Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carefully crafted console RTS set in the critically acclaimed Halo universe
On paper, Halo Wars doesn't quite look like it should work. This only adds to the surprise that this vibrant, fast-paced RTS really does deliver - despite depriving you of your beloved mouse and keyboard! Ensemble Studios set aside a whole year finetuning the controls alone for the Xbox, and it shows in the gameplay.

Skimming across the map is hardly needed...
Published on 7 May 2009 by J.J.P

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well executed RTS on a console
Overall Halo Wars is a well executed and slick real time strategy game on a console, which generally aren't well suited to such games.

Graphics, sound and the control system are all top notch, with an enjoyable and well though out single player campaign drwaing you into the Halo universe. It was great fun to command the various warthogs, marines and vehicles...
Published on 3 Jun 2009 by C. Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carefully crafted console RTS set in the critically acclaimed Halo universe, 7 May 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
On paper, Halo Wars doesn't quite look like it should work. This only adds to the surprise that this vibrant, fast-paced RTS really does deliver - despite depriving you of your beloved mouse and keyboard! Ensemble Studios set aside a whole year finetuning the controls alone for the Xbox, and it shows in the gameplay.

Skimming across the map is hardly needed most of the time, due to the simplistic shortcuts bound to the D-pad. Left cycles through your bases, up opens up the circle menu for aerial support (as the humans) or focuses the camera on your leader (as the covenant), and down toggles between unit groups. Pressing right on the D-pad showcases an innovative feature that scrolls through any new developments - such as completed upgrades, incoming attacks, and more.

Controlling the units themselves is also refreshingly straightforward. Holding down the A button causes a transparent "paintbrush" circle tool to blossom on-screen, allowing you to glide it around and group units together accordingly. Getting them from A to B is carried out by panning the camera to whereever you want them to go (or whatever you want them to shoot at/claw at/ram into/etc), and tapping X - there's support for queueing commands too, squaring up to the advanced controls boasted by PC RTS's.

The game has a slick, stylish graphics scheme, which neatly complements the manic scenes of battle it can put out. While it's not as powerful visually as its shooter cousin, it's hardly noticeable when the screen is lit up by hundreds of marines and covenant. I've yet to see the engine get bogged down or choppy, even in larger skirmishes. Which is a hell of a lot more than I can say for most PC RTS's in my experiences!

Halo Wars is, as you'd expect, fully compatible with Microsoft's premium online service Xbox Live, sporting three brackets ranging from 1v1, 2v2 and 3v3. From the week or so I've spent getting my arse handed to me on it (damn you matchmaking, damn you), I've had a great time - it really sucks you in when you've got two team mates yelping themselves hoarse with cries for aerial support, or the inevitable cheery trashtalk at the end of each game, as the other team audibly wonders where in god's name your fleet of tanks sprung up out of the ground. Or the occasional covie grunt impression that everybody has a go at, at some point in their life. Or at least, I hope it's not just me.

Overall, this is one heck of an enjoyable buy for the 360, especially if you're a fan of RTS or Halo (if you're a fan of both, jackpot!), and I heartily recommend you pick it up sometime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great distraction, 11 Nov 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Halo wars is a real time stratergy game out for Xbox 360.

Over the years halo has created a massive fan base, Halo ODST out sold Killzone 2 in one day simply for the demand for more in this series. But Halo Wars was treated with some scepticism by the hardcore halo fans. They wondered whether it would fit in, being a stratergy, into a FP universe.

Some people even started to bash the game before it came out and had a chance to prove itself. They couldn't have been more wrong. Having played the demo I fell in love with it having never touched a Stratergy in my life. I bought it and it is enjoyable.

The game apeals to the hardcore and casual. I love having my army roll, charge, fly, run across my TV, the game has scale and good graphics.

I would recomend you try the demo before you buy the game because it may not be your thing, which is fine, its just haters I don't like, who are predujice.

Good points: Career- Great story and characters, cutscenes you'll love them, good voice acting.
Skirmish- Great for long battles or quick skirmishs adds to the game like zombies to Cod5.
Multiplayer- 3v3 combat
Halo timeline- Shows all main halo events, nice feature.
Gameplay- Lots of units and varied missions, loads of tactics.
.
Bad points: Multiplayer- plagued by quitters and noobs, only two online modes.
Campaign- A couple of pointless missions
Gameplay- On Standard mode it can get a bit boring waiting for things to upgrade and produce(not a massive problem).
Downladable content- Expensive for just new game modes, not made by Ensemble (cry).

Overall 8/10 £20 is a very reasonable price, just don't be eating crisps while your waiting for your units, there could be a suprise attack at any moment. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of the actual game not the demo, 26 Feb 2009
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Just received my version in the post a day early and after spending the last few hours zoned in on the TV all I can say is, it's a great little game.

Please note i've never played the Halo games so my review is from a Gamer point of view.

It looks great, works perfectly with the 360 Control pad unlike C&C. It is easy to pick up and play and can be mastered in a very short time. It is the pick up and play game of RTS.

The basic idea (as always but even more so) is build a small army as quick as possible and head off to attack before your enemy has chance to. Doesn't seem to be too time consuming on the first few levels anyway.

One thing I will note is that while it is enjoyable I am unsure as to what the long term enjoyment level will be as I don't think it will have too much replay value on the missions.

Overall 4 stars for this easy to pick up and fun to play game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the game that most of us wanted?, 18 Jun 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
halo wars is a game i think is fantastic. i liked C&C3 but you can really tell as other reviews say this was made for 360.
the visuals are strong and sharp and despite some things such as base presentation being pre-determined, there is a suprising amount of depth in the upgrades to units and buildings alike.
pretty cut scenes tell a worthwhile addition to the existing halo mythology and most importantly... good fun gameplay and missions. i have rated this game 5 stars for being better than i expected it to be. i at time of writing have not looked too much at the online options but with online coop, team and single player death matches, it as a package appears to have what most will desire and expect in place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halo Wars so close!, 27 Feb 2009
By 
Jwharris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I got this game a day early from PC World, don't know why it was on the shelf, but anyway what a great game. Online play can be more traditional with the slow build up of your resources (standard), or it can be fast and furious in the Deathmatch mode. This game gets better and better with the more people that play, i.e. 3v3.

One disappointing thing is that you can't really build defenses around your base or choke points on the map. The game-play is more about strategy with the units, not too much on the layout of the bases. Another bad point is the fact that you can't split your army into groups which is annoying but not that important. The small unit count is not really to my liking, however, playing online with friends cancels that point out because you co-ordinate attacks with your combined armies, which is more than enough.

Overall, this is a great game and would have been the best RTS on the console if it had been tweaked slightly. The addition of another faction would have made the game amazing, with a 2v2 2v2 2v2 option. Also, a bit more fluidity with the base building and defenses and this game would have been incredible!

Graphics-9
Gameplay-8.5
Sound-9
Online-9
Campain-8.5
overall-9

But it could have been better! Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well executed RTS on a console, 3 Jun 2009
By 
C. Shaw (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo Wars (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Overall Halo Wars is a well executed and slick real time strategy game on a console, which generally aren't well suited to such games.

Graphics, sound and the control system are all top notch, with an enjoyable and well though out single player campaign drwaing you into the Halo universe. It was great fun to command the various warthogs, marines and vehicles and war machines.

The game has limited replay value as compared to say the other Halo games, but while it lasts, and if you can get this at a reduced price, I can wholeheartedly recommend it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Poor Mans Command & Conquer, 11 Mar 2009
By 
David Thompson "T FUNK 1984" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having just completed the campaign I thought I should write a review to share my thoughts. First of all I would like to say that I am not a huge Halo fan. I enjoyed Halo 3 (multiplayer, not single player) but previous Halo games did nothing for me.

They have tried to make a credible real time strategy game out of Halo and for that I applaud them, after all Halo was originally going to be a RTS before it was changed to a first person shooter. However after completing the campaign I feel this is just a dumbed down version of C&C set in the Halo universe. I have no doubt that the legions of 10 year olds who adore the Halo games will love this, in fact I can pretty much guarantee it will be a success just from the Halo name alone.

One thing of note that differs from C&C is base building. You cannot select where to build your base, you are given a set base location on which you can build various structures. This also means that building defensive structures (e.g. turrets) is very limited. You can only build 4 per base and they are set in location. I think they did this in an attempt to get players to use strategy with their units rather than overpowered base defences, unfortunately I don't think it's worked. The population cap is too low in my opinion, although you can research a perk to up it slightly this is still too low. They should have either a) allowed proper base building or B) had a bigger population cap.

Online games are pretty much all the same, whoever can quickly build the biggest amount of strong units wins. Everyone picks the covenant (mainly for the scarab unit). If playing a team game and your stuck with a player that isn't into the 'rush' tactic or is new to the game, you've lost. Simple as that.

This isn't a bad game, far from it. I enjoyed playing it to a certain extent (hence the 4* fun rating) however the base building/population cap issues along with poor online play/community left me wanting. I rented this game and I'm happy I did, if I'd have paid full retail for this I have a feeling I would be less happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good looking strategy game in the spirit of the Halo series, 24 Sep 2009
By 
M. Roach "M Roach" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A somewhat disappointing game given all the hype, and not as good as command and conquer tiberium wars. not a bad game however. My main gripe is that the low population cap and the inability to build bases and defenses where-ever you want; something I found rather frustrating. The cut scenes are very good however, and it is obvious alot of work has gone into these mini movies and designing the game itself. The scenery for the levels is generally very pleasing to the eye. Controlling units with the xbox setup was also well thought out and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Addictive RTS :), 17 Sep 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you like RTS games like command & conquer, age of empires ect.. you will LOVE this!! I think it's the best RTS i've played, you can choose from a variety of leader's from each race, customise your army and take the fight to the covenant in this prequal to the series as you fight to defend Harvest a human colony world. The style of graphics are just like the other games arbeit from an overhead camera angle & from what i've played so far it's as addictive as chocolate. If you like RTS & HALO you might enjoy this. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 10 Jun 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo Wars (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Wow! A strategy console game that actually has good controls! Its nice playing a strategy with recognisable characters and units, as well as some great newly created units. Loved the single player and skirmish offline as well as offline really increases longevity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo Wars (Xbox 360)
Halo Wars (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews