Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Saw
Saw arrived today - Thanks Amazon. I chose this saw because of the motor size. Big is better. Also because I know that Skil have a good reputation. So far I've cut up three tree trunks approx eight feet long by six inches diameter. This machine made mincemeat out of the job. I now have a pile of logs for the fire tonight.
This saw is slightly on the heavy side -...
Published on 5 Jan 2009 by G. L. Stead

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good while it lasts ..but.. Appalling spares and after sales
This is a great saw while it works. I have had to change the brushes after 6 months and it is a nightmare to do. Any work on the saw takes a full strip down and it is a fiddly process at best. Many parts are only available as part of a major and expensive component. The main bearing blocks on my saw have worn completely and will cost 40 to replace and take at least...
Published 17 months ago by iainandjack


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Saw, 5 Jan 2009
By 
G. L. Stead (Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skil 4900 1050 Watt Reciprocating Saw (DIY & Tools)
Saw arrived today - Thanks Amazon. I chose this saw because of the motor size. Big is better. Also because I know that Skil have a good reputation. So far I've cut up three tree trunks approx eight feet long by six inches diameter. This machine made mincemeat out of the job. I now have a pile of logs for the fire tonight.
This saw is slightly on the heavy side - which is good as its own weight pulls it through. It's well balanced and easy to hold. Also, it's not as noisy as I thought it would be. So far I cannot fault it. Good choice - I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leylandi pruning, 16 Jun 2007
By 
J. Jackson "John J" (Bushey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skil 4900 1050 Watt Reciprocating Saw (DIY & Tools)
I have just spent 6 solid hours using this saw pruning a leylandi hedge, and it performed superbly. The hedge was about 50 yards long, and I reduced it from 8 feet to 5 with little difficulty. OK, the saw was heavy, but this was an advantage as the weight of the saw reduced kick-back when cutting heavy branches. Cutting older heart-wood was a bit slower than anticipated, otherwise I would have rated the saw five-stars, but this may have been the blade's fauly rather than the saw's! A chain saw might have been better with some branches, but the reciprocating saw's advantage was access in very tight spaces. It coped well with trunks and branches up to nine inches in diameter, although I doubt the manufacturer would recommend this. A real "boy's toy" for father's day and beyond!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great product, 21 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skil 4900 1050 Watt Reciprocating Saw (DIY & Tools)
I purchased this machine to supplement my petrol chainsaw,which takes care of full-sized tree trunks. The Skil does everything else: cutting the smaller tree limbs,and chopping up scrap furniture and heavyweight pallets.
So far,the 4900 has been fast and faultless. It takes a couple of minutes to work out optimum speed settings for the different material densities,then - bingo! - off we go...
This is a heavyweight item and people of slight build may have problems using it for long periods.
A word here in support of Amazon's courier. Excellent service from them in delivering very quickly to a hard-to-find address.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great product excellent service, 13 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Skil 4900 1050 Watt Reciprocating Saw (DIY & Tools)
The saw arrived within 3 days. I used it to cut up the branches of a tree I had felled. These branches were up to five inches in diameter. The saw cut them easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great tool, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Terence Craven (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skil 4900 1050 Watt Reciprocating Saw (DIY & Tools)
A robust and easy to use saw. Changing blades is very easy and there is ample power for all applications. A no gimmock professional tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars skil 4900 rec saw, 6 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skil 4900 1050 Watt Reciprocating Saw (DIY & Tools)
Could not decide whether to buy this saw or a chain saw.Glad I bought this as it is an excellent tool with a reasonably powerful motor.Better than an 800w.Simple blade change with no messy chain to keep tightening or replacing.Saws through logs with no problem.It is quite heavy but this is an advantage as its weight takes it through wood without added pressure.It does take a little longer than a chain saw but the cut is clean.Overall an excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Product, 3 Sep 2009
This review is from: Skil 4900 1050 Watt Reciprocating Saw (DIY & Tools)
Pleased with this as I'd bought a Silverline saw which fell apart within 30 minutes of cutting up a pallett. Skil has better fastening mech for the blade and ample power all in a neat package and the bag is a plus too. The saws included are excellent quality and this price was very reasonable. Once again cheaper has proven to be a false economy. Spend more and get one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skil saw, 11 Feb 2011
By 
Aaron Grantham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skil 4900 1050 Watt Reciprocating Saw (DIY & Tools)
Great item, very powerful and easy to use. Cut through old pallets brilliantly, going to use it next on metal and see how it copes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skil reciprocating Saw, 16 Feb 2012
This review is from: Skil 4900 1050 Watt Reciprocating Saw (DIY & Tools)
We have just purchased one of these saws for prung small trees and shrubs.Not to heavy,feels well made,not to much vibration,cuts branches easily,good value for money. We have two wood burning stoves,we use a electric chain saw for cutting old pallets up for kindeling,this saw would do that but would be a little slower,but would be useful for cutting wood with nails in it with the correct blade. Very pleased with the saw,recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good while it lasts ..but.. Appalling spares and after sales, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skil 4900 1050 Watt Reciprocating Saw (DIY & Tools)
This is a great saw while it works. I have had to change the brushes after 6 months and it is a nightmare to do. Any work on the saw takes a full strip down and it is a fiddly process at best. Many parts are only available as part of a major and expensive component. The main bearing blocks on my saw have worn completely and will cost 40 to replace and take at least an hour's worth of strip down.

Bosch own Skil and their customer service is rubbish and Tuetonically unyielding. They work on the principle of repeating the same thing until you just go away

None of these problems occur with the Makita JR30502 Changing brushes involves removing two screw plugs. New bearings are 1.35 each

Buy the Makita and save yourself the difference in purchase price in a few months of use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews