Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
19
3.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£27.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2010
We are really pleased with this Go set. It has a full size board (which we sectioned off with a paper frame when learning the game)and is made of really robust good quality varnished wood. It also has two very nice pull out drawers to store the counters in. We decided to get Go as an alternative to Chess - it is similar in that you always need to plan a few steps ahead to be successful - so is great for developing logic skills.

This game is not really suitable for younger children - the counters look just like smarties (if they made white and black ones) and could be easily swallowed. Also the way the counters(which curve up) don't sit totally flat on the board mean that they can really easily be disturbed and knocked out of place. My almost 8 year old has picked up the game really well - but I think much younger children would find it dull.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
This is a very nice looking piece of kit: there's definitely an aesthetic aspect to this intriguing game. I chose this one, because it had received good reviews on Amazon. Also, the reduced price and free postage were definite pluses for one on a limited income such as I. The board is made of wood, with swing out drawers where the stones are kept. It looks fairly robust, so should last awhile. The custom in Japan, is to keep your unused stones in a wooden bowl, so two bowls would be required. These are not included, so you'll have to buy them separately, if you want them. You could also use small china bowls. By the way, one reviewer pointed out that the black stones are slightly larger than the white. This is to compensate for the optical illusion that makes the black stones appear smaller than they are.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2010
The Go board is of high quality and a pleasure to use. The 'stones' are a little dissapointing as they are of a different size, black to white, and the plastic is not of the same quality as the board.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
This is a well made game, that so far looks durable (played several times). For those that do not know GO it is a game that you need to think several moves ahead, more so than chess I think, and so is a good game for training the mind. This is a full sized board 19 x 19, you may want to start with a smaller board, less expensive, but with this one you can easily section off an area and play 9 x 9 or similar.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
If I was a picky person or if this was a set for a different game where you would want brand new shiny stuff to play with I would have already sent it back. The box was not sealed and the bags for the buttons were also resealable plastic ones with a lot of dust in them. Also from the look of the board it was clear that this was a well used set.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
Good quality product, and with fast delivery. The game is nicely made with drawers for the black and white counters. The counters are a little bit light weight [plastic], but nevertheless it is good value.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
it's actually quite good quality
some said stones were different sizes, not in mine, they have a nice feel too
the only draw back is where the stones are kept, they pivot out and a bit too easily I'd say, almost impossible to transport if not in its box or with a large rubber band holing them in
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Bought as a present, so i'm not a user of the item, but one criticism i had of this item when getting it out the box is that the pull out draws have no retaining clip, so if you are carting it around the draws flop open. I bit if a pain when there are loads of loose pellets!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
A nice set at a reasonable price point. (Go sets can be very expensive.) My only criticism would be that the pieces can escape the draws when they are folded inside if it is turned on it's side or upside down. However they are still trapped inside and don't get lost. If packing for travel put the pieces into small bags inside the draws to fix. Otherwise an excellent set we haven't regretted buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2009
This board is lovely quality. The stones, although plastic, are extremely pleasant to use with a decent weight for their size. The draws make a great place to store the stones. An excellent board for a bargain price.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)