Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Rodgers.... blues/rock singing at it's best!, 15 July 2007
By 
Neil Myers (Bradford,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live In Glasgow (Audio CD)
This cd is about as good as it gets!Pauls singing gets better with age and the band he's put together are very very good.As a big Free fan i loved his selection of songs for this set,which includes the sublime Free song "Be My Friend" sung and played to perfection.Other Free gems not performed for years by Paul are "I'll Be Creepin","Ride on a Pony" "The Stealer" and the magnificent "Fire and Water" all played with the passion of the late great Paul Kossoff.Seventeen year old lead guitarist Kurtis Dengler looks a real talent and does Koss proud with some searing blues rock playing along with ex heart guitarist Howard Leese.This is a five star performance from Paul and his band and this cd is highly reccomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Rodgers Live in Glasgow - Amazing!, 10 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Glasgow (Audio CD)
Can this man get any better with age? I think not! A mix of old and new - the new tracks are very good, 'Radioactive' is sung brilliantly but the guitarist goes a bit mental in the middle of the track, which is the one only down point of the whole album. Warboys is touch Duran Duran but the rest is pure gold. Paul not only sounds better than he did over 30 years ago, he looks better! Whatever young pills he is taking I want some! Vocally he is stronger than ever and never ceases to impress me with his huge range and seemingly never ending breath he holds inside him for those special little touches, laughs and notes that just make him Paul Rodgers.
Worth every penny - an up to date version of true classics. If you appreciate great music and exceptional vocals this album will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stealer in Good Company, 13 July 2010
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Glasgow (Audio CD)
Paul Rodgers is the greatest rock/blues/soul voice Britain has ever produced and one of the two or three best in the world. No, sod that - he`s the Greatest.
Here we have 74 mins of Paul R at his stratospheric, gutbusting best, with a storming, yet sensitive, band (less `heavy rock` than on the excellent `Paul Rodgers Now` album of `97) and a choice of songs second to none.
The sequence beginning with Muddy Waters` Louisiana Blues into Fire and Water seguing into Wishing Well is breathtakingly exciting. I`ve rarely heard PR`s vocals so fluid, so mightily soulful, so DAMN GOOD! The man has perfect pitch & seems to be able to do anything he wants with his godlike voice.
If you want to hear what Rodgers buffs adore & revere about this man, get this stunning - and wonderfully recorded, well-packaged - CD, play loud, and hear an English singer who can be spoken of in the same breath as Otis, Wilson Pickett or Smokey Robinson. What this man has (far more than, say, Jagger or Stewart) is taste, innate bluesiness, and a sense of a song`s dynamic. All that and a back catalogue others must envy.
Jimmy Page, Brian May, Rod Stewart - they all think he`s the bee`s knees. Me, I know he is.
Can`t get enough, but I`m all right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROGERS AT HIS BEST, 22 Feb 2008
By 
David M. James "maverick" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live In Glasgow (Audio CD)
This is a first class album from a first class performer.
Great atmosphere and the rest of the band do this album justice.
If you like good old rock buy it !!!
Buy it anyway it's the business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It passes the car test, 29 April 2014
By 
Paul Simister (Birmingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Glasgow (Audio CD)
This is one of those rare CDs that when it gets into my car, I can't stop playing it. It's rocky enough when I'm in a rock mood and bluesy and soulful enough when I'm feeling more mellow.

I know some people dislike live albums but, as the author of the Best Live Albums blog, I much prefer them.

Rodgers is a terrific singer, his band is tight and he's put together an excellent set list of Free and Bad Company classics with some more recent and less well known songs.

It was recorded in 2006 and normally live albums recorded 30 years after the artists peak years suffer by comparison to those recorded in the prime. Not this one. Rodgers sings as well or perhaps even better than ever. Of course it helps that there isn't a definitive live album from the seventies. I've never fallen in love with Free Live (I don't know why) and there hasn't been a vintage live album by Bad Company. I understand Live Albuquerque 1976 is very good but it's never had an officially approved release.

This then is as good as Paul Rodgers gets live. Unfortunately it's not perfect. Can't Get Enough and All Right Now are both crowd sing-alongs. Great fun when you're there but not so good when you're listening because of the quality of the main man's vocals.

Highly recommended to any fan of Free, Bad Company and Paul Rodgers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bluesy and Gutsy, 9 April 2014
By 
Richard P. Turner (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Glasgow (Audio CD)
Typical Paul Rogers of several decades with an excellent backing band, probably superior t the Montreux alternative, maybe because the band is better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Glasgow (MP3 Download)
Just brilliant for a man of a certain age (me not him). Brings back many great memories. Voice definitely on form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, 25 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Live In Glasgow (Audio CD)
I bought the CD after first buying the DVD , and would heartily recommend both. As a fan since the 70's , I can say that not all Paul's work since has been top notch , but certainly this effort rolls back the years to rival some of the best live performances I've heard. The album features 6 from 8 of the original album Free Live from 1971 , with the remainder dating mainly from the Bad Company era and beyond. My personal fave is "Ride on a Pony" which betters the original.
Overall , I think anyone familiar with his work will not find this collection disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Glasgow (Audio CD)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Glasgow (Audio CD)
The great Paul Rodgers at his best as usual. One of the great rhythm and blues voices singing all his classics. Pity there is no My Brother Jake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live In Glasgow
Live In Glasgow by Paul Rodgers (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews