Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely wooden box - pull out storage drawers
We are really pleased with this Go set. It has a full size board (which we sectioned off with a paper frame when learning the game)and is made of really robust good quality varnished wood. It also has two very nice pull out drawers to store the counters in. We decided to get Go as an alternative to Chess - it is similar in that you always need to plan a few steps ahead to...
Published on 18 April 2010 by light

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Go
The Go board is of high quality and a pleasure to use. The 'stones' are a little dissapointing as they are of a different size, black to white, and the plastic is not of the same quality as the board.
Published on 7 July 2010 by MDW


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely wooden box - pull out storage drawers, 18 April 2010
By 
light (brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Go Game - Fantastic Board Game of Strategy (Toy)
We are really pleased with this Go set. It has a full size board (which we sectioned off with a paper frame when learning the game)and is made of really robust good quality varnished wood. It also has two very nice pull out drawers to store the counters in. We decided to get Go as an alternative to Chess - it is similar in that you always need to plan a few steps ahead to be successful - so is great for developing logic skills.

This game is not really suitable for younger children - the counters look just like smarties (if they made white and black ones) and could be easily swallowed. Also the way the counters(which curve up) don't sit totally flat on the board mean that they can really easily be disturbed and knocked out of place. My almost 8 year old has picked up the game really well - but I think much younger children would find it dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice looking piece of kit, 29 Nov. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Game - Fantastic Board Game of Strategy (Toy)
This is a very nice looking piece of kit: there's definitely an aesthetic aspect to this intriguing game. I chose this one, because it had received good reviews on Amazon. Also, the reduced price and free postage were definite pluses for one on a limited income such as I. The board is made of wood, with swing out drawers where the stones are kept. It looks fairly robust, so should last awhile. The custom in Japan, is to keep your unused stones in a wooden bowl, so two bowls would be required. These are not included, so you'll have to buy them separately, if you want them. You could also use small china bowls. By the way, one reviewer pointed out that the black stones are slightly larger than the white. This is to compensate for the optical illusion that makes the black stones appear smaller than they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is good, 10 Jan. 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Game - Fantastic Board Game of Strategy (Toy)
This is a well made game, that so far looks durable (played several times). For those that do not know GO it is a game that you need to think several moves ahead, more so than chess I think, and so is a good game for training the mind. This is a full sized board 19 x 19, you may want to start with a smaller board, less expensive, but with this one you can easily section off an area and play 9 x 9 or similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Go, 7 July 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Go Game - Fantastic Board Game of Strategy (Toy)
The Go board is of high quality and a pleasure to use. The 'stones' are a little dissapointing as they are of a different size, black to white, and the plastic is not of the same quality as the board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go Game, 29 Mar. 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Go Game - Fantastic Board Game of Strategy (Toy)
Good quality product, and with fast delivery. The game is nicely made with drawers for the black and white counters. The counters are a little bit light weight [plastic], but nevertheless it is good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too small board to play, 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Game - Fantastic Board Game of Strategy (Toy)
The wooden board is ok quality, but it is just too small to play comfortably. Also the plastic pieces are too light and painful to operate. This game is quite cheap so i guess it might be worth the buy, but I wouldn't recommend it still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent choice, 27 Dec. 2009
By 
C. Lees - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Go Game - Fantastic Board Game of Strategy (Toy)
This board is lovely quality. The stones, although plastic, are extremely pleasant to use with a decent weight for their size. The draws make a great place to store the stones. An excellent board for a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Game is good but not the equipment - used???, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Game - Fantastic Board Game of Strategy (Toy)
If I was a picky person or if this was a set for a different game where you would want brand new shiny stuff to play with I would have already sent it back. The box was not sealed and the bags for the buttons were also resealable plastic ones with a lot of dust in them. Also from the look of the board it was clear that this was a well used set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good board., 24 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Game - Fantastic Board Game of Strategy (Toy)
Really good board. I love the way the side panels slide out and tuck away neatly inside the main board. It is nice and compact yet big enough for a good game. I have no problem with the plastic disks. They are all made to a high standard and feel just fine. The game is great too but probably worth looking up some rules :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's actually quite good quality some said stones were different sizes, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go Game - Fantastic Board Game of Strategy (Toy)
it's actually quite good quality
some said stones were different sizes, not in mine, they have a nice feel too
the only draw back is where the stones are kept, they pivot out and a bit too easily I'd say, almost impossible to transport if not in its box or with a large rubber band holing them in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews