Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding DVD
The Raccoons still holds up wonderfully as a thoughtfully written, lovingly made and intelligent children's series; on current viewings, it's immediately clear what made you wake up without fail on a Saturday morning to follow Bert, Cedric and Co's adventures. Warm, funny characters, with an excellent sense of daring mean these are absolutely worth revisiting, or...
Published on 20 Sep 2007 by Jamie B

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yahhooo
Long after the US Release, England gets a Raccoons DVD Set! This contents the First Series in great quailty with some special features which.. while a nice touch (cheap since they come from the US release) aren't really worth too much due to some wrong information and such like. But it is worth it for the Complete First Series!

The only other let down in this...
Published on 15 Mar 2008 by Manic Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding DVD, 20 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The Raccoons still holds up wonderfully as a thoughtfully written, lovingly made and intelligent children's series; on current viewings, it's immediately clear what made you wake up without fail on a Saturday morning to follow Bert, Cedric and Co's adventures. Warm, funny characters, with an excellent sense of daring mean these are absolutely worth revisiting, or introducing to a newer generation of fans.

I'm delighted that this release doesn't disappoint - the episodes look bright, clean and sharp, and the whole pacakge seems put together with such care and affection. The classy looking outer-slipcase with different case art inside (plus an episode guide leaflet) ooze quality.

The series itself is still finding it's feet format-wise, as Dan the forest ranger and his kids frame quite a few of the earliest episodes, but producers soon found that the animal characters more than carried the show on their own; their antics are epic in scale right from the start. These shows are loaded with gentle social commentary and stories that have real consequence to them, engaging the audience straight away. Let's hope that this first volume sells well enough to ensure the even-better subsequent seasons see similarly excellent releases too! Reccommended without question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Racoons!, 17 April 2009
By 
Ms. L. J. Braisby "leigh" (Doncaster, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my Boyfriend who loved the Racoons as a kid and still does now, I unfortunately missed it so getting him the DVD was the first time I've ever seen The Racoons, I admit I felt kind of silly being 21 years old and watching kids cartoons but I loved it!
It's beautifully written, graceful and exactly what kids (and adults!) can enjoy! I'm miffed I missed out on it as a child!
It's a great, uplifting Cartoon that everybody should watch and I personally think it should be aired again on TV as they don't make Cartoon this good anymore!
Now, thanks to my boyfriend, I'm a Racoons fan... and the title music is ace! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood Memories, 4 Jun 2009
By 
D. Downes "Kai Jeckles" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Childhood memories and more. The theme song to this just kicks out the memories I have of this animation. It came on BBC1 at 8 or 8:30. I would ALWAYS be awake for it. Good times. Yeah, if you like 80s cartoons, this is a worth while buy, that you should keep always. Let you kids watch it too =D

Though if your child is like Burt Raccoon, then maybe you shouldn't. They may get ideas from him...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yahhooo, 15 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Long after the US Release, England gets a Raccoons DVD Set! This contents the First Series in great quailty with some special features which.. while a nice touch (cheap since they come from the US release) aren't really worth too much due to some wrong information and such like. But it is worth it for the Complete First Series!

The only other let down in this set is that it is JUST the First Series. It would be nice if it was a 4 disc set with the Oringal 4 Specials (Christmas Raccoons, Raccoons on Ice, Raccoons and the Lost Star & Racoons: Let's Dance) but sadly, we must all just put up with our treasured VHS copies for now. There are a couple of other small let downs in the Specials features since some of the 'pictures' and such like are from either the oringal Specials or later shows, and the cover makes one hell of a mistake in showing the wrong screenshots and even Lisa Raccoon, how doesn't appear till much later (Voice by Lisa Lougheed, the Second Series+ Singer). But let none of this put you off buying a show which is very underrated by the fact that it has rarely been giving a good showing IN ORDER, in the UK.

Lets Hope they carry on the good work with Series 2 very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A UK Cult Classic From Canada!, 1 Oct 2007
By 
D. M. Monid "davidmonid1" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Remember those Saturday mornings when The Raccoons came on before 'Going Live' or 'Live and Kicking' on BBC1? If not and if you want to remember those good old days, then defenatily buy this DVD set. All 11 episodes from Season 1 of this classic series from the 80's and early 90's is here on these 2 disks, plus some bonus features like 'Create A Scene' and 'Character Bios' (which were taken from the Canadian Morningstar DVD's) plus Raccoon-A-Roma (DVD ROM) content that is accesseble from your computer. The menus look awsome. Plus a booklet with episode synoposis for each episode. Hopefully Seasons 2-5 won't be far behind and possibly even the specials. But this is a superb start to your Raccoons collection on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars retro 80s cartoon, 28 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
this is a really good boxset to bring you back to your childhood. it is a story about bert who lives in evergreen forest with his friends. its great watching a cartoon thats drawn rather than the computer crap that children have to watch now. for a old cartoon the quality is really good. the title music is great and the characters are really loveable. this is a series that they should re release onto tv now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Raccoons, 26 Feb 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
`Racoons' is a blast from the past and makes for perfect viewing. From that catchy opening music you're transported back to your childhood and the endearing characters and fun stories are soon delighting you again. This cartoon had a certain innocence about it that seems to be lacking in modern cartoons and I'd prefer to watch this over anything around today. The animation is pretty great and there is a subtle ecological theme that runs through the series. The racoons are fighting the capitalist might of Ceril Sneer and his attempts to spoil Evergreen Forest in the name of profit. I know that I watch this through rose tinted glasses as I loved this so much when I was a kid, but I honestly think this holds it's own and make for wonderful viewing whatever your age. This is well worth a try and roll on the next series'.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raccoons, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
When they were small my sons always watched Raccoons on Ice on TV at Christmas. I cannot find Raccons on Ice but this DVD brought back memories of the evergreen forest and Sid and Cyril Sneer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The kids still love it, bring it back!!, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased the Raccoons recently for my nieces birthday, as I remember watching it as a youngster myself, and had good memories of it. My niece is 7 years old and after watching a few episodes she told me that, herself and my nephew (8 yrs old) absolutely love it!! Maybe they should bring it back, I am now thinking of ordering myself a copy!! Well done for releasing it on DVD, it obviously stands the test of time. What a great programme!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilhood Flashbacks Ahoy!, 5 May 2010
This review is from: The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
After more than a decade of not hanging out, this box set was like catching up with old primary school friends. But more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaed8fb28)

This product

The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD]
The Raccoons - Season 1 [DVD] by Kevin Gillis (DVD - 2007)
13.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews