Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars13
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2007
I wasn't sure about buying this DVD because of the dance part but after I saw the previews on the web I pre-ordered it right away, it just looked too good. Everything about this DVD is stunning : the music , the cinematography ,the location (white sands), Shiva's Instruction and much more.

If you like the prana yoga segment on "Yoga Shakti" then you will probably like this too because except the free form dance segments there are also prana yoga segments which are absolutely fun and creative, she makes traditional yoga poses more dancey and fluid so you never really hold a pose ,you move through it , so it's good for the days you don't feel like holding poses or do a rigid yoga practice.Even though I don't usually feel comfortable dancing in front of the TV (or at all) ,Shiva has a way of just grabbing you into it plus the amazing music gets you in the mood.The DVD has 6 preprogrammed practices ranging from 29 minutes to 41 minutes being the longest , most of the practices are mixes of free form dance, prana yoga and movement meditation but there's also a "prana yoga only" practice and a "trance dance only" practice.The "Yoga Matrix" lets you choose from 15 segments that you can play the order you want.

If you want a different way of practicing yoga , this is it!

I can't wait for her next DVD's to be released.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2007
I own most of Shiva Rea's cd's and dvd's and have to say I love this one. Its a bit different as its very much a yoga dvd but with a difference... its freeform. You have a choice of doing prana yoga or trance dance or combine them. I never get board using this DVD and come away at the end feeling enlightened and so happy. You do have to be uninhibited... I always check to see if the hubby is around cause I would feel silly if he caught me dancing like a maniac around the living room ;-) but close your eyes throw back your head and go for it. Music is great, dvd looks amazing and if your in the mood to get more from your mat its the way to go.... Its fantastic!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 October 2011
If you have not experienced free form dance before, a treat awaits you. I have previously experienced Gabriel Roth's Five Rhythms and also Osho Mediations, which also involve complete free form dance, but within different themes in different sections of the dance routine. Liberating the body beyond "normal" restriction, this type of dance will take you where no other dance can, a space to learn, find and follow your own unique and natural rhythm, which allows for a free form creative release that is unsurpassed. The meditations in Trance Dance are not what you might expect from a meditation...you will not be sat cross legged and repeating mantras! This form of meditation is an active meditation, a term I first heard during the Osho Meditations. As Shiva Rea states:- "The dance is to dissolve habits and conditioning".

Yoga Trance commences with a brief introduction, followed by:-
The Yoga Matrix:-
The unique "Yoga Matrix" allows you to select components of practice, to form an custom overall practice of Trance Dance according to your available time, how you are feeling, and personal preferences:-

Beginners Level:- Movement Meditation is Body Blessing - 7 mins, Prana Yoga is Prana Yoga for the Spine - 9 mins, Kriyas & Namaskars - Twisting Kriya - 7 mins, Free-Form Dance - Damaru - Rhythmic Movement Meditation - 5 mins, Cooling Down - Prana Yoga Slow Wave - 11 mins, Closing Meditation - Shavasana - Deep Relaxation - 5 mins.

Solar:- Movement Meditation - Agni:- Fire meditation - 3 mins, Prana Yoga - Prana Yoga - Liberating Hips - 6 mins, Kriyas & Namaskars - Tandava Kriya - 5 mins, Free-Form Dance - Liberation Dance - 6 mins.

Lunar:- Movement Meditation - Prana Flow Meditation - 7 mins, Prana Yoga - Kundalini Namaska - 6 mins, Kriyas & Namaskars - Jala Namaskar - 9 mins, Free-Form Dance - Fluid Flow Movement Meditation - 6 mins, Cooling Down - Infinite Movement Meditation - 9 mins, Closing Meditation - none for the Lunar Sequence.

Pre-set practices:- Intro - Basic Trance Dance Flow (29 mins), Intro - Adventurous (28 mins), Prana Yoga only (41 mins), Trance Dance only (32 mins), Energizing Flow (31 mins) and Meditation Flow (38 mins).
Bonus Material:- Features a select scene from Y Yoga:- Shiva shares that she does not "do" yoga, she becomes yoga, she would rather "be" yoga. Comments by Experts:- Sally Kempton shares a beautiful story of yoga as the dance of creation itself by Shiva. I was transfixed whilst listening! Daniel Odier also shares a story of yoga emerging from the dance, and discusses Thai Yoga. Fluid Flow Video Remox by VJ Kosho. Agni Fire Meditation - is a mesmerizing fire dance - a short dance video clip that is most enjoyable to watch.

Trance dance involves visualising within some of the meditations, such as visualising drums all around you, and you are beating on those drums - to visualising fire around you, the fire of Shiva (The Hindu Deity). Body Blessing is a peaceful blessing that prepares you for upcoming dances.
The pace slows down on the section:- Infinite Movement Meditation , to a contemplative pace, that is restful to follow, tuning you into your spiritual core of being, and there are a few different "meditations" that are more contemplative and slower in pace.

Suitable for all levels, as you are able to customise your practice. There is a program for beginners.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2010
The video is bright and colourful, exotic locations of beautiful people doing trance dance yoga. It is fun but also can be a little too heavy on the ethereal use of language.

The Dance Matrix is useful and fun to use but as a teacher of yoga I would be concerned for people with back problems in some of the spinal movements of the prana yoga section and it definitely is not for all levels as some of the asana is very strong and athletic.

Generally lively, fun and if you like dance you will enjoy this DVD - but it would be nice to see real people and not just the beautiful people dancing and practising yoga!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2009
I love yoga but it can be sometimes boring. You won't be bored with that one wich is very creative, smooth, athletic, excellent..... A new yoga world begins with shiva rea
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
for those conventional 'yogis' or complete newcomers this dvd might seem a bit 'way out' & "not traditional yoga", but yoga should be about encouraging the body to move in a free expressive way to raise your inherent energy. it can feel a bit intimidating at first & you may feel a bit foolish, but let go of any inhibitions & free your spirit!! if you get the chance to attend any of her yoga trance dance events, go along!its like a yogic rave but everyones on a natural high!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Also very nice dvd, just not perfect for me :) maybee I'm too down to earth and this teacher just don't have the same "wave" as me - or better to say that I don't have the same wave as this teacher.
It's important to find person - who is the best teacher, partner, friend for you......

But it's very FULL and usefull dvd - Shiva Rea was working very very much while she collect everything :)

All respect for all teachers trying to shear with us :]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
Acacia is not doing Shiva Rae any favours by duplicating the DVDs at low quality. On my computer screen, this DVD looks like a web size version: pixillated and unclear. It defeats the whole purpose of buying the dvd is the edges are all blurred and unclear. Shiva Rae, they are spoiling your name. Most disappointing quality. Will not be using it and have wasted my money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2009
I bought this DVD new having read positive reviews on amazon.. the DVD claims to be aimed at "All fitness and experience levels", I found this very untrue. You have to be at least at an intermediate level to do the yoga poses in the DVD. Also it was hard to follow due to little instruction. Furthermore my expectations of hearing some yoga/trance dance philosophy were not met - this is purely exercise, not anything spiritual.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Not sure if for me, like yoga but saying that bit different to what I am used to. However will give it a go. So many different types of yoga so need to try to see what suits. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)