Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2-D or not 2-D...
'Super Paper Mario' is the first Mario game (other than Mario Strikers and Mario Party 8) to hit the Nintendo Wii and what a great game it is. The game takes elements from all of the various Super Mario games (such as the 2-D platformer levels from the original Super Mario Bros/World series, the 3-D platforming levels from Super Mario 64 and Super Mario Sunshine, the RPG...
Published on 17 Sep 2007 by Dr Evil

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Papery, it's Mario, but it's not Super.
Nintendo have veered from the template set out in previous Paper Mario games by removing the turn based RPG battles of previous entries and splicing the numbers with some traditional 2D Mario platform action. The RPG elements are now reduced to sub-Castlevania levels of depth with attack points and HP being the only stats lifted by levelling up.

This...
Published on 19 April 2010 by G. Hanks


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2-D or not 2-D..., 17 Sep 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Paper Mario (Wii) (Video Game)
'Super Paper Mario' is the first Mario game (other than Mario Strikers and Mario Party 8) to hit the Nintendo Wii and what a great game it is. The game takes elements from all of the various Super Mario games (such as the 2-D platformer levels from the original Super Mario Bros/World series, the 3-D platforming levels from Super Mario 64 and Super Mario Sunshine, the RPG storyline taken from the Mario & Luigi Superstar Saga and Partners in Time games and the 2-D paper style graphics from the Paper Mario games) and rolls them into one to create something completely new.

The game begins as a regular 2-D platformer that we've all seen before, until Mario learns a new ability where he can "flip" between 2-D and 3-D dimensions. The technique can then be used to reveal hidden enemies, boxes, coins and items as well as access new and alternative routes to help him get to the end of the level. As the game goes on, Mario gains the help of Pixls which also give Mario new abilities to use, such as grab and throw items and enemies, place bombs and change him to be completely flat, enabling Mario to be invisible and transparent. As well as Mario you eventually get to play as Princess Peach and Bowser too. Each character has different abilities, so you will need to switch between characters every now and again to get past certain obstacles.

Generally 'Super Paper Mario' is a good fun and well designed platformer with a lot of great features new to the Mario series. Flipping from 2-D to 3-D is a great new twist to a very old formula and is one that works surpisingly well. Most levels are quite long and fairly challenging, allowing you to use the characters' new abilities to the fullest. They also vary in design, ranging from hillsides to deserts to haunted houses.

There are a few bad points that stop me from giving this a 5-star rating. First is the intro which goes on and on and on. It literally takes nearly 25 minutes before you even get to take control of the action. I do like games with a bit of a storyline, but for a platform game this is going a little to far. Next is the controls. Although it does make good use of the Wii Remote in that you use it side-ways, giving it a NES controller retro feel, it rarely uses any of the Wii's unique tilt and movement sensitive controls. Also, switching between characters is very fiddly and tedious as you need to hold 1 & 2 on the remote to open up the menu, then select a character.

Overall this is a great game and a fantastic addition to the Mario series. Fans of both retro Mario and the newer Mario RPGs should love this and it should also keep you busy until later in the year when we get the next "real" Mario game, Super Mario Galaxy. With the possible exceptions of Zelda: Twilight Princess and Resident Evil 4 (depending on taste) this is the best game on the Wii so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 30 Aug 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Paper Mario (Wii) (Video Game)
Super Paper Mario is a combination between the RPG and side-scrolling platformer genres. You collect points as you kill enemies, and those points count toward increasing your level. As your level increases, you increase either your HP or your attack power (it alternates, you don't get to choose which one).

As with most games of this type, there are a lot of story-based cut scenes which do have an entertaining story to them, but sometimes get long and tedious, especially at the very beginning, where there's a lot of setup.

You start out the game as Mario, after seeing Luigi, Peach and Bowser all sucked into some kind of dimensional vortex. You set off to find and rescue Peach, and recover 8 Pure Hearts to save the world. Along the way you also have a Pixl friend accompanying you to help you along. You find additional Pixls with different abilities (like creating bombs or giving you a super-stomp ability for flattening large objects). As you progress through the game, you find the other characters and add them to your party, and you'll use their unique abilities in different ways. Mario has the ability to do the dimension flip I'll talk about in a second, Peach can use her umbrella to glide long distances or hide from damage, Bowser can wipe out enemies with fire breath and does double stomping damage, and Luigi has a super-high spring jump. There are also at least a dozen or so Pixls with varying abilities that need to be used in different ways.

The game itself is primarily the usual Super Mario action... you run to the right and jump over obstacles and on enemies. One cool thing is that you can shake the remote up and down after jumping on an enemy to get a bonus score. For enemies that take more than one hit, you can do this repeatedly for increasing bonus points. Sometimes you reach obstacles that you can't jump over. This is where the really interesting part of the game comes in.

Early in the game, you learn the ability of "flipping" which is triggered by pressing the "A" button and turns the game world 90 degrees so you can see a different perspective. For instance, if you are going along and run into a really tall pipe that you can't jump over, flipping may show you a path as simple as just walking around it. Flipping also sometimes reveals hidden treasures or paths.

The game overall provides enough challenge, leading you to switch characters and Pixls frequently to solve puzzles, but without getting tedious and repetitive. The space levels were particularly entertaining.

I expect a casual player can finish the game in approximately 30 hours, and it's fun for adults as well as younger kids. It doesn't rely as much on fine motor control skills and precise jumping (though those certainly can help in some situations), but does focus more on making you think how best to use your characters and Pixls to beat certain obstacles or bosses.

I would really only ding this game on replayability... it doesn't strike me as a game I'm going to be likely to pick up and play again once I've finished it. Not because it's a bad game, but because it just won't be different, so what would be the point?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will Keep You Going Until Galaxy, 6 Oct 2007
By 
Kevin Hall "WORLD EXPERT" (HADDINGTON, EAST LOTHIAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Paper Mario (Wii) (Video Game)
This is Mario's first proper adventure on the Wii and one that many Nintendo fans will love from start to finish. The graphics are bold and colorful, the ability to flip between 2D and 3D is a masterstroke and the Pixls Mario encounters all have ingenious abilities (my favourites being Fleep who can make u even thinner and Thudley who can smash things up).

The Mario magic is there, but there are still a few things missing that stops it from reaching those five stars. For one it is a bit easy - compared to the last two Paper Mario games - and some levels feel a bit too empty. The scrolls of text might get annoying to some aswell, although it an absolutely funny adventure! The turn-based RPGing of past Paper Mario's has been toned down a lot though, so it's not all bad! And the music has some delightful retro nods to classic Mario games of old.

We all know that Mario Galaxy will rock, but this is still a great adventure to keep you going until the mascot's must buy game. Definetly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Paper Mario, 4 Oct 2007
By 
M. Bilsland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Paper Mario (Wii) (Video Game)
Everytime I play Super Paper Mario, I always seem to end up with a smile on my face. It is a fun game to play, with a few jokes added into the game for good measure. Anyone who has played Paper Mario 64 may be in for a suprise when they play Super Paper Mario. Rather than turn-based battles, it goes along the lines of a regular platform game. But it still has some elements of the first two Paper Mario games in it, like leveling up of your characters for example.
It is a good game to play while it lasts, but you may find yourself coming back to it every now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, with a major glitch...PLEASE READ!!!, 19 Sep 2007
By 
James Petford (Stourbridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Paper Mario (Wii) (Video Game)
As today confirmed by nintendo there is a major glitch that makes the game crash if u dont perform a puzzle correctly. Heres the original message...

"When you are playing Super Paper Mario in UK English, German or Spanish, a problem can occur in a very specific situation. Since the situation where the error occurs is so specific, it's very possible that you may not experience any issue at all.

At the start of Chapter 2-2, you will come across a character called Mimi. She will tell you to go to the farthest room on the first floor to meet a character called Merlee. Enter that room and press the green switch. A trap will be triggered, and a spiked ceiling will descend upon Mario. Before the ceiling reaches him, flip into 3D and jump on it to find a key.

If you pick up the key, you won't run into any problems. Use it to open the locked door to Mimi's right. However, if you talk to Mimi without picking up the key, the game will freeze. You will then have to turn off your Wii console and start again from your last save point.

Please note that your game freezing up will not do any damage to your Wii or the game itself, but we do sincerely apologise for this error and the inconvenience caused to your gameplay experience.

While you can avoid the problem as described above, we want to give you the opportunity to replace your Super Paper Mario game disc free of charge with a new version that doesn't contain the error. Details about the replacement procedure will be announced shortly on this website.

We hope this problem doesn't stop you from enjoying Super Paper Mario and would once again like to apologise for any inconvenience caused".

So wait untill nintendo ship out "repaired" copys of the game before you purchase...

The game is innovative with a nice unique spin on 2d-3d gaming, strongly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paper Mario returns for yet another amazing game, 20 Sep 2007
By 
T. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Paper Mario (Wii) (Video Game)
As we all know, Paper Mario is an amazing RPG series with some of the most unique graphics ever, topped off with some hilarious humour (for Nintendo fans and others alike), as well as the unique...ish battle style. This time, Intelligent Systems decided to go for a Platformer Style with RPG elements. And did it work?

I'd have to say... Definetley. Super Paper Mario is a brilliant game with unique effects such as using Mario to go into 3-D from 2-D, and even controlling the lovely Princess Peach, Evil King of Koopas Bowser and the coward we all know and love Luigi! Awesome!

The story is like your typical Paper Mario's, where this time, Mario must collect 8 (Yes, 8 not 7) Pure Hearts (Sound familiar? Crystal Stars and Star Spirits ring a bell?) to save the world of Flipside from the evil yet hilarious Count Bleck and his minions, the scotsman O'Chunks, the crazed master of dimensions Dimento and the shape shifting queen Mimi. So a pretty basic story, but since when was Mario known for his story eh?

The game is throughout very entertaining with the abilities wowing you. Going from 2-D to 3-D yet still being paper is brilliant. However, like the past few Mario games, this one is also very short. But there's so much to do to pass time, including making recipes, collecting battle cards and even a new Pit of 100 Trials. And then there's another one straight after, so technically 200 Floors!

To conclude, Super Paper Mario is a definite buy. It's a brilliant game with charms alike that Nintendo fans will love, and the humour is very funny. Especially the nerd Francis.

Beware a glitch though in some copies. Do not talk to Mimi if neccessary in Chapter 2-2. You shouldn't need to anyway. If you get past this you're safe. Enjoy the game!

And kudos to Intelligent Systems for yet another brilliant game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply super, 10 Jan 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Paper Mario (Wii) (Video Game)
Surprisingly this is the first Mario game i have ever played, being more of a PC gamer. My flatmate brought a wii bundled with this, Zelda and Metroid. Lucky for me he was out of the house a lot and unfortunately for my dissertation i started playing paper Mario. Seriously after the first hour i was well and truly hooked. Zelda and Metroid hardly got a look in. The beauty of this game is it starts off simply and builds on its complexities the more you play. Its truly an original game, a platformer that feels anything but linear.You flick from 2D to 3D to fight baddies, find items and reveal secret pathways. It uses the wii controller wonderfully, making it a major part of the game and a real Wii experience. Use it side on to control Mario or use it straight on to find secrets in the game. Doors and stairs will pull away or unfold making the whole screen appear like a beautiful, immersive pop up book. It has totally persuaded me of the brilliance of Nintendo. Its something you would never find on a 360 or PS3 and something many of us would never pick up. Its funny, beautifully put together and plays like a dream. It just works! Keeping you entertained, amused and involved from start to finish. I have since bought a wii myself and am still searching for a game that gives me half as much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hardly Paper Thin, 24 Jan 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Paper Mario (Wii) (Video Game)
The Paper Mario franchise has always shown what Nintendo is capable of doing once it gets its hands on a stale genre. The RPG genre is one that has rapidly grown over the years thanks to games like the Final Fantasy series but the processes that define it, namely turn based battles and level grinding have led to a genre that can easily be critized for repeativeness. Nintendo helped change this.

By using a turn based system that prioritised timed button presses and making character level progression work smoothly with progression the Paper series offered a streamlined RPG gaming experience. This game expands on the series further by turning the genre inside out, literally!

As with the previous two games the visuals are destintivly paper like, appearing flat, offering a distint visual charm. The game plays more like a platformer, where you control Mario and his compainions accross a 2D plain. The games main draw is that the dimensions can be switched to 3D which offers some fiendish puzzles and interesting gameplay mechanics.

A feature that differances this from other RPG's is that the turn based battle system has been apandoned in favour of a real time combat system that replicates the old 2D Mario games of yore quite well; jump on heads, gain points and level up! Purists may cry foul but it feels like quite a unique blend, platforming with item manipulation and character swapping.

If theres anything stopping this game from rising higher its that it's a shade too easy while offering too little insentive for returning. One particully large level also brings the game down by being confusingly designed. Finally the large amounts of diologue are still present and intact and though surprsingly witty and funny are far too overbearingly long to not be jarring.

I recommend this game dispite it's faults. It's fun, witty and far removed from the usual RPG slog. It adds another game to a thin Wii selection of top games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Paper Mario Yet!, 6 Nov 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Paper Mario (Wii) (Video Game)
Good grief! I cannot stress how great this game is. New characters, WONDERFUL villians, funny, witty, entertaining and a great plot with many twists. It's nice to have cartoony graphics than all this demand for good 3-D graphics. I prefer Paper Mario style.

By the way, some people have been commenting on a glitch. This glitch only occours if you go somewhere before doing something. Just keep on track on what you're meant to be doing and this won't happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game, best released on wii, 27 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. P. A. Janaway "maddog" (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Paper Mario (Wii) (Video Game)
I just recently bought this game of amazon, and I am totally glad i did, this game is fun, funny and worth the cost, there is lots to do and it will keep you going for a long time.

There are 8 worlds in all, each with 4 chapters and a boss. Starting at 1-1 it slowely introduces you into the game and lets your get to grips with the controls and your ability to flip into 3d, this really is a change on gaming, it allows you to explore places "outside of the box" so to speak.

As you progress you meet pixls there are quite a few to find, and they basically help you do certain things, for example one allows u to pick up stuff and throw, one is a bomb. You can switch between pixls when ever you wish.

There are a number of characters which you can bee, you start of just being mario, but as you progress you unlock new characters to switch to, you can swap between the characters as and when needed while playing.

The music in the game is very cool, and the graphics are ok, for a 2d/3d game i love the paper style graphics, it makes a change from all those games which spend to much time into making the game look amazing and then skipping on the making the gameplay fun.

All i have left to say is, BUY THIS GAME NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Paper Mario (Wii)
Super Paper Mario (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews