Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real 'blast from the past'
Series first: The first thing to notice is that Whoops Apocalypse marks the some of the earliest major TV appearances of Alexei Sayle and Rik Mayall. Mayall had appeared in A Kick up The Eighties the year before, but the first airing of The Young Ones was still eight months away. The second thing is the quality of the talent on offer: Peter Jones, Barry Morse, John 'CJ'...
Published on 13 April 2010 by ds

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars weird or ?
If you think this was frightening just remember we've got Cameron in charge now.The original series is worth 4 stars,the film kowtows to the American market - only 1 star.
Published on 1 July 2012 by P. S. Addison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real 'blast from the past', 13 April 2010
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse [DVD] (DVD)
Series first: The first thing to notice is that Whoops Apocalypse marks the some of the earliest major TV appearances of Alexei Sayle and Rik Mayall. Mayall had appeared in A Kick up The Eighties the year before, but the first airing of The Young Ones was still eight months away. The second thing is the quality of the talent on offer: Peter Jones, Barry Morse, John 'CJ' Barron, Geoffrey Palmer, John Cleese and Richard Griffiths. The Cold War setup is very much of its time, coming as it did just a year before Margaret Thatcher's Conservatives enjoyed a second election victory. The Falklands conflict began halfway through he series run (on April 2), adding a little spice to the tone. Barry Morse is quite wonderful as the Reaganesque Johnny Cyclops, ex movie star and now hapless US president. For much of the proceedings he looks utterly lost and out of his depth, lurching from one disaster to another, led by the nefarious but ultimately useless Deacon (Barron, who quite purposely loads his character with CJ-isms). The deadly Quark Bomb is stolen by International terrorist, L'acrobat (Cleese). Meanwhile, the exiled Shah of Iran is stuck on a cross-channel ferry in the English Channel during a strike and the UK, led by incoming Kevin Pork (Peter Jones), who is soon to reveal his true identity, is about to join the Warsaw Pact.

Andrew Marshall and David Renwick pitch the script deliberately into the realms of farce, complete with soap opera style titles and all the cues that lend it a low-budget, trashy milieu. The cast are allowed, indeed encouraged, to play over the top to emphasise the utter ludicrousness of the situation and most grab the opportunity with both hands. Cleese in particular chews scenery for England. The only truly downbeat moment comes right as the end, as Cyclops leaves the White House for the last time, and reminded me a little of the tone of the ending of Blackadder Goes Forth, which was to come seven years after.

But, in the end that pitch at farce what makes this show so much fun, though the targets are very much of their time. I'm not sure anyone under thirty would get many of the gags.

The movie: obviously, four years after the series, the production values for the movie are so much higher but there's little change in the quality of the cast. Loretta Swit takes on the role of the new US president, while Peter Cook is positively unhinged as British PM Mortimer Crisp. As with the series the swipes are very broad, at a time when so much of what was going on in international politics was stretching satire to (and even beyond) its limit. The movie is a decent reimagining but, for me, it lacks the chutzpah of the original and doesn't quite have the same manic spark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius... bizarre genius, 9 April 2007
This review is from: Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse [DVD] (DVD)
i'm just about able to remember this from when it was on TV. This is sheer undiluted comic genius and goodness knows why it never made it on to video - let alone DVD. Hallelujah!

So it starts here. A criminally stupid (ok lobotomised) American President led by advisers who think they have a direct line to God make bungled attempts at intervening in Middle Eastern politics. They are aided by a stupid and compliant British Government who want to stay in with their friends across the water. Meanwhile a shadowy international terrorist lurks in the background.... help! help! it's all coming true!

there should be a button here saying 'buy now, do not pass GO!'

comedy genius performed by genius comedians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and about time too, 28 Feb 2007
By 
D. Morgan "osprey" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse [DVD] (DVD)
Thank God that after all these years a new generation of people will have the oppurtunity to feast their eyes on this work of genius by Andrew Marshall and David Renwick with a cast worth dying for. An American President (an old-time film Tarzan) with a Bible-carrying political advisor, a newly-elected British Government who (and I won't spoil it for you by saying how) join the Warsaw Pact, John Cleese as a terrorist who sends people a Demo Tape of his previous achievements with testimonies given by people who look remarkably like J.C. himself, topless newsreaders and loads more besides. A mere review doesn't do this wonderful series justice and I am so looking forward to getting my copy that I am now counting the days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse, 23 Aug 2010
This review is from: Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse [DVD] (DVD)
This is a 2 DVD set containing the six part original TV series on one disc and the later feature film on the other.

I'm a big Rik Mayall fan which is why I came accross the package when searching, however, I remember watching both the series and the the film as a young man and enjoyed them both at the time. Rik has only a brief cameo in one of the original TV episodes but a major role in the film (as an SAS officer).

My conclusion is this is a thorougly enjoyable purchase. The TV series is stolen by John Barrons' excellent right wing religious hawk 'the Deacon' and Peter Jones as the British PM whilst Alexi Sayle is good as the KGB officer and John Cleese is great value. Of course it's dated - it was made in 1982 but that shouldn't distract from some excellent work.

The film is superb although the Terrorist role played by Cleese in the TV series is, IMO, miscast - portrayed by the guy who was laterly the dumb neighbour in Seinfeld (I think). Peter Cook is the undoubted star.

If you're into British comedy from this period I think you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars weird or ?, 1 July 2012
By 
P. S. Addison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse [DVD] (DVD)
If you think this was frightening just remember we've got Cameron in charge now.The original series is worth 4 stars,the film kowtows to the American market - only 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and spookily relevant to the present!, 2 April 2010
By 
gwenllian (I have no idea where I am!) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse [DVD] (DVD)
I was concerned that the Whoops Apocalypse television series would not be as funny as I remembered it. Thankfully, it is and it is also spookily relevant to the present. Absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I found the Missing scenes!, 5 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse [DVD] (DVD)
I had been very disappointed with this presentation because I thought half the memorable scenes I could remember when I viewed this as a youth had been cut. Well, it was finger trouble - the episodes each have large breaks in the middle, and I thought these were the end of each section - but they are not. Keep on viewing and the second half of each episode springs to life... eventually. The picture quality is good, with only a few instances of unwanted artifacts which do not spoil what is otherwise an exceedingly interesting comedy. Specific details in current events have changed since this series was first broadcast, but yet it remains frighteningly current. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse Now ... At Last, 1 Mar 2010
This review is from: Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse [DVD] (DVD)
The downside to this package is the inclusion of the movie version, which is total tosh. The upside, is that you'll be purchasing one of the funniest comedy series ever (to go alongside your new drinks coaster). Although the series is hilarious, there is also a poignancy due to the fact that many of the themes are still with us now - if you're toying with the idea of buying, and think it's just going to be a bit of 80's nostalgia, think again - the déjà vu lends it a real satirical bite, even now.

So, strap in and enjoy John Cleese as international terrorist `The Devil'; Rasim, the ex-Shah of Iran, and his blindfold lackey, Abdab (a thousand apologies oh Last of The Mohicans !); a Prime Minister of Britain as a genuine superhero; cloned Russian presidents; Alexei Sayles's wig, and a six foot Peruvian artefact with a remarkable resemblance to the male member !!!

Where the series also succeeds spectacularly, is in using both established, and `alternative' comedians. This series pre-dates the Comic Strip, so was the first outing for the likes of Alexei Sayle and Rik Mayal, yet they work perfectly with established comedians like Morse, Jones, and Cleese. The gags therefore also run the whole gamut, from smutty innuendo, through slapstick, to paranoid surrealism (check out the gameshow, `Celebrity Knees'). And watch for those uneasily prescient moments as well: hear the audience roar with laughter at a gag where the weeks bingo numbers are read out on the News at Ten - who'd've thought !!!

Go buy NOW - and get ready to `knock those knees !!!'

PS. This series was actually released on video (Channel 5), which earlier posters may have missed - I transferred mine to DVD, but will still be buying this new package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars we're all gonna die!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse [DVD] (DVD)
a bargain at this price.the series is far superior to the movie version on this disc.who trusts politicians?an eighties classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete means Complete, 10 Feb 2014
By 
B. M. Robertson "polymath" (Bath UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse [DVD] (DVD)
Description did not mention inclusion of the later- 1986 Film as well as the 1982 TV series - and loads of extras ( all scripts as pdfs, image gallery etc)
Great comic writers, Stellar Casts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whoops Apocalypse - The Complete Apocalypse [DVD]
8.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews