Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really, very, very good.
I am going to warn fans of the previous games right now, this game is very different, it has a very different feel and a very different look to what you'll be used to but, and this is a big but, it is very good.
The game has become very american-ised, this is instantly noticeable, it feels much bigger and bolder, the voice of american driver Travis Pastrana also...
Published on 19 Sep 2007 by Tom

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost There!
I am a massive fan of rally games and have enjoyed playing Dirt.
It has everything that is to be expected from the genre, the options to play through career, tournament or single races is standard nowadays. The grand total of less than 50 vehicles is not fantastic, but respectable.
The vehicles have been well created and the detail of damage is of a good...
Published on 16 Sep 2009 by N. Cross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colin Mcrae Dirt, 6 Jun 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3) (Video Game)
This is an out standing driving game great on ps3 and on 42" full hd tv 1080p great grapich superb cars, only disapointment not enough rally too much american and greece and cuyprs no included in rally chapionship and would be better iv they icluded the conlin mcrae rally school like there othere games but 8 1/2 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flat out over Crest, 22 Sep 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a great game, I was not too happy with the handling of the cars at first but after having played the game for a while it feels much better.
The car handling feels more realistic on loose surfaces than on tarmac, damp tarmac in particular feels a bit arcade like.Yes, the American co-driver accent is annoying, as are the cheesy comments before and after a stage, but the game structure/menu system is well thought out and the graphics, lighting and the track design are excellent.There is also a wide range of cars in the game including a 320 BHP McRae Motorsport Ford Escort Mk2, which handles fantastic if you tweak the settings.(Max camber front,max toe-in front,zero toe at rear, zero camber at rear)

The OSD has by default a moving map at the top but this can be changed in options to the more familiar arrows of previous games.
Overall a great rally game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking game, 22 Mar 2008
By 
Glezza (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been a fan of this series for years now and couldn't wait to play this one with all the extra fizz, whizz & bangs of a PS3!

And overall I'm over the moon with it, some of the levels are hair tearingly hard, but oh so gratifying when you get them right!

The sense of speed is fantastic, the handling just right, Codemasters have done a great job with this!

My only complaint, where is Nicky Grist! I can't stand the voice for the co-driver, he really grates!

I'm about 60% through the game and I'm looking forward to the rest of it, although I would love to get higher up the world ranking on at least one level, before the end of the year.

One last things, thank heavens that the controls haven't been fiddled with, I can use the right analogue for Braking & Acceleration! Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play the pyramid on PRO difficulty, and you realize the incredible potential of this game, 31 July 2008
By 
D. VASCONCELOS "Pedro Vasconcelos" (Portugal, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3) (Video Game)
Dear all,

Just a quick review... Recently, I finished playing Dirt, Career Mode.
After 6 months, I managed to win all the tracks in the hardest difficulty of all, "Pro" Level.

And let me tell you that this was one of the best games I played in my life. When you play it in PRO, not only you learn to avoid crashes (because the car wrecks), but most important: to know each and every track, in full detail.

And what a pleasure this is, for driving game fans, like me.
Each personal best is automatically published on-line, so, it's quite rewarding, with some luck and skills, to see times in the top 100, say, among 40.000 people.

I played on PS3 with a Logitech G25 wheel, connected to a 42" Plasma. I believe this setup is great.

Just out of curiosity: my previous game was Formula One Championship (more than 700 hours of gameplay, another 5 star game) and now I ventured into GRID, which I'm loving.

In between I drove NFS Carbon (blargh - too arcade) and GT5 Prologue (blargh - hitting the fences proves better than taking the turn, how can this be possible???)

I'm also very curious about FERRARI CHALLENGE, looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very different but strangely good, 19 Sep 2007
By 
C. Fox (Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3) (Video Game)
This is completely different to any other Colin McRae title. Take Toca/Toca 2 for example - they both went the way of the more commerical Toca Race Driver series. They got better and better, although you missed the feeling of the 'British' motorsport atmosphere.
Its the same with this - everything is strangely American, and you will no doubt miss the Scandanavian stages.
However, you now have full realism - ie your car hits a tree at 50 and your out of the rally, end of story. This can be annoying, and for novices the damage can be turned low.
The graphics are pehnominal, dust, water spray, damage visuals - no 2 crashes are the same.
Like race driver - you now can compete in different events like off road buggyingm hill climbs, dual sprints etc. The best thing is you can play online.

I will really miss the old Colin McRae series - remember the 1st one on the PS1??! totally awesome. But everything you wished for when playing that has now arrived in DiRT - go buy it and pay homage to arguably the best rally driver scotland has ever produced.

RIP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 29 April 2009
By 
S. Adams "Steve Adams" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3) (Video Game)
It sounded like there were a few flaws with this game if you read all the reviews, I can't see any myself. I've been a mcRae (rip) fan for some time, and this game is outstanding. I have a 46" plasma and playing this game on this screen is just incredible... I agree on the review of the menu system, its really innovative and easy to use. Nice touch.

Look for £15 or so you don't need to spend any time thinking about it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One to keep, 20 Sep 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3) (Video Game)
Since buying the PS3 console I have been trying to find a game worth keeping....this is it!
Every other game I have tried is either too complicated to master or not worth the effort to try. This game is great fun right from the start, okay it's too American, but you can always turn the volume down!
Great car control, great graphics, great tracks...what more do you want?
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrill of being a racing driver at the comfort of your sofa!, 17 July 2009
By 
C. Sabbuda "C55" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3) (Video Game)
V.good game, graphics, almost real life experience with the bumps, jumps, collision and driving....

Can be a bit hard to drive if you havent played any rally game...cause the driving style is jst different....

Need for speed driving is far easier than Dirt, but the harder it gets, the more you try and in the end you get better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 18 Jun 2013
This review is from: Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3) (Video Game)
Loads of stuff to do, takes practice and skill (at lease it does for me) but with the differing tracks, surfaces and cars it well worth playing, on top of this the graphics are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars MCRAE RALLY DONT THINK SO, 14 Jan 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3) (Video Game)
HAVING BEEN SUCH A FAN OF THE COLIN MCRAE RALLY GAMES THIS ONE WAS NOT GOOD AT ALL
IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE WRC LIKE OTHER GAMES AND NO 2 PLAYER ALTERNATIVE MODE FROM WHAT I PLAYED
I MUCH ENJOYED 3 AND 4 ON THE PS2 WHEN YOU COULD DO STAGES WITH A FRIEND ON FULL SCREEN ALT MODE SADLY MISSING IN MOST NEW CAR GAMES TO DATE.
ALSO THE F1 GAMES HAVE YET TO DO THIS ALL THE FOCUS SEEMS TO BE ONLINE PLAY THESE DAYS RATHER THAN REAL FRIENDS IN THE SAME ROOM SHAME
LETS HOPE THEY WILL BRING OUT A REAL RALLY GAME IN THE FUTURE LIKE THE C.M.R 3 & 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3)
Colin McRae: DIRT (PS3) by Codemasters Limited (PlayStation 3)
£9.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews