Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Laughter Takes You to a Secret World
Hats off to Colin Firth and Nia Long for their performances in this hidden jewel! I adore this movie because it gives us rare insight into a culture that you'd be hard pressed to find in Hollywood filmmaking. The script is exceptional; the cinematography is flawless and the characters are beguiling. The young actor that plays Sammi is absolutely beautiful.
Published 19 months ago by Electromagnolia

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Films
I adore Colin Firth so it pains me to caution against buying this DVD, but this is not due to his performance because he was brilliant as always. But even he could not save this film. The script was a mess and the cliche-ridden director of the piece kept dunking it in an awfully gluey-mess of patronizing contradictions. This must be Firth's only collaborative...
Published on 29 Oct 2011 by Egenti


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Laughter Takes You to a Secret World, 31 Jan 2013
Hats off to Colin Firth and Nia Long for their performances in this hidden jewel! I adore this movie because it gives us rare insight into a culture that you'd be hard pressed to find in Hollywood filmmaking. The script is exceptional; the cinematography is flawless and the characters are beguiling. The young actor that plays Sammi is absolutely beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Films, 29 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I adore Colin Firth so it pains me to caution against buying this DVD, but this is not due to his performance because he was brilliant as always. But even he could not save this film. The script was a mess and the cliche-ridden director of the piece kept dunking it in an awfully gluey-mess of patronizing contradictions. This must be Firth's only collaborative disappointment in Film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story was an adult romance. We did not have to watch them having sex, or eating each others face off!!!
The acting was great (usually English movies have better actors then the U.S. A.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colin Firth fan., 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this to Colin Firth fans, unusual story, good acting, easy to watch, loved the characters Mark, Nime and Sammy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colin FIRTH, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i'ts very funny and it's good family viewing and it was enjoyable to watch and t the clothes of Nia Long and her family were beautiful to see Elizabeth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but.., 20 Nov 2011
Colin Firth is as English (and inexpressive ) as normal. The film is really about the relationships and attitudes of the family of a black family to life and marriage in particular. It has a few funny moments but I wouldn't bother watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Colourful for the eye., 9 July 2014
This review is from: The Secret Laughter Of Women (1999) (VHS Tape)
Even though it was not the best story, I really liked this film. I would have wanted more background of this exile Nigerian community in southern France, I found that fascinating. The characters were a bit complex and the relationships lacked depth, however I was totally swept away by the most captivating colourful surroundings and fabrics. It's a treat for the eye. Nia Long was stunning as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time on this - poor script, 29 Jun 2014
By 
S A Lindley (South Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
Awful. Don't waste your time on this - poor script, contradictions galore, banal storyline. Colin Firth must wish he never got involved with this tripe. Nia Long comes across as a good actress though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of potential but misses the boat, 14 Jun 2014
Awful directing, terrible script and poor editing... Colin Firth and Nia Long are such good actors, was a shame to have wasted them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining viewing, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
easy to watch & a good story line enough to keep you watching to the end of movie & its happy conclustion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret Laughter Of Women (1999)
The Secret Laughter Of Women (1999) by Peter Schwabach (VHS Tape)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews