment of perfection.

Wrap it up and keep it warm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album, you won't be disappointed., 9 May 2007
By 
D. Hurst "DansZephyr" (Cirencester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank (Audio CD)
I came across Modest Mouse whilst working in America back in 2005. It was a song called float on, on the good news for people who love bad news album that made me love this band. I came back to the UK and everybody thought I was mad as I went out and brought every album they have ever released.

You can listen to this band over and over and you don't seem to get tired of it! This album is no disappointment and I personally feel it's worth every penny. Only thing I can say about Modest Mouse is people find Isaac Brocks voice an acquired taste. It's amazing that this band have been around since 1993 and its only now they are starting to be played on mainstream UK radio such as BBC radio one.

Get your credit card out and treat yourself to some amazing music, if you like it buy their previous albums as you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing album, 27 Jun. 2007
By 
This review is from: We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank (Audio CD)
I got given my first Modest Mouse album ("Lonesome Crowded West!) and as seems so many fans, it took me a while to 'crack'. However, I now think MM are brilliant - ingenious, gifted, talented, unexpected and melodious. When I got this album, I thought it was a bit pop. After a few listens though, it has now been played non-stop for the last few months, I can't put it down. As MM start to appeal to more mainstream fans I think they may disappoint as they can sound a bit 'raw' (I note a review who thought the music quality was bad - they are not pop). Conversely old fans may be disappointed as they sound more catchy and mainstream. This album is a perfect mix - great vocal harmonies, the great MM sound, nonsense lyrics, shouty bits, quiet bits. There isn't a poor track on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I played it twelve times in three days, 25 April 2007
By 
Mr. P. Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank (Audio CD)
I came to this album because of the Marr connection having never heard Modest Mouse before. I didn't think I'd find an album as good as this ever again. I was wrong. Album of the year. I'll check out the other albums by Modest Mouse now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so modest!, 11 Jun. 2007
This review is from: We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank (Audio CD)
WOW! I hadn't taken much notice of Modest Mouse, and did'nt know anyone who did, so they just never came my way. I decided to give this album a listen because of the good reviews it was getting, WOW, this is fantastic.

For anyone who loves; Talking Heads, Clap your Hands, Bright Eyes and Arcade Fire, wear your shoes when listening to this.....it's gonna blow your socks off!

Musically, lyrically, vocally, this is the BEST album for many, many moons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ..., 22 April 2007
This review is from: We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank (Audio CD)
Modest Mouse have been around long enough now to know that you can't just write an album like clockwork every couple of years and expect it to sell just like the last one. You have to keep adding new things into the melting pot and changing or building on your style, only then do I, anyway, regard an outfit as a real band. I must admit I was a bit worried when I heard of the addition of The Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr, because frankly, it sounded a bit contrived.

Lucky, my fears were ill founded and that wasn't the case. And, coincidently, this is a brilliant album. Best tracks, for me, are the angry opener 'March Into The Sea', 'Parting Of The Sensory', 'Fly Trapped In A Jar' and 'Spitting Venom'. It amazes me how different this record is to 'Good News...' and that isn't a bad thing.

They won't ever have as much charm as they did in their early days, but they are far from comfortable and writing tepid, transparent music that many bands do once they reach this stage. If you like even some of Modest Mouses' old material then I would give this album a listen, because it's better than the majority of British bands' output at the minute.

March on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modest Mouse return..., 9 April 2007
By 
Jason Parkes (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank (Audio CD)
2004's 'The Good News for People Who Love Bad News' made its way into the US top 20, while Modest Mouse appeared to become something of an institution in the year's between. Former Red House Painter Mark Kozelek (Sun Kil Moon) recorded an album of MM-covers, older albums were reissued, band members came and went, and most surprising of all, former Smiths-member Johnny Marr joined the band. Marr has form, having joined another indie band Marion around the time of 'Miyako Hideway' - sadly that was a deeply average record, as has been a lot of Marr's work since 'Strangeways, Here We Come.' This is clearly the best project Marr has been involved with since The The's last decent album 'Dusk' in 1992 - Marr and the rest of his new band appearing to possess the chemistry lacking from many of his projects. It's also quite handy that The Shins' James Mercer is on hand for backing vocals, 'We Were Dead...' feeling like an album that is as good as it could be. Everything and the kitchen sink has been chucked in...

Shockingly as well as becoming something of an EMO-institution on an international scale, they've now topped the US charts - which oddly must make it the most commercially succesful project Marr has been involved with? (please don't mention Marr's tenure with The Pretenders in the late 80s or his dire performance with Simple Minds as they murdered 'Summertime Blues'!). Isaac Brock is often compared to Black Francis/Frank Black, which is slightly apparent on the opener 'March Into the Sea', maybe Black Francis doing the Go-Betweens? I think Gordon Gano of Violent Femmes isn't a million miles away too; this doesn't sound like chart topping material, which only makes it greater..

Upcoming single 'Dashboard' sounds like a fantastic single, the guitar work weirdly as tight as someone like Franz Ferdinand - which holds true for the catchy 'Florida', 'Education', 'Fly...' and the highlight 'We've Got Everything.' The funky guitar thing that Marr was moving towards with tracks like 'The Draize Train' and 'Money Changes Everything' and to lesser effect with parts of 'Dusk' and Electronic becomes apparent on tracks like 'Fire It Up' and 'We've Got Everything.' 'Fire It Up' reminds me of Midnight Oil for some reason, perhaps it's just me...

The Elliot Smith-inflected side of the band finds its way at the core of the album, with the double whammy of 'Parting of the Sensory' and the gorgeous 'Missed the Boat.' Comparisons have been made to Marr's work on 'Hatful of Hollow', which is not that wide of the mark - play this against Morrissey's last slab of stock indie and it's clear who has fared the worser. 'Fly Trapped in a Jar' reminds me of Talking Heads (who Marr worked with) if they were a bit more barking, some great surf guitar in there, and the kind of chanting refrain that has to be encouraged - this is how I expect the Arcade Fire to sound when people cite Byrne (instead I get 'Heaven Up Here'-over-phrasing, Grant Lee Buffalo, The Waterboys, and more Bunnymen!). 'Fly...' veers off into Josef K territory halfway through, Brock bizarrely rapping - a definite highlight and on the strength of this song alone, I hope Marr sticks around and the band record another album together.

'Little Motel' sounds like the kind of song 'The OC' or 'Dawson's Creek' would use at a key point in a storyline, though maybe it's more Cameron Crowe movie territory? "You complete me..." and all that shindig. 'Steam Engenius' sounds like it has a working knowledge of Violent Femmes and certain Tom Waits records, which is fine by me. 'Spitting Venom' opens as a kind of alt country style acoustic piece before the band come in, the song veering off into an 8 and a half minute epic that might just be one of the best track Modest Mouse has recorded. 'People as Places as People' sounds like David McComb fronting Midnight Oil, which I can't see as a bad thing. As I said...maybe it's just me? Closer 'Invisible' has a great fade in (maybe reminding you of 'Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others'?) before the song comes in, a raucous angular thing that takes the album out in a suitably manic style. Great stuff...

'We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank' feels like the best Modest Mouse album yet and is certainly the best use of the great Johnny Marr in decades. I wonder if they'll be like the Shins live, i.e. unable to replicate the great studio sound of their latest album? Time will tell, in the meantime, Marr, Mercer and Modest Mouse sounds like a great idea. Let's just hope this doesn't give Noel Gallagher the idea that he should join the New Pornographers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 13 Mar. 2009
By 
C. J. Sandiford "Sandyman" (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank (Audio CD)
Originally I was looking to buy a different Modest Mouse album, "Good News for people who love bad news" because I had heard the song "float on" and loved it. When I found that album I noticed this one too, and I thought that at £4.98 it was worth buying! I was right! When I recieved the two albums and listened to them, I actually like this one more than the other!
My favourite song has to be "Dashboard" but the album is full of good songs...if I were you, i'd buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank
We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank by Modest Mouse (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews