Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars93
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2013
Video: 1080p HD - 16x9 - 1.85:1

Audio: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1: English, Italian, Spanish,

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Italian, Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, European Portuguese, Swedish
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Everyone has to see The Karate Kid. It's just a classic.. there's no other word for it. You can never get bored of watching this. And that remake they did.. Oh my god what a disgrace!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
When Daniel Laruso's mum gets a new job offer he finds himself in the situation of having to leave all he's friends behind when they move to California. Things go from bad to worst when he meets a girl whose ex boy friend Johnny is a hot tempered Karate student. Johnny and he's friends unfortunately have not been taught martial arts with the respect it should be used for and several beatings are in store for Daniel.
He befriends a local handy man Mr Miyagi who is not everything he seems to be and........................well you probably know the rest if not watch it.

I was really exited about the Blu ray release for Karate kid 1 & 2 and a bit peeved that they forgot about part 3. I am pleased to say picture quality is excellent for such old films the sound is also pretty good and really thumps when music starts playing. The first is the best film out of all three although I also like the others but thankfully these are very good blu ray releases of one of the most iconic 80's films and one of the best on screen relationships between Daniel and Mr Miyagi forget the remake this is the true Karate kid.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2001
What a classic! Daniel le-russo-Ralph Macchio moves to a new town and finds it hard to fit in.
Along with falling for one of the bad boys ex-girlfriend-Elizabeth shue, he finds a friend in Mr.Miyagi, a wise old man who teaches him the strength in 'balance', for both karate and life. With the casting of Ralph Macchio(who by the way is 26years old,playing a 15year old!) your heart wont help but go out to him!
A film which entails both romance and friendship, with an amazing end fight scene.
Along with a brilliant soundtrack, this is a classic 80's film, If you haven't seen it yet, where have you been for the past 15 years!!??
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
The story is about how patience, hard work, humility can bring its own rewards - plus the bonus of seeing the bully knocked flat. Brilliant!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Excellent film (as you probably know already) with some nice additional content in the features menu.

Great to see it in HD although i was a little disappointed at the occasional grainy picture, however at this price i am very happy overall.

First class seller, good communication and swift delivery!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
It's the best, around! Nothing's gonna ever keep it down!

The original and best Karate Kid movie. I've watched this tonnes of times. It never gets dated or boring. It's got everything a movie should have: good acting, plot, originality, action, romance, comedy. Pat Morita is his usual excellent self and you couldn't have picked a better Daniel Larusso.

If anyone has seen this and the remake with Jackie Chan they will know that this is far superior in every way. The new one fails to deliver on every level even though it copies almost every aspect of the movie, sometimes even word fo word.

A must see for any age. Great family movie. Timeless classic.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
many thanks for this great classic film from the 80s the karate kid 1 with ralph macchio great value thanks
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
A pleasant film. The sellers, though, were excellent. They are based in Poland and emailed within a day of 'despatch' to say that the sub-titles were not in English and to check if I still wanted it. I said yes, it arrived a few days later. Works fine, audio in English. Even has a printed insert to explain the (Polish) main menu where you set language.
Thanks guys. Will use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Film was great. Process of having to put the Amazon software on my Kindle was a bit annoying as I didn't have enough room on one device - didn't have to do this why buying through other outlets. Also film was pixelated, kept stopping and the voice was out of synch. This may have been my connection but didn't make for a good experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.