Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Wax On, Wax Off"
I remember watching this film as a kid and feeling the magic of it all, and even now when I watch it many years on I still get that same buzz when Daniel wins the final of the karate tornament and I still cheer when his wise old teacher Mr Miyagi gives the gang who have been bullying him a good beating. The fact that this film made over $90,000,000 at the box office in...
Published on 7 July 2005 by no1filmaddict

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Breathe in, Breathe out...
Daniel is new in town, and is getting picked on by the local bullies, who all are adept in karate.

Determined to stick up for himself, Daniel begins to teach himself karate, only to discover that the caretaker at his apartment seems to be a master of karate.

Agreeing to teach Daniel, Mr. Miyagi shows Daniel that there is more to karate than...
Published 16 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Wax On, Wax Off", 7 July 2005
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I remember watching this film as a kid and feeling the magic of it all, and even now when I watch it many years on I still get that same buzz when Daniel wins the final of the karate tornament and I still cheer when his wise old teacher Mr Miyagi gives the gang who have been bullying him a good beating. The fact that this film made over $90,000,000 at the box office in the USA alone, gives you an idea of how good the film is and how popular it was on its release.
When Daniel LaRusso and his mum move to a new town, he becomes the victim of a gang of karate students because he is dating the ex-girlfriend of the leader of the pack. After several beatings a wise old Japanese handyman and martial arts master called Mr Miyagi agrees to teach him karate so that he can enter an upcoming karate tornament and beat the bullies once and for all.
The real key to this film is the relationship between the two main characters Mr Miyagi and Daniel. Despite the obvious age difference they become the best of friends very quickly, as Mr Miyagi begins to teach Daniel not only martial arts, but self confidence and self respect through philosophy. He becomes a father figure to Daniel who's real father is dead, forming a real bond right from the start, which continues (and grows) throughout the two sequels that they both appear in.
Ralph Macchio who plays Danniel does a good job with his character, however may be just slightly over-shadowed by the stunning performance from Noriyuki 'Pat' Morita who played Mr Miyagi, and was actually nominated for an Oscar for his role in this film, in the catagory of Best Actor in a Supporting Role, beaten only by Jack Nicholson for his performance in 'Terms Of Endearment'. Elisabeth Shue is on board as Ali, the girl Daniel starts seeing when he arrives in the new town. Martin Kove also does a good job as the nasty Cobra Kai sensei.
In terms of the DVD itself there a few extras; three quite cool games that you can play when the disc is inserted into a computer. They include Catch The Fly, Find The Village, and Capture The Bonsai Tree, and although they are very easy they are quite fun, and kids would probably enjoy that a lot. Besides this there is a theatrical trailer and filmographies for Ralph Macchio, Noriyuki 'Pat' Morita, Elisabeth Shue, and John G. Avildsen the director.
Overall, 'The Karate Kid' really is a good film, possibly one of the best of its kind to come out of the 80's, with John G. Avildsen doing a good job of directing, especially when it comes to the fight scenes, something that he was always pretty good at (check out 'Rocky'). He is also re-united with Bill Conti (whom he also worked with in 'Rocky') to produce a very catchy score that fits the film perfectly.
If you are a martial arts fan, or just want an enjoyable film to entertain you for a couple of hours and have you cheering at the screen, then this is a good choice of film. If you have seen it before, then you could try any of the three sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In dreams..., 19 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
What do a whimpy fatherless teenager that gets picked on and beaten up by martial arts bullies dream of? He may dream of getting back at them, using their own art against them, but with better skills. He may dream of a father-figure that will teach him not only those skills, but of life and philosophy.
He may dream of love, of being with the sweetest, sexiest girl in school. He may dream of having a car that is so cool, it can't be bought for money. He may dream of public success and being admired by his peers.
Daniel dreams of all those things, and by true and tried Hollywood ethics, he reaches every goal through integrity, kindness and hard work. He dates Elisabeth Shue, drives a vintage convertible, he knocks out the high school bully in a karate contest... And he gets all this by learning from his adopted father, Mre. Myagi, the Okinawan super who knows a thing or two about love, kids, cars and about all there is to know about karate.
Actually, this shouldn't work. It should drown in syrup, a real Hollywood mess. But somehow it doesn't. The sure-footed direction of Alvildsen, the sympathetic performance by Macchio and the scene-stealing tour-de-force perfomance by Academy Award winner Pat Morita makes this a winner. In Casablance, every clichè known to man were piled up on eachother, and it became the most classic of all dramas. Here every high school movie clichè known is piled up, and strangely, it works.
For eighties movie nostalgia, it is only beaten by Back to the Future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 11 July 2012
By 
Wayne Redhart "@wayneredhart on Twitter!" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolute classic of its time and stands head and shoulders above the remake. Joe de Macchio puts in an extremely solid performance as Daniel-San, and Pat Mojito is simply irreplaceable as Mr Miyagi (what on earth were they thinking when they cast Charlie Chan in the more recent version?). A few years ago, my own son Horace was getting bullied by a gang of bigger kids. Inspired by the story-line, I decided to found my very own Dojo and put him into martial training- acting as his Sensei. After a few months of highly disciplined preparation, I finally felt that he was fully equipped to start standing up for himself and fighting back against the thugs. Sadly, even with the cord from his dressing gown tied around his forehead, he went on to get seven shades of shinola beaten out of him. I suppose that real life just doesn't always pan out so well as in the Hollywood movies (as exemplified by the fact that his girlfriend of the time must have weighed at least 4 stones more than Elizabeth Shoe!). Still, even if Horace didn't learn the first thing about how to look after himself in hand to hand combat, what really matters is that I got to have my house painted, my floors sanded and my cars beautifully waxed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Flying Kicks and Action all round, 27 May 2001
By A Customer
A surefire winning action film that has you cheering during the climatic last scene, your foot tapping to its mood heigtening soundtrack and has you jeering the films bad guys.
This heartwarming film follows the life of Daniel Laruso, a newcomer to the area and follows his troubles against a group of bullies at his high School, where he is forced to defend himself using the help of an old man, who knows a great deal about Karate.
This film is a must for any one enjoys the great films of the 80's. And in my opinion comes in my top ten of all time favourite films purely on its last climatic scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu-ray for wonderful Karate Kid (1984 original), 4 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of the film so I won't review it here. A lovely reminder of my childhood and a really heart-warming film.

The visual transfer is pretty good. Not super sharp, but film-like, colourful (in places, mainly outdoors, day-time) and generally a very good upgrade over the DVD. The audio is pretty good too, although nothing to write home about. Overall, a solid and faithful transfer.

The extras are very nice too. There are some mini-interviews with the writer and some of the stars - including the sensei of the Cobra Kai dojo. All seem to have been genuinely touched to be in the film - and make much of its sincere, surrogate father themes. Pat Morita (Mr Miyagi) comes across very well in these parts too.

One small note. On my Blu-ray player I had to switch away from HD audio (i.e. changing the 'interactive audio' option from 'direct' to 'mixed') otherwise there was no sound on the picture-in-picture, new Blu-Pop feature. I've seen a few comments on forums about this, so just be forewarned you might need to fiddle a bit to hear the audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Karate Kid -Climactic Classic!, 3 May 2014
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
The Karate Kid is an extremely well executed movie of timeless history which is no doubt one of the best climactic action movies. This is partly due to the countless encounters Daniel (Ralph Macchio) faces, all leading to a highly climatic crane kick ending which leaves the viewer with a state of contentment for the main star of the show, the Karate Kid himself.

You could buy this as a stand-alone DVD or on Blu-ray here > The Karate Kid {Blu-ray} 2010.

I'd highly recommend you buy the trilogy located here The Karate Kid Trilogy DVD as they logically and chronologically follow from one another and you can gain the full experience of the highly skilled actors (most notably Ralph Macchio & Noriyuki 'Pat' Morita), as well as John G. Avildsen's expert directing and Jerry Weintraub's production finesse!

If you found this review helpful, please comment and click on Yes! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Karate classic!, 11 Aug. 2008
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
After not seeing the movie for quite some time I decided to re-watch it recently and I can tell you that you that it's still one of my favourite movies of all time. One of the main reasons for that is because of the great chemistry between the two main characters of Mr Miyagi and Daniel san. And also the story because there's a lot of meaning to it.

On the DVD there's a few featurettes and trailers but the best extra would have to be the commentary which also includes Pat Mortia and Ralph Macchio. I haven't listened to it all the way through but from what I did hear it was very informative and the participants seemed to be enjoying it so that's always a plus. Anyway I would highly recommend this movie to those who haven't seen it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great version of one of my favourite films., 17 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the greatest films of the 80's (only rivalled by gremlins and back to the future trilogy), this is a typical underdog rising up to defeat his bully, but is enhanced by some great performances by Ralph Macchio, the gorgeous Elisabeth Shue, and of course the late, great Pat Morita.

The Blu-Ray as well is very good, with lots of detailed commentaries and special features. One neat little feature is Blu-Pop in which during the film, there are little trivia pieces and interviews with the cast that you can enjoy.

All in all, one of my all-time favourite films, a great blu-ray release to coincide with the 2010 remake, which in comparison is awful and a conmplete rehash of this great classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical movie experince, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
Daniel Larusso (Ralph Macchio) a teenager moving to California with his mum tries to settle in and find new friends.He soon falls foul of Johnny and his friends who all attend the Cobra Kai karate school because of the friendship he forms with Johnny's ex girlfriend.Whilst being pursued by Johnny's gang one night for pulling a prank on them,they catch him and start laying into him just ouside of his building.The kindly old handyman (Mr Miyagi) who also lives in the building intervenes and takes care of the bullies.Whilst dressing Daniel's wounds Daniel asks Miyagi about his knowledge of of karate,Miyagi tells him that he learnt karate when he lived in Okinawa.With the bullying continuing Mr Miyagi suggests that they go to the Cobra Kai dojo and confront Johnny's instructor John Kreese (Martin L Kove).Kreese eventually agrees to their demands that his students leave him alone as long as Daniel agrees to face them at the annual karate tournament.With not much time remaining until the contest Miyagi agrees to train Daniel so that he's prepared to face his foe.I remember seeing this in the cinema as a teenager and its lost none of its magic.The classic traing scenes "wax on wax off",great underdog story and excellent music score all combine to make a classic.Pat Morita is unforgettable as Mr Miyagi and was rightly nominated for an Oscar.A magical movie experience,one that the whole family can enjoy.Thanks for reading and I hope that you enjoy the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original and best, 30 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Karate Kid [DVD] (DVD)
It's the best, around! Nothing's gonna ever keep it down!

The original and best Karate Kid movie. I've watched this tonnes of times. It never gets dated or boring. It's got everything a movie should have: good acting, plot, originality, action, romance, comedy. Pat Morita is his usual excellent self and you couldn't have picked a better Daniel Larusso.

If anyone has seen this and the remake with Jackie Chan they will know that this is far superior in every way. The new one fails to deliver on every level even though it copies almost every aspect of the movie, sometimes even word fo word.

A must see for any age. Great family movie. Timeless classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Karate Kid [DVD]
The Karate Kid [DVD] by John G. Avildsen (DVD - 2007)
£4.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews