Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Challenging, but lacks diversity
The Creative Assembly marketed this game as the most challenging Total War title to date, and they weren't lying!
The campaign will see you in command of Alexander's Macedonian army. To the north lie the barbarian hordes of eastern Europe, while to the east lies the massive military might of the Persian Empire, as well as the scattered and dangerous Scythian...
Published on 2 July 2008 by F. Aetius

versus
54 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Total let down?
As a fan of the Total War games I found Alexander a let down. I have had my reservations about the Total War Games since SEGA took over the franchise and this add on almost proves my point. First released in a Battle Chest containing all the previous games and add ons with this one included this game does little to stand by itself and seems to be a rushed affair...
Published on 7 April 2007 by Gisli Jokull Gislason


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Challenging, but lacks diversity, 2 July 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD) (Video Game)
The Creative Assembly marketed this game as the most challenging Total War title to date, and they weren't lying!
The campaign will see you in command of Alexander's Macedonian army. To the north lie the barbarian hordes of eastern Europe, while to the east lies the massive military might of the Persian Empire, as well as the scattered and dangerous Scythian tribesmen. The game gives you a short amount of time to take on all enemies in a single gigantic push through the Middle East to India. This means having to fight gigantic battles from the very first turns, as waves and waves of Persian infantry, archers, chariots and elephants are sent against you.

The economic, building and diplomatic section of the game are left to the side in this title, as it's only military might that will ensure success.
To win you must plunder every city you come across, and recruit mercenaries to boost up your army's strength. This style of warfare might not be to everyone's taste, and it certainly isn't the way Alexander waged war. If anything, having to slaughter everything in your path seems to be like the type of thing that Genghis Khan would do.

Sadly though, the campaign does have its limits. The newly created Indian civilisation does not make an appearance (a huge missed opportunity) and you'll also lose if Alexander is killed in battle. This could get very frustrating if you are close to finishing.

The game also comes with a series of historical battles, following Alexander's career from the Battle of Chaeronea to the Hydaspes. Each battle can be very challenging, and with some you'll find you'll need to play them a few times in order to win. Brian Blessed offers his narration to these chapters, both in the pre-battle video and in the game's cutscenes.

The game's graphics haven't been given much of an overhaul since the original Rome. The Macedonian phalanxes now wear purple tunics instead of white ones, and the Persians have a few additional units, but nothing noteworthy. The only truly original addition to the game are the Indians, but they only appear in one historical battle scenario, and in the custom battle mode.

This game is rather different to the previous Total War titles, and as such they might alienate some players who love to play the game at their own pace, or who enjoy the economic and diplomatic side a bit more.
That said, if you want a fast paced, frenetic and exciting rush against the clock style strategy, Alexander will provide. It's just a shame the game lacks diveristy and any new stand out features.

NOTE: You need Rome: Total War Patch 1.5 to play this game. When I first put in the game CD I was shocked to see that I couldn't install the game without having the patch. This wouldn't have been so bad it they had actually provided the patch with the game, but they haven't, so you will need to download it from the Total War website. A huge disappointment and a lack of consideration from White Label Company on this matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Way too easy on normal mode....but good otherwise, 28 April 2010
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD) (Video Game)
I will start positively. The historical campaign is excellent. Brian Blessed sets the scene well and they are challenging scenarios.

Now for the bad: Shame the Indians don't feature in the campaign.. They are there- in the furthest south-east corner of the map but completely cut off by a river. Strange. I was quite sad that they didnt show up as I was looking forward to elephant loaded battles but not ONE elephant to be seen in the campaign. Just in the history books..

I am an experienced Rome player but hardly a pro and my main tactic is simply to build overwhelming armies, look after my cities and pick my battles wisely. So, having read the reviews I expected a tough campaign with challenging AI... but with the difficulty on normal the campaign was over in 50 turns as my huge armies just rolled over Persia. I didn't have to recruit many mercenaries- as nearly every city can produce phalanx and I had so much cash it was hard to spend. I upgraded my cities loads. A bit boring really...So I recommend you try this on at hard at least where the time limit of 100 turns starts to add genuine tension and a real challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Total let down?, 7 April 2007
By 
Gisli Jokull Gislason "Jokull" (Iceland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD) (Video Game)
As a fan of the Total War games I found Alexander a let down. I have had my reservations about the Total War Games since SEGA took over the franchise and this add on almost proves my point. First released in a Battle Chest containing all the previous games and add ons with this one included this game does little to stand by itself and seems to be a rushed affair.

Sure you get some new units but they could have done so much more. There are no opening intros, the campaign game offers little challenge and you certainly have to kill off a lot more people than Alexander needed to do and funnily enough the Egyptians don't seem to have their old Gods around, I guess Ptolemy and Cleopatra would have a thing or two to say about that. The game introduces turns instead of years, supposedly since Alexander died young and you need to finish everything in a 100 turns. Which would be clever if Alexander and the rest didn't age a year every two turns so it kind of beats the point. Also in the campaign you don't get to fight the Indians which is a loss.

The Historical Battles have more to offer than the Campaign game but here you also have the hurried feel and money making concept where profit appears to be a lot more important than a good product.

If they had wanted to make a good product I would have suggested Total War Greeks, included battles such as Marathon and the Hot Gates, Leonidas, Xerxes and Miltiades as well as Alexander. The campaign game would also need to be better thought out.

This game was probably a hurried product in an attempt to get Total War fans to buy the Battle Chest with games they already had and never intended as a stand alone game. Sega probably bought the Creative Assembly for a high sum and is trying to get their profit back with little care for the quality of products.

Sadly you are probably a fan and will buy the game anyhow and the only merit I can really see is that at least it isn't very highly priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A pretty lousy expansion, 13 Jun. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD) (Video Game)
Rome: Total War was a brilliant game, but the expansion packs do leave something to be desired, especially this one. Barbarian Invasion wasn't as good as the original, but it did add a few new features which made things interesting such as the shifting loyalties of your various commanders, as well as new factions springing up after the defeat of old ones. None of those features seem to have made it into the Alexander expansion pack, nor does the historical uniqueness of Alexander's empire, such as his desire to unite rather than simply conquer, or his fair treatment of foreign kings translated into this game, at least not in any significant way.

That aside, the game itself is a bit of a stinker for a number of reasons. The first is that you can only control one faction - Macedonia, and there are only five opposing factions; Persia, Scythia, Illyria, Thrace and Dahae (the last four of which are identical in all but name, which leads to repetitive battles). India is noticeable by its absence (I was looking forward to fighting Porus and his elephants), as is any character outside Macedonia (Where's King Darius?) The second is the limited size of the map, which forces you to recreate Alexander's conquests and includes no ability to expand west, which kills many potential "what if" scenarios; It would have been interesting to see how Alexander would have coped with Rome, Samnum or the Gallic tribes, for instance. Thirdly, the game is buggy. The third time I played it, I did really well, but quit in disgust thanks to a bug that caused the screen to keep continually scrolling in one direction, which rendered the game unplayable, causing me to lose. This bug was in Rome. Haven't they managed to fix it yet?

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this expansion pack unless it was very cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Become another Alexander, 23 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game lives up to even Alexanders expectations. The historical context is well researched and shows the developers passion for these games. The speed of the game reflects how Alexander progressed through Asia and means you don't get a moment to stop and build up your forces and sort out your cities. Total war fans may notice the slight change in camera angle when viewing the campaign map, but it hardly takes anything away from the game. A must have for all total war fans and Alexander followers. Follow in the footsteps of the worlds greatest general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars definitely the worst Total War so far, 9 Sept. 2007
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD) (Video Game)
when I heard that there was a new expansion I was really excited as the other games were brilliant, but I found this one a gigantic disappointment. You can only be Alexander's troops in the campaign and have the time he had to complete the challenges. In custom battles you can only be four factions which is severely limiting to gameplay. The map does not expand but will minimise which I found frustrating having played the other versions for hours on end.
(oli aged 12)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Alexander Expansion Ok But Not A Must Have, 19 April 2012
By 
JH "hobbs_tx" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD) (Video Game)
Alexander is an add-on to Rome: Total War (PC) (RTW). I have played RTW, Medieval Total War 1 & 2 and all their expansions. So even the poor reviews couldn't stop me from getting Alexander. Alexander takes place 300 years before RTW. The game map is a little different as this campaign extends from Greece to India. The objective is to try to match the accomplishments of Alexander III the Great of Macedonia. You will need to lead Macedonia to victory over Persia and expansion into India.

Alexander offers only one campaign that is payable only as the Macedonians. Even on very difficult setting,the Persians don't defend their homeland very well. They send large armies with no commanders and leave practically no troops to defend the cities until the campaign is nearly over. Other than the new time period Alexander offers little and in many instances less than RTW. If you are a die-hard Total War fan you may still get this, but all others should avoid.

I have experienced many crashes which seem to occur right before battles. I found that double clicking on one of the units and waiting till the camera stops moving before touching any keys avoids crashes. I would recommend saving prior to battles just in case. This games is not as stable as RTW or Rome: Total War - Barbarian Invasion Expansion Pack (PC CD).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome Total War - Alexander expansion pack., 2 Oct. 2009
By 
A. D. Gibbons (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD) (Video Game)
I haven't given it 3 stars for fun, because it is a strategy game so doesn't really intend to be fun. However, it is compulsive and one of the best strategy games on the market. The graphics are phenomenal and for people who want something more than fun this is the ideal game for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware, 12 July 2013
This review is from: Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD) (Video Game)
This game crashed our computer. We followed all the advice from sega, but nothing would work. It was not compatible with the Rome Total war that we had and now after many years of using Rome on the computer it too will not load. The add on from sega did nothing. I feel that this game should not be sold until sega irons out all the problems. I wish i had never bought the game for my son. I would not recommend this game at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This, 5 Sept. 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD) (Video Game)
This Game may look just as good as the other games in the Rome: Total War series but trust me it is not. In Rome: Total War Alexander there are only 4 playable Factions compared to 21 in the original. The Campaign map is Considerably Smaller but it fairness is harder. Rome: Total War Alexander was not the worst game in the world but for now i'm sticking to the original
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD)
Rome Total War: Alexander - The 2nd Official Rome Total War Expansion (PC CD) by Avanquest Software (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / Vista / XP)
£5.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews