Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For that price worth a look
Being an owner of the PRG 120 ( 3071 case) for 2 years , I had to look for an successor as I faltered the display of that watch to less than 20 % contrast after exposing it to a lamp to closely over too long a period of hours.

But still loving the shape and the features I looked for a new one and found the PRW 1300 for nearly the same price as payed for the...
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by Grainger

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy
Well named, "Tough Solar" tough meaning tough you do not have any battery left!
Had this watch two months and so far it has only worked on holiday in Turkey. In cold and not so sunny UK & Holland it just sits on low battery and refuses any functions except basic time. This is the worst investment I have ever made. Have not contacted seller as I doubt they would...
Published 7 months ago by Meshkute


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For that price worth a look, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Casio Men's Digital Watch PRW-1300-1VER With Pro-Trek Solar Powered Triple Sensor Radio Controlled Resin Strap (Watch)
Being an owner of the PRG 120 ( 3071 case) for 2 years , I had to look for an successor as I faltered the display of that watch to less than 20 % contrast after exposing it to a lamp to closely over too long a period of hours.

But still loving the shape and the features I looked for a new one and found the PRW 1300 for nearly the same price as payed for the PRG 120 2 years ago. ( They are sister models , difference is just the waveceptor functionality)

Using that watch in business as in private ( sauna, swimming, running) I have to confess that this PRO TREK series is really good for the gentle and the rough.

Even the often unliked wanted resin strap I like very much because it shows very low signs of wear after that strong usage all the time.

The rest of the features everybody has to decide for himself.
This combination of digital watch,solar powered, not bulky ( just 11.3 mm height) , waveceptor feature, 100 m waterres. and all the rest of good sports watch features is hard to find elsewhere.
I would only get weak for those new 5000 series of casio in which they tend to come back to analogue watches. But then it's still a fight against other classical /flight watches (those with H3 dots I like too) which Casio has to win.
But this is another developing story, yet.

Final Comment
Altimeter, compass, temperature features have to be discussed anyway.
I don't rate them very high for reasons lots of other comments of other useres /buyers already gave evidence. Nice gadgets but not more.
At least the compass can be used easily to give you a rough estimation for your bearing.
If you realy need such measures : better to have something more reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd one, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Digital Watch PRW-1300-1VER With Pro-Trek Solar Powered Triple Sensor Radio Controlled Resin Strap (Watch)
I lost the first watch and replaced it with the same model. The compass and altimeter are a great backup if you should ever lose your gear when your in the wild ( which is the reason I got one in the first place )

The radio reception works in Europe and the US perfectly.

The solar panel works well. I lost my first watch down the side of a car seat and several months later found it again completely dead. I just left it in the window for a couple of hours and it was back up and running perfectly.

The thermometer will measure your wrist skin temperature unless you take the watch off and leave it for a while.

Overall this is a great watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Digital Watch PRW-1300-1VER With Pro-Trek Solar Powered Triple Sensor Radio Controlled Resin Strap (Watch)
I destroyed (my fault) my Protrek PR230 and debated getting another until I researched the PRW-1300. It does everything - and more - that my previous Casio did but looks much neater. At least I can wear it with long sleeve shirts or when wearing a suit. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as promissed, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Digital Watch PRW-1300-1VER With Pro-Trek Solar Powered Triple Sensor Radio Controlled Resin Strap (Watch)
I live right in the middle of Bulgaria, south from the Balkan mountain, which is just outside the 1500 km line from the transmitter in Germany. If I leave the watch outside the house, like balcony or window it manages to adjust itself automatically almost every night. Compass works great outside big cities, altimeter is not always accurate even when manually calibrated. Overall the watch performs great and i never regret buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Radio Control ???????, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Digital Watch PRW-1300-1VER With Pro-Trek Solar Powered Triple Sensor Radio Controlled Resin Strap (Watch)
This is the first proper multi-function watch with really useful good points. The Barometer,Altometer and compass are very helpful. With all these extras and its chunky appearance I was completely surprised how light and comfortable it was. A really good buy with the added bonus of being solar powered. "Thank goodness no more batteries".

However !!! one warning ! I live in Spain on the Costa Blanca and according to the information provided, in range of the radio transmitters though on the fringe. Not so ! I cannot get time calibration and have never had a signal strength reading of any sort. Okay the watch time is very accurate and one can adjust to the second manually but anybody living in this longtitude forget radio control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Digital Watch PRW-1300-1VER With Pro-Trek Solar Powered Triple Sensor Radio Controlled Resin Strap (Watch)
Well named, "Tough Solar" tough meaning tough you do not have any battery left!
Had this watch two months and so far it has only worked on holiday in Turkey. In cold and not so sunny UK & Holland it just sits on low battery and refuses any functions except basic time. This is the worst investment I have ever made. Have not contacted seller as I doubt they would accept a return after two months. Sorry to say but this watch is not fit for purpose at all. Avoid it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Digital Watch PRW-1300-1VER With Pro-Trek Solar Powered Triple Sensor Radio Controlled Resin Strap (Watch)
I bought this for 107 a great price. I bought it for when I walk in the mountains. But I wear it all the time. Most of all I like knowing the time is accurate to 1 second and that I do not have to buy batteries. The barometer helps to predict the days weather and the compass is easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great specification, but alarms too quiet, 14 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Casio Men's Digital Watch PRW-1300-1VER With Pro-Trek Solar Powered Triple Sensor Radio Controlled Resin Strap (Watch)
Bought this watch for (in order of priority): 1) waterproof 2) high accuracy with radio controlled timekeeping 3) solar charging 4) digital compass 5) alarms & countdown timer 6) altimeter, 7) thermometer, 8) barometer.

First impressions were of very well engineered product, full of functionality. It looked to fulfil my requirements of keeping accurate time and no need to worry about battery power with solar charging (subject to battery lifetime), plus all the other bells & whistles. However, the big let-down was the pathetic alarm volume and duration. The alarms were too quiet and just about audible in a quiet room and only lasted about 8 secs. Not enough to attract attention even when awake. No guarantee of hearing these even with a low level of background noise. I've had cheaper casios with alarms that were much, much better. Another annoyance was the display illumination that would only stay on about 2 secs; not long enough to focus on the figures in the dark.

In summary: a great watch but let down by not getting some basics right for satisfactory usability. I would have loved to have played with all the functions (extensively covered in other reviews) but returned it to amazon because of the aforementioned shortfalls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hiking Watch, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Men's Digital Watch PRW-1300-1VER With Pro-Trek Solar Powered Triple Sensor Radio Controlled Resin Strap (Watch)
Love this watch. The radio timing gets picked up okay in Ireland, you just have to set your location to London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Resin Case lets this watch down big time !!, 8 April 2014
This review is from: Casio Men's Digital Watch PRW-1300-1VER With Pro-Trek Solar Powered Triple Sensor Radio Controlled Resin Strap (Watch)
Bought my model about three years ago. It was really good for a couple of years but alas the case has just not lived up to casio's normal reputation. First the springs which held the metal strap broke, and alothough I replaced with heavier duty ones the holding points gradually broke off. As it is a resin case it can not really be relied upon if you lead a active outdoor life. If this watch had a stainless steel case it would be perfect but I cannot now wear it as one of the holding points completely broken and the other one hanging on by a thread. The case has also become worn as the outer layer has wporn through use.

Other points from my ownership. The temperature mode is of no use whilst on your wrist. You have to take off otherweise it picks up your body heat. The atomic clock works perfectly and even in India it picked up a beacon. Compass seemed accurate enough. The altimeter was really a bit of a fiddle so never used. The battery which a number of reviewers mentioned can become a problem does sort of limp through the winter months often at minuimum level which means automatically a number of features become inoperative to save the basic workings of the watch. If you take it off it goes into hibernation and even afte 6 months of not wearing it came on the other day when I found it in the drawer. In the summer it does keep its charge quite well but you do need to make sure it has access to sunlight and not hidden under shirt cuffs. I sometimes took it off for a couple of days and left in a sunny position to recharge. Note there is not other way to charge battery.

In summary, the internals of this watch are probably all anyone would need in this type of watch but it is rerally let down by a very flimsy and easily damaged case. Stick to stainless stell even if slightly heavirer. I would probably steer clear of resin cases in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews