Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TIPPING THE SCALES OF POWER WITH YOUR KNIFE
This is on of the most anticipated games to be ported to PCs. For this, the Director's Cut edition was produced, adding some content over the console versions (mostly rooftop action missions), and care was taken to make the gamepad to keyboard/mouse-transition as seamless as possible. For the most part it was successful.

This is a TREMENDOUSLY BEAUTIFULLY GAME...
Published on 13 April 2008 by NeuroSplicer

versus
31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not brilliant
Ok first off i've played the pc version and with DX10 and its stunning....no arguments there!!Its partly being sold as a stealth game but it's really not.As you go up through the levels more skills and equipment become avaliable to you which makes killing your enemies even easier than it was in the first place.That being said means the game actually gets easier the the...
Published on 8 April 2008 by I. Hirst


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TIPPING THE SCALES OF POWER WITH YOUR KNIFE, 13 April 2008
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition (PC) (Video Game)
This is on of the most anticipated games to be ported to PCs. For this, the Director's Cut edition was produced, adding some content over the console versions (mostly rooftop action missions), and care was taken to make the gamepad to keyboard/mouse-transition as seamless as possible. For the most part it was successful.

This is a TREMENDOUSLY BEAUTIFULLY GAME. The first thing that grabs you is how REAL the city environments feel. The graphics are just OUT OF THIS WORLD! You will need a very good PC to enjoy their full potential (minimum requirements provided below), but real skies, dynamic shadows, facial expressions and realistically flowing robes are only beginning to describe it! Run on a roof and the other citizens will gather around and comment on your crazy behavior! Throw someone on a vendor's cart and he will come after you complaining about his ruined produce! And the city is alive well beyond your character. If only BIOWARE could take some lessons for its next BALDUR's GATE...

Adding to this is the wonderful sound! From the crowd murmurs and the NTCs cries for help, to the whistling of the wind and the well-chosen background music, a good sound-card and speakers set is recommended to truly enjoy this game. If you have a 5.1 speaker system (I do not) I can imagine the experience to become even more immersing.

As to the gameplay, you control Altaïr ibn La-Ahad ("The Flying One, Son of None"). He is a member of the Assassin Brotherhood that sides, well, with both...sides, during the 3rd Crusade. In a story twist, he is also your ancestor, the game being your/his flashback memories. This is a twist I could do without, but I would guess it lays groundwork for the sequels.

The Third person perspective works beautifully and will never loose your interest. Most missions require sneaking and murdering in the shadows. Others will have you eavesdropping for passwords or pickpocketing documents to gain access into target buildings. Some will have you sharpen those sword skills. Still, the game does not avoid its share of stupid "keep this...suicidal character from getting killed" missions. Keep in mind though that ASSASSIN's CREED is rather a strategically thinking action TPS, not a hack&slash fast-paced one.

Controlling your character with a keyboard/mouse takes a lot of getting used to as you have to manage running, climbing, fighting as well as modifying your actions from low to high visibility. The keys are remapable but their complexity will never let you forget you are playing a game. Now for some bad news.

These are the official MINIMUM Requirements:
* Pentium D 2.6GHz (YES, Dual Core!) (or AMD equivalent)
* 1GB RAM (WinXP) or 2GB (WinVISTA) (3GB RECOMMENDED!)
* nVidia 6800 (or Shader Model 3.0 compliant or ATI equivalent)
* Dual-Layer DVD-ROM (or BluRay disc)
* 12GB HDD Space (although my install folder was no larger than 7GB)

As one can see, this is worse than CRYSIS! What I cannot get is how on earth ASSASSIN works on only 512MB of RAM of the XBox, yet it is recommended to have...3GB of RAM on a PC! Sure, the extra content is nice but who did the porting, unpaid interns? Has ANY PC optimization been attempted at all?
Keep also in mind that (as with CRYSIS) in order to fully enjoy the game, barely meeting the minimum requirements means you will barely experience the game. I refuse to deal with WinVISTA so, obviously, this review pertains to DirectX-9. The game is also DirectX-10 compatible, something I cannot comment on though. And now for some good news.

UBISOFT has been recently hit with a $5million class-action suit for hardware (OK, "allegedly") damaged by StarForce bundled with its games. Since, they have announced to be abandoning its StarForce partnership - so let's all rejoice: unlike other UBISOFT games, ASSASSIN's CREED does NOT sport StarForce! Instead, a much milder SafeDisc is used.
It is a pity it took litigation to finally listen to their own customers (suing StarForce would make much more sense, but try finding them in Russia!), but let's count our blessings.

So, overall, this is a well made and beautiful, immersing (although quite short) game that needed more work in PC optimization (wher it lost 1 star Overall) and character control (where it lost 1 star for Fun).

As Altair himself would have put it: "Nothing is true. Everything is permitted."
Well, not everything - and certainly NOT StarForce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not brilliant, 8 April 2008
By 
I. Hirst (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition (PC) (Video Game)
Ok first off i've played the pc version and with DX10 and its stunning....no arguments there!!Its partly being sold as a stealth game but it's really not.As you go up through the levels more skills and equipment become avaliable to you which makes killing your enemies even easier than it was in the first place.That being said means the game actually gets easier the the further you get into it.
The cut scenes are a pain in the rear,they can be long and there is no way to skip them,making a second play through of the game a bit of a chore.
Now the up side,visually gorgeous and once you get the hang of the fighting controls it's really fun.
If they ever did a sequal to this they need to turn it into a proper stealth assassination game.Also the character is just crying out for a bow and arrow weapon and would really put a good twist on things.
On the whole it's a good game but i'd wait for the price of to come down before you run out and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, but just a game, 5 Jun 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition (PC) (Video Game)
The game is well entertaining and visualy impresive. The most stunning sword fighting scenes I've ever seen in a game. And a fun riding a horse.

But...

It's quite monotonous, very easy and no thinking game. It's clear it's not a PC game but converted from PS or Xbox. You can act like a quiet assasin, but it's only acting as the game doesn't involve you to do that (often you can march like a terminator and kill all the opponents). Producer's description "plan your moves" is well exagerated, as the plot is very strightforward and kind of railway type - all you need to do is to follow it and no chances for your own creativity.

Good to play, I'm glad I bought it, but don't feel like playing again and will probably resale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Assassins Creed: best shanking simulator so far, 12 Dec 2009
By 
THC Ife "felixdance17" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition (PC) (Video Game)
I have played this game before in its Xbox360 iteration but recently had to pass on my console for financial reasons. Desiring to play the game again, i was quite surprised to find that it works really smoothly on the PC, and has excellent visuals regardless of which graphical settings you use.

The controls are fluid, responsive and simple to use, and allow you to play the game without getting frustrated at all. I find myself able to do things in the game that i once struggled with on the console version.

The game itself is open to the same criticism, which is that excessive play makes it really boring. There is more variety this time round thanks to the implimentation of new challenges, but even after that, playing for more than an hour will make you apathetic to the progression of the game. Having said that though, the game is great for picking up and going on a templar hunt. There are 60 templars in the game, real hard nuts who spot you as what you are instantly and are pretty formidable with a sword. I had great fun spotting one in the distance, plotting a route and managing to sneak up on them and shanking them. When that failed on a dock one time i simply pushed the dude off a boat and his armour made him sink and drown. Little touches like this make the game really fun despite the overall design of the main game is quite monotonous.

All in all this is very worth getting if you have a decent mid range pc. It works pretty good on mine, though occasionally freezes on higher graphics settings, but even the lowest setting doesn't make the game ugly at all, so its not a problem. Definitely a purchase in the run up to the pc release of AC2, or if you just want to ride around on a horse and shank dudes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassins Creed 5/5, 8 Dec 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition (PC) (Video Game)
Plot: Great story. I was expecting a lot from this game due to the time era its set in and I have to admit it exceeded my expectations by a long way. Unlike some games that seem to forget to tell you why you're doing what you doing, this game keeps you updated all the time. It never leaves you behind. The plot kept making me want to keep coming back for more to see what was going to happen next.

You play as Altair a free running assassin who is given missions to assassinate certain well known members of the public. I can't really say anything else about it otherwise it would be spoiled but one of the best games set within the medieval era.

Graphics: Definitely the best graphics I have seen for quite some while. Everything has been created with the utmost detail. For a building to a basket, it's all just like the real thing.

Controls: I didn't like the default settings myself revolving around the WASD keys but they were easily changeable after a couple of minutes of fiddling around with the settings. May recommend a pad as the best choice for this game though due the amount of keys needed to be pressed for the likes of fighting.

Lifespan: Not a huge game by any means. Quite short in the main story section actually but there are plenty of items you can collect afterwards or just enjoy the scenery free running around.

Overall opinion: Really recommend this game for anyone that just has a slight interest in history, hack n slash or a really good story. Not many games made me want to it at every spare moment but this one certainly did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The boredom factor, 9 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. T. Belcher (Doitwich Spa UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition (PC) (Video Game)
I fully agree with a previous reviewer. The game get harder as you progress. Lot's of annoying impediments to your main task. But is it perhaps the boredom factor creeping in. It seem's to throw everything at you in the first 2 missions and then it's the same again, but more frustrating. Unlike games like MoH, CoD, NOLF, etc where each episode is in a different environment AC puts you in exactly the same environment with identical NPC's, and identical tasks.

Buy it cheap and be prepared for only a limited amount of enjoyment.

Graphically it is excellent. But the gameplay is really repetitve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good gameplay, when you get to it..., 2 May 2008
By 
Simon P. Wooldridge "Si_W" (myreviewer.com) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition (PC) (Video Game)
Been looking forward to this for a while, and it was worth the wait. My problem is that I'm a gamer and there are some incredibly long cutscenes that keep popping up that you just can't get around, and some in-game cutscenes as well. I understand the role of these in moving the story along, but please, why so many and so long. Some of the cutscenes have speech stutter as well, which loses some of the game immersion.

I like the gameplay, it is repetitive but I can handle that and you can raise that complaint against any RPG and probably even the GTA series. Graphically it looks great and runs smoothly on my PC but it takes much longer than I've been used to recently to load up sequences or even the game (I have an AMD3200 plus 2GB of RAM). I've not gone too far yet, so the stuff like eagle vision and the huge dive from towers into a wagon of straw is still quite novel to me, maybe I'll get bored of them but I hope not.

The most annoying thing about this game to me is both the loading times (as above) and also the endless amount of time and complexity to quit the game. It's almost as if they want to discourage you from leaving it, instead it may just encourage people not to touch it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 3 July 2008
By 
Matt (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition (PC) (Video Game)
The graphics are amazing on directx 10 with everthing on full, and I'm amazed at how soothly the engine runs througout, and I'm taking console-like smooth. Not sure about the stealth aspect. Most of the time when playing it I feel like Sir Lancelot the Brave from the Life of Brian, hacking through anything that comes across my path, including any inccocent bystanders that happen get in the way. Some of the fights also become comical-which is great: on one occasion an enemy was just about to stike me with his sword, when another enemy archer cut him down by accident from range. Now all that needs to happen is for Bioware to use the same graphics engine in their next RPG epic.

Edit - I've also just found out that alot of copies of this game can crash when you try to enter Jerusalem, due to three corrupt files, which mine just has. Whilst there isn't an official patch out yet that will fix this, you can download a torrent containing the workng files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some achievement..., 15 April 2008
By 
ry19 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition (PC) (Video Game)
Having played a console version of Assassin's Creed, I have to say that the PC version is definitive - provided your computer's specifications are up to the job. The additional tasks that have been programmed in during the lengthy hiatus between the game's original launch and its PC debut make a fair difference (and justify the delay) and I prefer the PC's mouse/keyboard control layout, but for me it's the sheer visual brilliance of the game that tips the balance.

It's been said before, but AC has to represent the pinnacle of achievement in game graphics to date - even Crysis can't match the realism and downright gorgeousness of the environments (at max settings, at least). It does beat the console versions in this regard - and for the reasons I set out below, that for me makes this the best of the versions.

It is true that the gameplay can become a little repetitive at times - there isn't the depth or scope for different activities of, say, the Grand Theft Auto series - but I haven't been as impressed by a game for a long time. When I first started, I was quite happy just wandering the Kingdom (which links the cities where the main action occurs) exploring and climbing towers and buildings to enjoy the views. Sometimes you'll think you're playing a movie - it's like virtual tourism!

However, I appreciate this isn't the be-all and end-all of gaming - hence the lower rating for fun. AC is best played slowly in order to appreciate the world portrayed. Ignoring the backdrop and dashing through the storyline (which involves a somewhat perplexing sci-fi element, as your character is an avatar controlled by a present day descendant hooked up to a bizarre computer) will leave a feeling of, "Is that it?" Even with the PC's extra tasks and missions, it's still a case of repeating the same core steps until you reach the end, which is a little disappointing. It's also quite easy, as holding one key or mouse button down is generally enough to get you round all the fights and all the free-running across rooftops. At its heart it's a good enough game, but not a world-beater. It might seem a little unfair, and I mean this in the nicest possible way, but AC is basically the greatest interactive tech demo ever. For me that makes it a worthwhile purchase, but it's fair to say not everyone will agree.

My not exactly bang up to date key components (runs smoothly at max settings at 1280x1024):-

Core2Duo E6600
2GB DDR2 667
GeForce 8800GT 512MB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 9 Jun 2009
By 
C. Herbert (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition (PC) (Video Game)
this game is pretty good fun overall, if a little repetitive. the extra missions added in the directors cut edition do alleviate this somewhat. also the game does take forever and a day to exit.
overall, i'd recommend that you play the game, it is good fun despite its pitfalls. hopefully assassin's creed 2 will address these issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed: Director's Cut Edition (PC)
Used & New from: £3.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews