Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars27
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2009
The Very Best of John Barry
Well - I am a collector of John Barry's music for many years - even from the vinyl days.
This album contains many re-recordings from older CBS album's - LP's or CD's - and from newer albums as well.
But I think Sony/Columbia did not do the work as good as they normally do.
Track 1 is the James Bond Theme from Dr. No stated as performed by the John Barry Seven & Orchestra and from 1962. This is in fact the re-recording from the late 1960's, wich are on albums like The Film Music of John Barry - Columbia CK44376 - and other albums from CBS/Columbia. It has nothing to do with the recording made in 1962 with the John Barry Seven at EMI - at the time the movie was issued.
The Main Title song from You Only Live Twice with Nancy Sinatra is the re-recording made in USA with arrangement and orchestra conducted by Billy Strange.
The Main Title song from Thunderball with Tom Jones sounds like the re-recorded single version issued on Decca label in 1965. It is not bad but it is not right, as it is stated as the recording from United Artists. Beside the above the booklet could have been much better with some informations about John Barry and the recordings.
This album is not bad if buy John Barry for the first time, but for collector it is disappointing and with nothing new under the sun.
CBS/Columbia did a much better job on The Best Of John Barry - Themeology - Columbia 488582-2 - wich is similar and with some of the same recordings.
I will keep the album, - but try again Sony/Columbia - you can do it better.
22 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2007
I have a lot of John Barry CDs and could probably compile this CD from my music collection. However a true John Barry compilation does not come out that often and I decided to purchase this item.

It has surpassed my expectations and is a useful addition to any John Barry fan's collection. 24 great tracks. In view of the previous review I thought it would not contain Somewhere in Time but actually it does, although the main recognisable theme does not kick in for approx 5 minutes on track 21. Still the track's almost 9 minutes long and I don't think a John Barry fan will be that disappointed.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2007
There have been many Barry compilation albums over the years, so why do we need another, and is this any better than those that have gone before ?

Quite simply this is the most definitive best of album to date showcasing Barry's music. It appears wherever possible, the original recordings of his compositions are presented, and where this isn't possible Barry's excellent 60s Columbia and 90s Moviola re- recordings have been plundered instead. In fact, the only non Barry recording is surprisingly You Only Live Twice.

All the oscar winners are here - Born Free, The Lion in Winter (original recording), Out of Africa and Dances with Wolves. And the album comes almost bang up to date with the inclusion of The Beyondness of Things, taken from his non filmic album of tone poems of the same name. On top of this, Barry's excursions into the world of TV advertising are represented by The Girl With The Sun In Her hair, from the Sunsilk commercials, plus his mother of all TV themes that is The Persuaders.

I have to disagree with the first reviewer's comments concerning Somewhere in Time, and to seemingly knock off two stars for this seems very harsh. The version included is a seamlessly arranged suite of all the major cues from Barry's score, beautifully played by The Royal Philharmonic and sumptuously recorded. The suite builds until finally we reach the main theme, with the RPO players, under the baton of Barry, delivering a heart achingly emotional performance.

John Barry is arguably the finest film composer of our time, and for those not familar with his work, this album represents the very best introduction to a timeless genius.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2009
After reading an article about John Barry in the ICON section of GQ magazine not long ago, I realised just how overlooked his work has been over the years.
This CD is a great introduction to his work and just shows the breadth of the guy's talents. Very good value for money I might add too.....
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
This recording is great, the sterio sounds wonderful. This cd contains music that can make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up or bring a tear to the eye of the hardest person.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2011
I was extremely pleased with the CD ordered. It arrived the very next day, neatly packaged and exactly what I was looking for at a reasonable price. Provider highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
Delivery was very quick and packaged excellently. This was a present for a friend so not quite my thing but she was absolutley delighted!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Not that I know anything about John Barry but I bought it for my partner. Turns out that this one is all the FILM scores that he wrote. I expected something else ... not sure what .... still researching this man and his talents.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2011
Great music shame about the C.D.sound quality of some of the tracks - not up to standard this music deserves.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Superb, what a talent this man was and what a great loss to the music industry. Sadly often only associated with "Bond" music which is great but so many other wonderful compositions and film scores.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)