Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£29.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2009
Tim Marlow is such a good presenter of art. He unpicks the most intricate detail in a piece of work and explains the stories within a painting that otherwise would go unexplained. I really enjoy the historical context which gives a picture of the life and times of the artist. And of course where would we be without Marlow's explanation of the technical skill and immense talent of the artists? When there's so much dross on TV these days, it's great to have a series like this on DVD at your fingertips.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2007
Really enjoyed these films - clear, accesible, well-shot and Tim Marlow is just the sort of person you'd want with you on foreign trips - he's SO interesting. I came to the series after downloading the book off the net and normally books are better but in this case I'm not sure. I guess I liked seeing all the location footage too.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2007
I was surprised how much I enjoyed this DVD. Tim Marlow is a great art critic - I have seen him on some of the Five art shows as well - and really brings the work to life without being boring and too academic!

Its great to get a historical perspective on the art world as well, as it helps to put some of the modern art in perspective.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
This quite simply, is the best way to watch and learn about any artist. Tim is one of the best presenters around and pitches his show perfectly in every way, ignoring his own views and zoning in on only the artist and his work. He is energetic in his approach and very knowledgable, without being pretentious, therefore I thoroughly recommend this Great Artists DVD.

My only criticism would be, I wish the programmes were longer, but I suppose that relates to Channel 5, the original broadcaster who showed this series.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
I watched this series twice on the box, unable to take in all there was to see and learn without the AMAZING Tim Marlow pointing out all the details and bringing the artists to life. You will hang onto every word. Watch these over and over. you will find something new every time. And in SUCH good company.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2009
A really enjoyable collection, thoughtful and clear.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 September 2011
Unlike one reviewer who finds his extra long clothes a distraction, I have not noticed his clothes. Was he wearing some? He is far too interesting for that sort of distraction. These DVDs are collections of his television series shown on Sky Arts and they are excellent examinations of the artists. His attention to detail leaves little unnoticed, his authoritative yet unpretentious mann and his facility with language make him an excellent guide and critic. Not everyone can express complex ideas about art while in the full glare of the lights.

Marlowe can and does. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Excellent review of the artists, covering historical background and not an overly intense critique from the cultural point of view. And excellent overview of art from the Renaissance period to the 20th century.. The collection can be viewed many times over without becoming stale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2011
Firstly, weird sleeve review dude needs therapy :)

This is a very informative collection of episodes on very interesting artists from 1400.

The short episodes I thought, at first, would be too short....but, it's a no BS [sorry] approach to art which means they are full of information and no waffling. I like it.

Thank you
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
This is an excellent DVD. Tim Marlow explains the historical background as well as critiquing the artwork for each of the artists. He is a clear, pleasant and informative presenter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)