Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The continuation of excellence
When I was broadsided by Charlotte's wonderful debut album, my only concern was can she possibly maintain this standard? I needn't have worried. After several plays in my first week of ownership, I can safely say The Deep Blue is as good as, if not better than, Grey Will Fade. The choppy chord changes are still there in the more up-tempo tracks like Very Young and I Want...
Published on 23 Mar 2007 by James Warner

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A massive letdown
Grey Will Fade, Charlotte's debut album, was a good little album- notthing special, but she played to her strengths, namely weezer-esque guitars and sugary, hooky vocals.
Sadly, The Deep Blue has none of these qualities, and just exposes Hatherly's limitations as a songwriter. Her voice is too weak to pull off the heavier tracks but her songwriting too plain to make...
Published on 31 Aug 2007 by A. Taylor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patience is a virtue, 2 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Deep Blue (Audio CD)
It has to be said that during the first 3 months of me owning this album, we didn't quite click. Just like the awkward silences you tend to get when you're left in a room with someone you should know, but never really know what to say to. Anyhow rambling analogies aside, this album is to put it bluntly a serious grower. It takes time, as the poppier elements of the record are more subtle than Grey Will Fade which by this judging, is an out and out pop record.

One thing that Charlotte proves on this album is her ability to write a consistent body of work for a record, and stick to a particular theme, making the albums much more of a one-sitting affair. Given time, the lilting melodies and hazy dream like music that features throughout the Deep Blue will seep into your brain, and lodge themseleves there for some time, much like the acclaimed debut but on a completely different level.

Charlotte could have made Grey Will Fade 2 with comfort for this album, but it's good to know that leaving the excellent Ash has given her the confidence to prove that her music is light years away from the Wheeler hit factory. This is something different from a songwriter to cherish, investigate this, immerse yourself in it and then learn to love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The continuation of excellence, 23 Mar 2007
By 
James Warner (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Deep Blue (Audio CD)
When I was broadsided by Charlotte's wonderful debut album, my only concern was can she possibly maintain this standard? I needn't have worried. After several plays in my first week of ownership, I can safely say The Deep Blue is as good as, if not better than, Grey Will Fade. The choppy chord changes are still there in the more up-tempo tracks like Very Young and I Want You To Know, but the whole feel of the album is a broadening of the palette. With the sumptuous Wounded Sky, the incredibly catchy Behave which really should have been the first full blown single release. Then there's Roll Over (Let It Go) which is a beautiful ballad which transforms into a belting rock finale and the crackling Siberia as a fitting final track (though fast forward to 7 mins 40 secs and there's a gorgeous hidden bonus track called Lost In Time). To single out tracks for praise seems unfare as there isn't a bad (or even average) one on the album.

Have I conveyed my enthusiasm sufficiently yet?! Charlotte has released this album independently due to insane lack of interest from record companies. Support the talent and buy this album. You wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charlottes' Progress Continues..., 21 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: The Deep Blue (Audio CD)
Firsty, I do recomend that you listen/pick up her debut "Grey Will Fade" before purchasing this. It gives a better indication of how she got to this point, taking the risk of leaving Ash after nearly a decade. I won't break this album down track by track, but if you do want a typical indicator of her output, the more poppy tracks are "I Want You To Know" and "Behave". Generally on this album, Charlotte has decided to expand the textures of her sound compaired to Grey Will Fade. She maintians and expands on the proto-punk and 80's styled britpop, but moves foward with her scope. But as always it's best to sample it for yourself. If she can improve her stage presence she can very well cut it on her own...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ohhhh behave, 25 Oct 2009
By 
G. Ryan (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Deep Blue (Audio CD)
Very underrated songwriter
& the guitar on 'behave' shows a very talented guitarist also.
I keep going back to this album (and her début).
This, and grey will fade are highly recommended,
Looking forward to her new one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The delightful Deep Blue!, 15 Jun 2007
By 
S. Salter "the dotty one" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Deep Blue (Audio CD)
Like the other reviewers on first listen The Deep Blue may not catch you, but after a couple of listens you get into the rhythm of Charlotte's unique arrangements and vocals to see the pure beauty of this album. She is also an awesome guitarist to top it off. I fell head over heels for the single "Behave" and it is now one of my very favourite songs. "Siberia" and "Wounded Sky" are also firm favourites, the hidden track "Lost in Time" is also lovely. I'm not well acquainted with Grey Will Fade having only heard the singles you can really hear the difference and progression. These songs have been continuously stuck in my head since buying the album and it simply gets better and better with each listening. Like the other reviewers I find it hard not to hit play again button once the album's finished. Highly recommend having a listen to the delightful Deep Blue. Can't wait to hear more from Ms Hatherley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Queen Charlotte of Hatherley, 11 April 2007
By 
Mr. R. Nason "sundayboy79" (Derby, East Mids, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deep Blue (Audio CD)
Once again, Charlotte comes up with the goods and doesn't let us down. When I first played this album I really wasn't sure about it, it took a few good hard listens to sink in. I loved the 2 (so far) singles "Behave" and "I Want You To Know" and the rest of the album is rather different. As another reviewer here said, the album is like a "broadening of the palette". Basically, if you're expecting "Grey Will Fade" Mk. II then you may be disappointed (at first) but don't fret. Charlotte's quirkiness and idiosyncracies are still intact, the music just gets to breathe more and there's a lot of space within. You literally do feel underwater for some tracks! The production is spot-on throughout and compliments the lyrical themes of the songs and Charlotte's playing (she truly is an unsung great, especially when it comes to Women In Rock - hate to use that phrase as a peg) and vocal arrangements manage to even surpass those of her first album. There are more songs on here than the first album, even a kind of intro in "Cousteau" (check the "Behave" single for the full-length version of it!), but there are also less spunky, Summer-Punk, almost Ash-like tracks compared to the first album. At first this put me off as I love nothing more than her tracks in the "Summer"/"Bastardo"/"Why You Wanna?"... vein but it's the slower, moodier tracks where she really gets to spread her wings and show you what she's capable of that impress most. Trust me, unlike anyone else with a guitar these days who's a bit alternative and gets acclaimed for simply being that way, Charlotte is different from those pretenders in that her music actually justifies the praise. Check it out! And whilst you're at it check out "Grey Will Fade" (if you haven't already).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This year's colour is Deep Blue.., 25 Mar 2007
By 
S. Jones (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Deep Blue (Audio CD)
If the mark of a good album is a compulsion to play it again as soon as the last track ends, or you find different moments going round and round your head for the next week whatever you're doing, then in my book this is a exceptionally good album.

I wasn't much of a fan of Ash, and Charlotte's first album didn't leave much of a mark except for a couple of songs, but this new album is marvellous. It was really curiosity to hear the song she'd co-written with Andy Partridge, godlike genius of XTC, which drew me to sample The Deep Blue. It's a mark of Hatherley's songwriting maturity that the eleven songs she wrote alone are every bit as delicious, full of surprising melodies and harmonies, displaying a full grasp of the musical pallette that, frankly, I didn't associate with Ash from nodding acquaintance with their hit singles.

There are some fine examples of invigorating power pop in a style which fans of her former band would probably recognise but also dreamy, woozy soundscapes such as Dawn Treader, the co-write with Partridge, delicately textured with Hatherley's charming vocal floating across the melody.

A gorgeous record to come back to again and again, I reckon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A massive letdown, 31 Aug 2007
By 
A. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Deep Blue (Audio CD)
Grey Will Fade, Charlotte's debut album, was a good little album- notthing special, but she played to her strengths, namely weezer-esque guitars and sugary, hooky vocals.
Sadly, The Deep Blue has none of these qualities, and just exposes Hatherly's limitations as a songwriter. Her voice is too weak to pull off the heavier tracks but her songwriting too plain to make the slower songs sound convincing. The only song that makes any lasting impression is the first single "Behave" with it's spiky XTC esque guitar line, but little else redeems the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa82ea2e8)

This product

The Deep Blue
The Deep Blue by Charlotte Hatherley (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews