Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful history of art
Tim Marlow is such a good presenter of art. He unpicks the most intricate detail in a piece of work and explains the stories within a painting that otherwise would go unexplained. I really enjoy the historical context which gives a picture of the life and times of the artist. And of course where would we be without Marlow's explanation of the technical skill and...
Published on 24 Jun 2009 by Sally

versus
6 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unable to fill out the clothing
Although this product arrived several months ago, I've seen just three (I think!) episodes. Whilst Mr Marlow may very well be an expert in this field, I really cannot concentrate on what he is saying because of his dress. The sleeves of his jackets are too long and, to me, this is a huge distraction. The length of his jackets is not abnormal, it's just that he appears to...
Published on 15 Jan 2011 by W. Leamy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful history of art, 24 Jun 2009
This review is from: Tim Marlow - Great Artists - Vol.1 [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Tim Marlow is such a good presenter of art. He unpicks the most intricate detail in a piece of work and explains the stories within a painting that otherwise would go unexplained. I really enjoy the historical context which gives a picture of the life and times of the artist. And of course where would we be without Marlow's explanation of the technical skill and immense talent of the artists? When there's so much dross on TV these days, it's great to have a series like this on DVD at your fingertips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! Perfect introduction for my kids, 3 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Tim Marlow - Great Artists - Vol.1 [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed these films - clear, accesible, well-shot and Tim Marlow is just the sort of person you'd want with you on foreign trips - he's SO interesting. I came to the series after downloading the book off the net and normally books are better but in this case I'm not sure. I guess I liked seeing all the location footage too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight talking and informative, 5 April 2007
This review is from: Tim Marlow - Great Artists - Vol.1 [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
I was surprised how much I enjoyed this DVD. Tim Marlow is a great art critic - I have seen him on some of the Five art shows as well - and really brings the work to life without being boring and too academic!

Its great to get a historical perspective on the art world as well, as it helps to put some of the modern art in perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Tim, 22 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Tim Marlow - Great Artists - Vol.1 [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
This quite simply, is the best way to watch and learn about any artist. Tim is one of the best presenters around and pitches his show perfectly in every way, ignoring his own views and zoning in on only the artist and his work. He is energetic in his approach and very knowledgable, without being pretentious, therefore I thoroughly recommend this Great Artists DVD.

My only criticism would be, I wish the programmes were longer, but I suppose that relates to Channel 5, the original broadcaster who showed this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 15 July 2009
This review is from: Tim Marlow - Great Artists - Vol.1 [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
A really enjoyable collection, thoughtful and clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marlowe in the Galleries, 20 Sep 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tim Marlow - Great Artists - Vol.1 [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Unlike one reviewer who finds his extra long clothes a distraction, I have not noticed his clothes. Was he wearing some? He is far too interesting for that sort of distraction. These DVDs are collections of his television series shown on Sky Arts and they are excellent examinations of the artists. His attention to detail leaves little unnoticed, his authoritative yet unpretentious mann and his facility with language make him an excellent guide and critic. Not everyone can express complex ideas about art while in the full glare of the lights.

Marlowe can and does. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 5 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tim Marlow - Great Artists - Vol.1 [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, weird sleeve review dude needs therapy :)

This is a very informative collection of episodes on very interesting artists from 1400.

The short episodes I thought, at first, would be too short....but, it's a no BS [sorry] approach to art which means they are full of information and no waffling. I like it.

Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-opening., 4 May 2014
By 
H. L. Vine "Lady Dedlock" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tim Marlow - Great Artists - Vol.1 [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series twice on the box, unable to take in all there was to see and learn without the AMAZING Tim Marlow pointing out all the details and bringing the artists to life. You will hang onto every word. Watch these over and over. you will find something new every time. And in SUCH good company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A1, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. M. Annable "seve" (Bath, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tim Marlow - Great Artists - Vol.1 [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Just saving up my dosh for the Vol 2. Brilliant and he explains the paintings so well and their meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Artists by an expert, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tim Marlow - Great Artists - Vol.1 [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD. Tim Marlow explains the historical background as well as critiquing the artwork for each of the artists. He is a clear, pleasant and informative presenter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tim Marlow - Great Artists - Vol.1 [2001] [DVD]
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews