Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Impression!
The long awaited Channel FIVE series 'The Impressionists with Tim Marlow' finally appears on DVD and it was definitely well worth the wait. I originally watched these episodes one by one when they were broadcast on FIVE. To now find them available on DVD is a great pleasure - I will definitely be buying one to add to my DVD collection.
One DVD with all eight...
Published on 15 Mar. 2007 by Jess

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
To simplistic .
Published 6 months ago by VJTutton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Impression!, 15 Mar. 2007
This review is from: The Impressionists With Tim Marlow - The Collection [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
The long awaited Channel FIVE series 'The Impressionists with Tim Marlow' finally appears on DVD and it was definitely well worth the wait. I originally watched these episodes one by one when they were broadcast on FIVE. To now find them available on DVD is a great pleasure - I will definitely be buying one to add to my DVD collection.
One DVD with all eight episodes, from Manet, Monet, Degas, Renoir, Toulouse-Lautrec, Cezanne, Gauguin through to Van Gogh.
It's great to have so many wonderful artists all on one DVD, to be able to watch them one after another or one at a time as I choose.
Tim Marlow is on form as he delves into the artists wonderful works and teaches us so much about their home lives as well. This really sets this Impressionist series well above any others available out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marlow's Impressions, 25 Sept. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Impressionists With Tim Marlow - The Collection [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Tim Marlow's television series is now on DVD and it is well worth the wait. Manet, Monet, Degas, Renoir, Toulouse-Lautrec, Cezanne, Gauguin through to Van Gogh all with the erudite, sensitive and informative commentary of Marlow who knows his subject well but, more than that, his commentary, direct to camera with the painting behind him is quietly authoritative. He does not embark on outlandish theories or flights of fancy in his interpretations; he keep his feet firmly on the ground while making thoughtful and insightful comments on the painters, their lives and works.

I have always enjoyed his ability to so informative, backed with a wealth of information and historical details.

For anyone looking for a good, scholarly introduction to individual painters and the group in general, this is an ideal starting point. For those who have seen the programmes already, they are worth a second look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not brilliant but good, 31 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impressionists With Tim Marlow - The Collection [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Thankfully you don't see too much of Tim Marlow but the programmes are just too short (I think we get used to 50 minute or 1 hour episodes now). Therefore, not 5 stars but 4 as it does give a very thorough account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Impressionists with Tim Marlow, 30 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impressionists With Tim Marlow - The Collection [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This was fairly basic and easily digestible material, well presented and informative. Would have liked information about a wider range of impressionists for example Eugene Boudin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most intriguing, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impressionists With Tim Marlow - The Collection [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
We liked this collection very much. We have seen it two times, as we do not want to miss a remark. We are very fond of the impressionists. In the chapter of Claude Monet they also drew the line to William Turner, but just slight. I have always wondered why they do not draw this line properly. Turner proceeded the impressionist with a hundred years, but why can't I find some book that can explain this intriguing closeness? Send me a tip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impressionists With Tim Marlow - The Collection [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Great product, which was a great gift. it is a good collection & as usual with Tim Marlow well narrated throughout story of Impressionism art. Was delivered on time & fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impressionists With Tim Marlow - The Collection [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
lovely DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Impressionists With Tim Marlow - The Collection [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
To simplistic .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Impressionists With Tim Marlow - The Collection [1998] [DVD]
£15.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews