Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Tomb Raider release EVER!
Yes, this time round, Tomb Raider Anniversary really has become the much-loved game that fans have always wished for in the past few years. And after Angel Of Darkness and the fun but short Legend this is EXACTLY what we needed. This game is simply AMAZING!

Lara is back in the tombs but this time round using the Legend engine she has never moved or looked as...
Published on 4 Jun. 2007 by Kindle Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average!
this game is a good game without a doubt! i have been a TR fan for a while now and each one has to some extent blown me away (yes even angel of darkness). however this has not! its not because of the controls, the storyline or anything like that! infact its the one thing EVERY game needs, and that is fun! this game is dull, and you will find yourself praying that the game...
Published on 22 Jun. 2007 by arnold


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Tomb Raider release EVER!, 4 Jun. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2) (Video Game)
Yes, this time round, Tomb Raider Anniversary really has become the much-loved game that fans have always wished for in the past few years. And after Angel Of Darkness and the fun but short Legend this is EXACTLY what we needed. This game is simply AMAZING!

Lara is back in the tombs but this time round using the Legend engine she has never moved or looked as good. The graphics are just breathtaking and the feeling if isolation so very present. This is a remake in some respects as everything from Tomb Raider is there but it's a different take on the game altogether by bringing it completely up-to-date and offering something completely new.

Difficulty - This game is challenging!! I kid you not, there have been moments when I have thrown the controller across the room and had to take a break in fear of getting too angry and giving up. But don't let this put you off, this is exactly what Legend was lacking which made that game such a dissapointment and I am playing on hard and getting all the secrets and artifacts. You may find yourself having to try things a few times which is what annoys me but if a game annoys me then I know I'm enjoying it because I want so badly to defeat it and see what's next. We all love a challenge now don't we? Lara herself is easy and fun to control and offers a range of new moves which are all cool and some of the levels are so big you will have plenty of free range to run and explore, it's just that there are many many puzzles and difficult traps to solve and maneuver yourself through. The answers aren't there in front of you, you're left to explore and figure it all out.

New features - Lara has some new moves including a new balancing feature, which enables Lara to land on slim structures and balance before proceeding. This is included in some of the obstacles and proves challenging. I've also found that some features that were introduced in the last few games have actually become alot more useful as you will need them more in this game. As for Lara, she's back to her original outfit just over a decade older and looking and moving better than ever.

Music/Locations - These simply never fail to impress and you will be blown away by some of the details and atmospheric views you'll encounter along the way. There are some really tense and scary moments when music builds and beasts attack. I'm playing on PS2 and it's the best looking game I have played on this system to date. I can't imagine how impressed I'll be when Lara moves to the PS3.

Enemies - These have come a long way since the early days. The AI has improved with enemies communicating with each other and looking and sounding more frightening and real than ever before. You will enjoy wanting to move around in stealth more as enemies in this game don't fail to surprise you and the variety and number of enemies is larger. Depending on where you are their number varies and this game never seems predictable. Bosses aren't repetative and predictable either, you may find you have to endure a series of tasks during battle to defeat them.

Overall, this game has really returned to it's original form with so much more on top of that, you will find yourself hoping that the game doesn't end and you'll not be able to leave it alone. Hardcore Tomb Raider fans will enjoy the feeling of isolation and the huge amount of Tomb-like settings and puzzles which the very first game had but everyone should enjoy the game because it has all of this with the best up-to-date feel and look and huge amounts of fun.

The levels are a great deal longer than Legend so don't be put off getting the game in fear of it being too short. Puzzles are challenging and there's plenty of them so this also adds to play time and there's room to explore so you may find yourself on this game all day long.

The only thing I would have to complain about is that personally I love Lara when she's in locations more close to home rather than spending too much time in dusty tombs so I would have loved to have seen her travel further around the globe and more varied but I fully understand this game is a dedication to the original and is pretty large as it is, so that was never going to happen but if the next release combined this gameplay with an added 'remake' of later TR games in certain parts it would probably be the best game ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy remake, 8 Jun. 2007
By 
M. Everett "Dolly1" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2) (Video Game)
It's difficult trying to figure out what to compare Tomb Raider: Anniversary to - the original, Legend, or to just take the game as it is?

The original Tomb Raider has always been a subject of great nostalgia and was one of the first games I played on the PS. It was scary, full of surprises, but also full of wonderful sights {even though the draw distance obscured some}, namely the Sphinx, the T-Rex, and the sheer scale of St Francis' Folly. I was a little concerned how TR: Anniversary would replicate them, but I had nothing to worry about. All of the little views that I adored from the first game are here, and improved vastly. The graphics have come along way, although there will always be a fondness for the 90s blocky pixels, so now even a simple pool of water becomes breathtaking. The environments look real, and a lot of emphasis is put on the towering structures and huge waterfalls.

To leave out all mention of the music would be a crime. It is beautiful in the right places, and frightening in others. It is not overdone or interruptive, but knows when to move in. Most battles will be accompanied by a sweeping score that will probably startle you just in time for a huge hairy something to leap out, but a soft tune will increase your feeling of awe as you stare at something shiny. Great stuff ^^

Lara herself has been smoothed out and updated, and the old costume is back. She still wields her dual pistols, but will also find some new weapons along the way.

The combat system is the same as Legend's, although now with the inclusion of an Adrenaline Dodge feature, which enables you to finish off enemies quicker if you time it just right. It also looks very cool. The movements are fluid and there is something very satisfying about reloading your pistols after doing battle with a pack of wolves and coming out on top.

There are a couple of new moves; the wall-run and the ability to jump on top of posts. The levels, having been expanded somewhat, now consist of a lot of climbing. They're fun to perform, watching Lara leap around like a monkey, but not without their frustration.

You can spend 10 minutes climbing to the top of a pillar or room, only to slip and end up either plummeting to your death or worse yet, fall back to the bottom and have to begin again. After attempting the same series of jumps over and over it can get boring. Sometimes the camera angles don't help - if it's positioned wrongly, the directions all seem to change which can make for some really infuriating mistakes. At these times, I had to switch off the game and come back to it later.

Aside from some minor fiddly bits with the controls, there are no deadly glitches or bad programming. It all flows well.

There are parts that I recognized from the original game, and many that I didn't. The puzzles, in particular, were new. They're challenging in their own right, and often require close attention to detail, a welcome step-up from Legend's linear gameplay. There is less of the 'go here, find this key, pull this lever, use the key' formula that may have dominated in the original.

I did feel that the game was a lot shorter than the first, despite the fact that only a couple of levels were omitted. I wasn't sure if this was done on purpose, and was necessary for the Time Trials, or if perhaps it was because I played it for too long each day. =P Still, there's plenty to do once you've beaten it once. There are secrets to look out for in each level, which in turn unlock special rewards. Some of the requirements to get these secrets are fiendish and may have you trying for ages. Which isn't really a bad thing.

There is also the return of Croft Manor - a visit to Lara's home, where you can practice your moves and generally be nosy. This isn't all, however; Croft Manor is a level in its own right, and you may find your snooping uncovers some interesting puzzles.

Some plus points, in comparison to Legend, are that the terrible headset has gone. This means the isolated atmosphere is back, which is particularly apparent in some of the twisting, empty corridors, where the only sound is the wind whispering and the growling of some unknown beast in the distance ... O.O

There were some scares in Anniversary. I don't think the enemy placement was as ingenious as in the original, but the clever use of bats on high ledges is always something to smile at {if you can smile when falling fifty feet off a platform}. There is an ample variety of creatures to do battle with, about the same as in the first game, but some of the bigger opponents are classed into boss battles. They're more intelligent than the average shoot-them-to-death idea. You have to often utilize the things around you or discover weak spots for yourself.

I think in comparison to Legend, TR: Anniversary is a definite and vast improvement. The graphics and moves are all but the same, but now they've been mixed with more substance and more of the old Tomb Raider style it makes for a better game. In comparison to the original, I believe it accomplishes what it set out to do. It is a neat commemoration of the first game, including some of the most beloved parts and adding new surprises too. If Anniversary was a stand-alone game, it would still be an enjoyable experience. People new to the Tomb Raider series should have as much fun playing TR:A as the veterans.

I'm pleased with the work Crystal Dynamics have put into the game. They did everything right. Maybe a TR2 remake could be next...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TR Anniversary for PS2, 20 Jan. 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2) (Video Game)
Yes!!!!!!!!!!! This is what I was after! The first TR I ever played was TR3 - the first instalment with water ripples, the ability to shimmy around corners, and the improved menu interface. The sound, the looks, the puzzles, the moves - all were great. The downside was you had to find hidden save crystals to save progress and they were few and far between. The result was that if you died you could find yourself repeating much of the level again. That ruined the game.

With TR Anniversary, there are automatic save points at sensible intervals and you can save your progress at any time to an in level checkpoint. Of course, you can pause the game too. So, great, now the game should be perfect, especially with the old style TR3 menu interface back again. However, certain elements are missing that I loved: the ability to tumble on the spot to face the opposite direction; jump head over heels to the side; crouch; sprint, find save crystals; and use a variety of weapons. The first two abilities in this list really permitted battle sequences to flow relatively smoothly, which they no longer do. All these elements are missing. Also, now when you kill a creature it disappears almost instantly, so you don't get an opportunity to inspect it and admire its beauty.

I found this game orders of magnitude easier than TR3 because of the improved save options, perhaps also because I know what I'm looking for: edges that catch the light, straight edges to grab and hang from, poles to perch on, slopes to slide and jump from, crates/stones to push or pull, switches to push/pull or shoot. I guess that if you didn't know about these things, making any progress would be VERY slow and frustrating - no fun.

This game introduces a new move: the adrenaline dodge. This gives the player the ability to slow time and perform moves in slow motion during a high speed combat situation. This works a treat and is a great addition. However, there is nothing in the manual or in the game to tell you how to do it successfully. YOU NEED TO HOLD DOWN THE L1 BUTTON while performing the adrenaline dodge!!! Why that is not mentioned in the instruction manual, I can't imagine. Someone messed up big time. Without this knowledge, you will find you cannot progress beyond the first level, when you meet dinosaurs in Peru.

I have played TR Legend. That looked nice but was a disappointment. I can safely say that this is the best TR since TR3. Now all I need is a remake of TR3. Why that hasn't happened, I can't imagine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but frustrating, 14 July 2007
By 
Mr. S. J. Welton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2) (Video Game)
Everyone that has played TR since the beginning has been looking forward to the next one and I only stumbled across this one after having been disappointed with the Angel of Darkenss balls-up and not that excited about Legend. This one looked pretty decent though: we're back to the original TR and all those memories of being round my mate's house on his PS1 running around and getting scared at the cool sounds came flooding back!

Anniversary is a decent game - it looks fantastic, sounds fantastic, but the frustration you can get from playing the game can overshadow this. It's largely down to the controls and camera angles - which aren't bad at all most of the time, but some of the tasks you have to perform (grappling, wall-run, timed-courses, timing jumps, not landing on poles etc, getting knocked off ledges) take away a bit too much of the fun and effects the flow of the game. Falling and dying and waiting for it to load again can wear on your sanity a bit. Once you manage to master it though (a bit of luck in some cases!) and finally get through a particular section, it's a relief on one hand but you'll not want to have to go through all the aggro of doing it again, which is a great shame because this effects the replay value.

Croft Manor is pretty good and it's satisfying playing through that. There are some nice bonues in there and you'll want to replay through it all to get all the things you might have missed the first time. But again it's that frustration that you get from facing certain obstacles that might put you off.

A great game though - looks great, sounds fantastic, controls pretty well but let down by some hugely frustrating sections. To sum it up: anyone have a level-skip cheat?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best since the first! (actually, it is the first!), 25 Jun. 2007
By 
M. Schutz "Chickje" (Leiden, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2) (Video Game)
Tomb Raider Anniversary is a remake of the first Tomb Raider Game. Crystal Dynamics really nailed it with the feel of this title. If you have played the original Tomb Raider on the PS1, you will recognise all the great set-pieces. The scale is much larger than Tomb Raider Legend and the whole game takes place in tombs, temples and pyramids. Awesome for boys who grew up with Indiana Jones!

The first two thirds of this adventure are really well paced, but in Egypt, it ramps up the difficulty. There are a few unfair traps, but you manage to beat them after 10 tries.

The Good:

+ Great Graphics

+ Good control (most of the time)

+ Decent length (12 to 15 hours)

+ It actually feels like the first Tomb Raider

+ Superb placing of checkpoints, means little to no backtracking after dying!

The Bad:

- Some really annoying traps near the end. Expect to die A LOT!

- Camera gets in the way a few times and then the controls don't work how you would expect them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average!, 22 Jun. 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2) (Video Game)
this game is a good game without a doubt! i have been a TR fan for a while now and each one has to some extent blown me away (yes even angel of darkness). however this has not! its not because of the controls, the storyline or anything like that! infact its the one thing EVERY game needs, and that is fun! this game is dull, and you will find yourself praying that the game would just move along, the first few levels are in a word amazing but its when you reach Egypt that it goes downhill. you be forced to repeat so many tiny bits just because the camera wont let you see what your meant to see! after every puzzle you are shown another one and another and at one point you have to do the SAME puzzle but in a different room! a missed chance but still worth the play, just make sure not to pay too much cos that aint worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This game is far too difficult!, 14 Dec. 2009
By 
Sj Winteringham "Swap029" (York,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2) (Video Game)
Got stuck somewhere on the Egypt level trying to wall walk a high wall in a room with high crumbling pillars in the middle of it to get to the other side of the room. I tried this about a hundred times and just gave up in the end. I like to play games for the most fundamental reason which is, it is supposed to be "fun" and "enjoyable". This game starts off in this vein but then it just gets harder and harder and harder, until it becomes too impossible to continue. Waste of money. I only got about halfway through it and did well to get that far. Wish i had never bought it. Be advised stay well clear and this is from someone who has played all the TR games and enjoyed playing each and every one of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing game!, 22 Jun. 2007
By 
J. Johnston (Carryduff, Northern Ireland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2) (Video Game)
I admit. I'm addicted to it. But how can you blame me? Its an absolutely amazing game!
Do you remember the good old days whenever TR just game out? You spent hours upon hours trying out find the way out of a certain area or trying to make a nearly impossible jump.
But all of that's over now! Eidos have re-released TR and made it into a superb and visually satisfying game.
Join Lara as she swings her way through the Valley's of Peru, The temple of St Francis Folly in Greece, A great Pyramid in Egypt, to the great pyramid of Atlantis.
The game will keep you captivated for hours and days and weeks! Not at all like Legend! Worth the £.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Remake, 1 Dec. 2010
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2) (Video Game)
There's an interesting story regarding the development of Tomb Raider Anniversary, a remake of the 1996 PSone game, Tomb Raider. In 2006 the game was originally gonna be developed by Core Design who made the PSone Tomb Raiders, suggesting that Eidos were prepared to give Core another chance after the disastrous Angel Of Darkness game.

Then the project was cancelled. Then a few days later Eidos said the project was back on, though this time it was being developed by Crystal Dynamics, who made Tomb Raider Legend. Finally, after much confusion, Tomb Raider Anniversary was released on PS2 in June 2007 with the PSP version released in August of the same year.

In case you're new to the Tomb Raider scene, and have never played the original game before, let me fill you in. Lara Croft is an athletic, intelligent (not to mention attractive) archaeologist-adventurer who has discovered many artifacts and graced the front cover of several Archaeology magazines. For this adventure Lara has been hired by Jacqueline Natla, a wealthy businesswoman and owner of Natla Technologies, to recover an artifact known as the Scion. The adventure sees Lara traveling around the globe, searching the depths of ancient tombs for this artifact.

Crystal Dynamics have done a good job with Anniversary. The developers have thought long and hard about how to present this remake, and have come up with a game that not only pays tribute to the original, but also introduces some new ideas to make it feel like a fresh game that's never been played before.

Like the original Tomb Raider, Anniversary features Croft Manor. This place acts as something of a training level. Here you can check out the rooms, solve some puzzles and collect rewards (a little more on those later). Lara's home is based on the same design featured in Tomb Raider Legend with a few modifications, like a back garden. It's OK, but I prefer the mansion featured in TR1, 2 and 3. That mansion was much bigger and made you feel like you could go anywhere. This Anniversary one feels like living in a money deposit box. Awfully cramped.

Onto the actual game. This being a PS2 and PSP game Anniversary has been updated in several departments. The graphics of course are more detailed and realistic, as are Lara's movements, and several cutscenes have been added or updated for a more movie-like experience.

But Tomb Raider veterens will still recognize elements from the original game. For example: Lara climbing to the top of the doorway and pressing a button to open up the cave in Peru; although you actually have to do this yourself, unlike the original where it was just a cutscene. There have been a couple of line changes in the remake; but it still follows the same story as the original game as well as having similar scenes, like Lara interrogating Larson regarding the whereabouts of the other Scion pieces. The remake also recaptures the uneasy feeling of being alone in the tombs. There's no radio head set. There's no Zip or Alister to keep you company. It's just you, Lara and a tomb, just like the old PSone days.

To make the game feel more modern Crystal Dynamics have inserted features from their previous game, Tomb Raider Legend, as well as a couple of original ideas. The grappling hook makes a return, as do the cutscenes where you have to press certain face buttons quickly and at the right time to avoid instant death. The main new idea for this game is the Adrenaline Dodge. When Lara shoots certain enemies they'll become enraged and charge at her. When this happens the game goes into slow motion, and at this point you need to press the circle button and move the analogue stick in any direction to dive out of the way. Whilst diving wait for a target reticule to aim at the head of the enemy, and when it turns red you can perform a head shot and kill it instantly. The move actually looks pretty cool, especially when you've mastered the move and can kill enemies with it regularly.

Tomb Raider Anniversary is a big game, and it'll be a while before you get to see the ending. But there's plenty of replay value to be found even when you do complete it. The time trial mode makes a return from Legend, and several rewards (in the form of silver statues) and relics can be found hidden in the levels. The successful completion and location of these things will unlock extras in the main menu, like new costumes and character biographies.

In conclusion Tomb Raider Anniversary is a game that's ideal for everyone. Hardcore Tomb Raider fans will feel nostalgic playing through the same story and levels they conquered once before. Newcomers will find enough new features in this game that will make them feel not-so left out on the whole Tomb Raider phenomenon. Being a 90's guy I still prefered the original PSone game (it has sentimental value) but Anniversary is a worthy remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN ABSOLUTE AMAZING GAME!!!!, 30 July 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2) (Video Game)
I've always been a fan of the Tomb Raider games so was really anticipating this release... and I was not dissapointed! Infact its much better than I expected.

I never got the chance to play the original and so have always wondered what all the hype was about, but after playing this I now know why the original was so popular and addictive! There's just got to be something about this particular adventure that makes this game so SPECIAL! The gameplay and controls are much improved from the earlier games (similar to Legend) which did get dead annoying at times. The levels are nice and long which is the way they should be, the puzzles are excellent and very interesting, the environments and all the animals are also superb, and finally the graphics in my opinion aren't far from PS3 graphics. I also like this game as it makes you stop and think and make you use your brain, while you work your way through each level.

At times I just had to stop, sit back and think to myself 'Wow what a game', as it really is breath taking.

The checkpoints are all in the right places so this saves hours and hours of frustration and there's also not too many boss fights which I found slightly annoying in Legend. Through most of the game your on your own and exploring a virtual world, where you really do feel the sense of isolation. The enemies are mostly animals and the adrenaline dodge is quite fun once you get used to it. They really have found the right balance of action and exploring in this game, which is one of the reasons why I really enjoyed this, also the fact that it is quite hard and so when you have completed a level you really feel like you have achieved something.

I love this game so much and in my opinion is possibly the BEST GAME I'VE PLAYED, its kept me busy since its relase date, I'm now near the end and just don't want the adventure to end! I'm now looking to play the original once I've completed Anniversary!

I strongly recommend this game to all gamers but especially Tomb Raider fans and if you like adventure games. If your new to Tomb Raider I recommend you play Tomb Raider Legend first as this will help you get used to the controls/gameplay and is alot easier and much shorter. Then finally buy this and enjoy the FANTASTIC ADVENTURE.

A MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2)
Tomb Raider: Anniversary (PS2) by Eidos (PlayStation2)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews