Customer Reviews


250 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new but entertaining.
Ubisoft seem to have promoted Assassin's Creed as a stealth game, which would make a lot of sense seeing as the main character is a medieval assassin but let's get this straight, the stealth elements are underwhelming and what you have instead is a beautiful, quirky action/platform game with a compelling story.

The majority of assassin's Creed puts you in...
Published on 18 Nov 2007 by G. Cossins

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gobsmacking Graphics; Gameplay is Like a Smack in the Gob
Assassins Creed gets top marks for style. The graphics are astounding and everything about it is just so slick, even down to the loading screen. For the first hour or so of playing the game you'll be perfectly happy just wandering around and basking in how gorgeous everything looks.

However, the gameplay itself is somewhat lacking. Assassins creed bascially...
Published on 3 Jan 2008 by J. Patching


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new but entertaining., 18 Nov 2007
By 
G. Cossins "Wallet" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ubisoft seem to have promoted Assassin's Creed as a stealth game, which would make a lot of sense seeing as the main character is a medieval assassin but let's get this straight, the stealth elements are underwhelming and what you have instead is a beautiful, quirky action/platform game with a compelling story.

The majority of assassin's Creed puts you in control of Altair, moody badass and Hashshashin extraordinaire. Altair fumbles an important job for the guild and is stripped of his rank/ability faster than you can say `Super Metroid' and from there on must prove his worth by assassinating nine of the key figures responsible for prolonging the crusades. Controlling Altair is pretty intuitive and it only takes a few minutes to get to grips with the controls. Expect to have as much fun climbing up buildings as in `Crackdown', running across rooftops is very rewarding and gives an impressive feeling of speed and Fighting plays a lot like a rhythm-action mini game.

Each assassination is made up of a few steps, first you must travel to the city on horseback. These over-world sections feel a little bit under developed and whereas the horse riding mechanics are fun, they don't really add much to the game. It would have been nice to see a few secrets around the map but as they are these sections resemble those in `Shadow of the Colossus' or `Gun' more than they do `The Legend of Zelda'. Once you arrive at the city you will have a few tasks to complete, firstly you need to seek out tall structures, ascend them and survey the land. This will allow you to see more of the map and cause side missions to show up on you HUD. The side missions are undertaken in order to gain information about your mark and in some cases to make the job easier.

These side missions take the form of assassinating guards, eavesdropping, pick pocketing, rescuing citizens from guard brutality and oddly, hopping above the city in timed flag collecting races. They seem to have come under a lot of fire from reviewers but the repetition didn't really bother me a lot. I'll be honest, this isn't `Oblivion', you can expect to hear the same lines over and over again and the challenge or variety never really increases as the game progresses. It would have been nice to see some real depth and variety here but they are what they are and most have some aspect which is fun. My favourite were probably the flag races which reminded me of Ubisoft's other Fall platformer `Naruto: Rise of a Ninja'. There are precious few of these races, largely due to the problems of implementing them into the game narrative. There are only a few times that you can use `Erm... I lost a bunch of flags, can you get them for me before... a generic event happens'.

I found the actual assassinations to be a lot of fun, most only really involve going to point A, watching a cut-scene, running up and putting a blade through the target's face then legging it back to the Assassin's Bureau. This will obviously annoy those anticipating a more cerebral take on killing. I'm sure that it's possible to put more thought into the kills but the game doesn't really encourage or reward it and `Hitman' it aint.

Graphically the game looks amazing; it renders huge densely populated areas without really struggling. Just climb to the top of one of the towers and you'll feel overwhelmed by what the developers have managed to pull off. I noticed a handful of small glitches as I played such as texture pop-in, and screen ripping but nothing that hindered my enjoyment of the game. Similarly I experienced a couple of stutters while loading areas but I can count the number of times on one hand.

The voice work was largely professional, Altair sounds a bit too much like Troy McLure and a few of the NPCs are a tad on the `wacky' side but it's entertaining rather than aggravating. There was music there but I can't really remember it which is usually a good thing in soundtracks. Presumably it supported the action rather than intrude upon it. All in all the sound was adequately done with a couple of stellar moments such as Kirsten Bell's performance as Lucy.

Without spoiling what is an admittedly poorly kept secret there are some small adventure chapters that link the sections of the main game and add a twist to the story. I strongly advise players to make the most of these sections as they provide likeable rounded characters, an interesting mystery and hint at the direction of future installments of the franchise. Depending on how much work you put in these sections will either be slow paced and boring or fascinating and you can't skip them so it's up to you to make the most of them. Explore the rooms, use the computers and rummage through emails, I think that fans of TV shows like `Lost' will be well pleased with the overall direction of the story.

Overall Assassin's Creed is a solid action-platformer with next-gen looks and last-gen gameplay. I personally enjoyed it a lot but it doesn't really bring anything new to the table and reminds me of a number of existing games. It also leans a little bit to the easy side and offers little immediate replay value. There are numerous flags to collect but Ubisoft have taken the cheap option and bagging each set will only unlock an achievement. Gamers expecting a world changing experience will be disappointed but I suggest that anybody interested in the genre, setting or those frustrated by a lack of complexity in Video Game narrative pick this one up.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Repetitive' is an oversimplification, 4 Sep 2009
By 
Sarah Larsen (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I can't really expand on what has been said before, essentially this is a combination of Mirror's edge and Tenchu, freerunning combined with stealth. Although repetitive, I found the game very compelling, the storyline is rather detailed, maybe too much so, and not allowing you to skip over dialogue is tedious at times. The game is also very, very, very annoying. The character you control will get stuck on small boxes, react strangely, and jump in odd directions. The AI can be awful, they seem to see through walls sometimes and can be very hard to escape. When trying to use stealth by walking slowly past guards, you'll probably be attacked time and again by a drunk or loony, which for some inexplicable reason causes the guards to attack you; very frustrating.

But there are good points; the game is rewarding, the storyline unfolds and is quite deep, this is probably better for adults, but paradoxically, for adults with a lot of time on their hands. I finished the storyline 100% in a little over two days, but if I had to spread this over several weeks I'd have got bored a lot quicker. The achievements are extremely rewarding and just the right level of difficulty, bear in mind you have to collect around 500 different flags from around the various parts of the kingdom to get 1000G in this game, also don't forget to talk to lucy after every single level for one of the achievements. The levels are constructed to allow you to bounce from beam to wall to roof in fluid motions, although you're always guaranteed to fall off eventually it's a lot of fun escaping guards in this manner.

If you like 'hidden package' type games (although most games are these days), deep storylines, a reasonable challenge and gamerscore then I would recommend this.

It's funny how many people moan about repetition when the majority of gamers these days spend 100's of hours on games like Halo 3, Call of Duty and Gears of War, all of which invlove shooting people over and over on the same maps, with the same weapons, with no storyline whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gobsmacking Graphics; Gameplay is Like a Smack in the Gob, 3 Jan 2008
By 
J. Patching "panzer-attack" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Assassins Creed gets top marks for style. The graphics are astounding and everything about it is just so slick, even down to the loading screen. For the first hour or so of playing the game you'll be perfectly happy just wandering around and basking in how gorgeous everything looks.

However, the gameplay itself is somewhat lacking. Assassins creed bascially consists of 5 or 6 "sub-games" (such as pick-pocketing or flag collecting) that you have to complete again and again.

And again and again.

And again.

It gets very repetetive and strangely doesn't seem to get any harder as the game progresses. These little tasks can be fun enough if you only play the game in short bursts but play for any sustained amount of time and you'll quickly get bored.

I won't be giving anything away by mentioning the twist that the game has as it's revealed in the first scene. Your character is actually in the present day and is experiencing his ancestor's memories through the use of a machine called the Animus. This concept is fair enough, but the present day scenes are just so poorly done. They jarringly pull you out of the action of the 12th century only to make you sit through a long and boring bit of dialogue that is un-skipable. You're then left to wander around a featureless office basically until you walk into your bedroom and click on the bed to go to sleep - why make you do this every time?

The developers have obviously gone to a lot of trouble to keep the game world looking historically acurate which makes it all the more bizarre when you are given tasks such as "I've left 30 flags scattered around the city - go collect them for me in 30 seconds".

All in all the game looks amazing, is moderately fun in small doses but given the game's potential it's ultimately pretty disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 9 July 2008
By 
Simon Daultrey "g3fan" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have actually found this game really enjoyable and I would thoroughly recommend it for it's different feel. It should be noted that it is a single player title with no Xbox Live or multiplayer integration at all, but this is no bad thing....at least it means all efforts have been channelled into making the game good.

Ubi Soft would obviously claim that Assassin's Creed has been built "from the ground up", but it's roots are clearly in the Tom Clancy's titles, especially Splinter Cell. This means you get decent physics, stunning lighting and quality textures on a richly 3D map, plus a solid, well thought-out story.

You play as Desmond Myles, descendent of Altair (al-tie-ear), who has inherited the memory of his ancestors through his DNA. These memories are sought out by a scientific reserach group who are after a lost treasure from ancient times. It's your role to access and play out these memories of ancient times, and in doing so you spend most of your time carrying out the tasks of Altair in the 'simulated' ancient realm.

This all happens in the time of King Richard, between the cities of Damascus (Turkey), Jerusalem, and Acre (England I think), with an expansive rural 'kingdom' connecting the cities, which you cross on horseback!

The combat is all about swords and knives and archery.....no grenades and rocket launchers here....so fights with city guards and the like tend to be pretty intense. The games' big feature is free running; you can scale pretty much anything and leap from roof top to roof top in an effort to disappear.

This is where you can see the re-use of Splinter Cell code....it's all about being low or high profile. If you are discreet you can pass through the cities unnoticed, blending with the crowds and not attracting the attention of any roof guards. Climbing ladders gets you to the rooftops where you can move around more freely, but as you would expect, it gets harder as the game progresses to not attract unwanted attention.

So like Splinter Cell where you use light and shade to control how visible you are, in Assassin's Creed you use discreet and non-discreet behaviour in the same way.

I've found this particularly enjoyable in Assassin's Creed, as you can change the pace of the game in an instant, whenever you like, and it makes the in-between times less tedious as you don't have to creep around everywhere.

There's plenty of side missions and objectives that are well worth doing, and a good haul of gamerscore points available, and also as you progress through the game, you unlock new weapons and abilities. Without this the game would probably get too repetative too quickly, but with this built-in control over your progress it actually helps you develop your skill at controlling Altair's actions.

As you spend more and more time playing, you will find that you can move around the environment much, much faster, and it's at this point where I've been disappointed at how regularly the game/disc has to catch up. It's only perhaps half a second that it hangs for, but it still messes with the flow, and I think it's a symptom of Ubisoft games, where they rush to meet a deadline and release a game with a few unfortunately obvious bugs. It's the same with the Rainbow Six Vegas and Ghost Recon AW stuff.

My only other complaint, as others have mentioned, is that they only recorded one set of dialogue for people that you re-encounter, so for example, when you save a citizen they'll say the same thing the last citizen said in a different city. For the sake of a couple of minutes of extra audio, it would have made a big difference.

Despite these negative points, I still give the game my full recommendation as it's a really fresh approach to 3rd person role-playing action adventure stuff, and the free running is really cool and well done.

The concept lends itself to a franchise, and it'd be great to see a sequel set somewhere different, like feudal Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I had to come back for more, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Bruce Mackay (Amsterdam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was pretty fresh on Xbox when I played this first installment in the series. After finishing the game I went on to AC2, Brotherhood, Revelations, and AC3, along the way catching the achievements bug. But I hadn't tried to get all the achievements on AC1. So I went back and now am picking off the last remaining achievements. The flag finding ones are actually kind of tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creed, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
What can I say, great series. This game in particular I believe to be the worst of the series with its constant repetition. That being said it is still quite a good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, good gaming, 16 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
When I bought this game I already heard so much about it that I bought the AC2 together with it.

It was a fulfilled promise - the story is very, very interesting and it feels in the beggining that it has lots of potential.

The gameplay takes a while to get used to - this is not your 3rd person shooter, but a very cool kill-them-and-escape-the-guards type of game. Running on the roof-tops is brilliant. Way to go taking the game to a higher-level (pun intended).

Having already the remaining 3 of the series, I still say that this game is a MUST if you want to have an in-depth liking of the story, which I have to say again is great.

The character Altair is likeable and you get to... oh well, don't want to spoil it for first-time players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top banana, 24 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this game is amazing, i highly recomend this game to all gamers and the following instalments as a must buy game/s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars See through these ridiculous 1 star reviews!!!, 5 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Jal Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok, the quick low down is this:

1. The game had amazing graphics for it's time which are still good now.
2. The physics are great and were innovative on day of release.
3. The game is repetitive but I found after playing it for 4 hours and waiting till the next day to play it again I would crave more.
4. The story is gripping and the character is cool and you feel like an assassin unlke in the sequel.
5. Great ending to compliment a great story.
6. Completely unique.
7. This game was the basis for a brilliant sequel and despite the fact that the sequel kinda sucks this is something people should take into account.
8. The controls are spot on and very comfortable.
9. The combat is fluid and feels good of which a lot of games fail on.
10. Fair enough there could have been more to do but it was a new IP (new game) in its day and most new IP's aren't packed full of content due to shorter developing time.

All those who rated this 1 star are insane, especially if you consider the fact that nearly all of them worshiped its graphics and physics therefore making no sense to give it a 1 star rating. Just in case these peeps have forgotten what a 1 star rating means, it means that the game basically fails on near all accounts aka graphics,physics,gameplay,plot,characters,diversity,design etc.. so in saying how the graphics and physics can't be faulted you cannot technically rate this game anything lower than a 2/3star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best game ever, 4 Oct 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a very good game but it can take alot of getting used to. You might find it good are you might find it boring but you get to assanaite enyone. At times the game gets hard but when you figuer it out its realy good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360)
Assassin's Creed (Xbox 360) by Ubisoft (Xbox 360)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews