Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars222
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 15 April 2015
BEWARE, SPOILERS...

I am a sucker for time travel stories, and for me this is one of the good ones. I just love the quirks and twists and paradoxes that are inevitably thrown up. What's more, I can watch this one again and again. Of course there are bits where you can think to yourself "that's a bit silly", such as the moment where he realises they aren't just watching a film but that it is really a two way street, and confirms it by shining a laser pen on to the screen, which somehow miraculously makes its way through all the electronics, through the worm hole, and out in to the room where it is seen by the people they are watching 4 days ago. Since when did a TV screen become an unintentional input device like this? Instead of mucking about sending bits of paper back to try and alert themselves, why don't they just shout at the screen? Surely that would work too...

But then you could apply logic to the entire premise of pretty much any sci-fi film and destroy it. You just have to let your imagination go a little, sit back, and enjoy the ride. If you can do that, this is a great film with some great actors in it. I enjoyed the ride very much.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 June 2007
First of all the good points -

1. Tony Scott's direction is brilliant - keeping the energy of the story rolling along at a good pace and cranking it up to edge of the seat stuff towards the end.

2. The acting is great - in particular that of Denzel Washington - I am begining to think that Denzel is one of the best actors in the world at present and the only thing he lacks is maybe a wide range of film genres under his belt. In every action film I have seen him in he has delivered a brilliant performance which really helps the viewer associate with the plight of the character. This film is no exception.

3. The story idea is cool - I am a sucker for time travel (big fan of 'Doctor Who' and 'Back to the Future'), this is more like a contemporary and gritty none kick-boxing version of 'Time Cop'.

Now the bad points and there is only one and I've already mentioned it -

1. the story idea is cool - so why waste an opportunity? The writers could have done so much more with this, it could have been so much more complex and riddle-like and seemed to lack imagination. I felt very disappointed that the story line was very linear and predicatable. I was also very bemused at the scene where he shines the laserpen onto the screen and the woman whose past they are viewing sees it - there's far fetched and there's far fetched and this stretched even my incredulity to the limits. So that's why only 4 stars.

If you liked 'Paycheck' or 'Twelve Monkeys', don't have a problem with time travel sci-fi and know how good Denzel is then I would recommend this to you.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is quite an interesting film mixing the thriller genre with bits of science fiction. The film is quite good overall, though doesn't quite reach it's full potential it is still worthy of a watch.

The story starts off with ATF Special Agent Douglas Carlin (Denzel Washington) being sent to help investigate a terrorist bombing of a ferry carrying U.S. Navy sailors and their families, in which hundreds of people are killed in the explosion. Carlin teams up with FBI Agent Paul Pryzwarra (Val Kilmer) and both start to try to piece together the events using more traditional investigation methods.

They soon find that an apparently unrelated incident involving the murder of Claire Kuchever (played by Paula Patton ) has a lot more to do with the ferry bombing than another murder case that happened to be at the same time frame as the bombing.

This is where the science fiction bit slips in, and depending on how you like your films it's either a good move or makes the plot somewhat stretched. It comes to light that there is a secret super high tech surveillance program called "Snow White", which allows the investigating team to look back into the past. The storyline unfolds using a mix of present and past events, with a view to trying to stop the bombing happening in the first place via time travel. It's similar in some respects (but not all) to the arguably better "Source Code" which was made some years later in 2011.

Despite the conveniently dropped in science fiction twist, which may explain the mixed reaction from critics, Deja Vu is both well acted with good performances from the cast which features Jim Caviezel doing a respectable job of the bomber Carroll Oerstadt, direction is strong with Tony Scott providing some nice action sequences and effective camera work.

Having watched the film a few times since release I still quite enjoy it, though as is common with these time travel genre films once the first watch is over, some impact is lost in subsequent viewings. Some folks will feel the sci fi time travel aspect is a bit silly, and some might like the unusual twist this provides to the plot. I'm not sure the ending is as strong as it could be, but it remains a fairly interesting production, though it's a little long at just over 2 hours, I didn't get bored watching it.

Worth checking out if you are in the mood for something a bit different
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Oh dear. This is one of those films that starts off mildly interestingly, even if I thought that what turned out to be 'the good bit' was rather unoriginal as I watched. Ship explodes in New Orleans, lots of people die, ATF agent Denzel comes to search for the fleeing baddie. Fair enough. But within minutes he's introduced to an FBI agent played by an absurdly miscast Val Kilmer, who seems to have put on a lot of weight since I last saw him and things quickly go downhill. It's not long before Denzel finds himself watching a group of FBI techno-geeks playing with their latest gadget - a time-machine, in effect - which turns out to be The Reason The Film Was Made. At first the device is used for observation only, with its permananent "live" spool that shows what happened anywhere in the region some 4 days earlier. But I'm sure every single person over the age of (say) 8 years old quickly found it absurd that this machine could go into any person's bathroom and watch them take a shower more than 4 days after they did it. The technology is interesting but utterly and completely ridiculous. And so it's no surprise when the inevitable happens and Denzel wants to be transported 4 days back in time to save all those poor victims, and in particular a woman he's taken a fancy to who he met in a mortuary - dead - and whose funeral he has already attended, she being apparently one of the victims of the terrorist bomb at the beginning of the film.

You just have to put your logical mind totally on hold and try to enjoy a film that is devoid of humour (apart from a radio DJ announcing 'let's go back in time') and takes itself far too seriously to be worthy of recommendation. Absolute nonsense and a waste of a decent actor and director.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2007
Most people have seen a variety of time-travel films, most of which cover the same type of plot: some form of accident occurs, the main character finds a way to travel back in time to prevent it. Bing bang bosh.

This film does have elements of this classic formula but it also introduces a whole new factor: trying to influence the past from the present. I won't say too much as I don't want to add any more spoilers to the ones that have already been posted but I will say that it has something more than most films of its kind.

This is definitely one to turn your brain off for because if you try to get your head round it, especially if you have a scientific background like me, you will go mad! When it comes down to it, the feasibility of the concepts introduced in the story aren't important because it's science fiction!! FICTION being the operative word.

I only didn't give this film 5 stars because in my opinion no film is perfect enough to deserve 5 stars but this one is close. Just sit back and enjoy one of the best time travel films since Back to the Future!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2011
I'd seen this film some time ago and decided that it's one of those movies you will watch again and again. So I bought it!
It's a thriller with a type of time travel - viewed on screens so the techno geeks are 'looking' into the past.
Denzel, in a cop-type role is there to sort out a disaster crime and believes this technology will help him solve it.
Great action scenes and acting from all the cast. Jim Caviezel plays a great part in the movie too.
Definitely a must to buy, really good on Blu-ray.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2007
This movie was incredible and quite interesting. Despite the fact that many folks seem to embrace Ridley Scott's grandiose directorial style, they often refer to younger brother Tony's work as "amateurish." I on the other hand can't help but be wowed by Tony Scott's flashy, in your face, kinetic editing style. "Déjà vu" would have been "just another thriller" had it not been for Scott's trademark touches. That being said it's Scott's style coupled with some solid performances that are the only things holding together what otherwise probably would have been just another dumbed down Bruckheimer explosion fest helmed by Michael Bay. It's also heartwarming to know that the film was shot on location in New Orleans post-Katrina.

We may have time travel, time warp movies before but "Déjà Vu" is special in that the production made the city of New Orleans, its people and landscapes very much 'a character in the film. The performances from the leads were solid all around. Denzel is of course... well he's Denzel. When he rants and raves on the big screen he commands the attention of the other characters as well as the audience. Val Kilmer pulls his own weight, literally, putting on the pounds to amply play a supporting role. His performance is pretty straightforward, but the performance I was both impressed and disappointed was Jim Caviezel's. As much as I was wowed by his character I was so intrigued by him that it made me a bit disappointed hat he got such little screen time. True they did describe in brief what motivated him to do the things he did but it all felt so rushed as he only showed up as the film was hitting it's stride. Producer-turned-actress Paula Patton is beautifully exotic, which makes Denzel's decision to save her digestible. Adam Goldberg as stereotypical looking scientist provides welcome comic relief, aptly punctuating tense or mind-numbing scenes.

Nonetheless, "Déjà vu" is a good, neat thriller, even if it doesn't pack a punch or feel as twisted and comfortably numbing as "Domino," "Man On Fire," "True Romance," or even Scott's earlier works." Déjà vu" might explain the all-too- familiar characters or the never-ending cycle of love interests that just has to lay its turf in every adventure film. At the end credits, it's thoughtfully included that the film is dedicated to the strength and enduring spirit of the people of New Orleans. Action fans will have a good time with it, thriller fans will love it,
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2007
Ok, so the film might be far-fetched. But can people please stop criticising it for this reason? Believe it or not, most of the films you watch are in fact FICTION. If you want to watch a load of depressing trash based on true stories, then i recommend the news. If you want to watch some more "realistic" fiction, perhaps read the back of the box before you watch it. This is an enjoyable film and great escapism. It isn't supposed to be realistic. The sooner people realise that the better.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2007
Enjoy the storyline, it's a unique film. It will leave you wanting to watch it again to work things out. Couldve gone so much further with this film than they did. You could also note a few flaws in the plots, I am sure we all will have imagined other twists they couldve added but never the less Denzel is at his best again.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
After a ferry disaster, Denzel Washington, who is an A.T.F. Agent, travels back in time to save a young woman from being murdered.

Directed by Tony Scott, this is a different take on time travel. The film needs and deserves more than one viewing to understand the sometimes complicated plot on time travel, but is worth the repeated viewings. Denzel Washington is on top form as the A.T.F. Agent trying to prevent a murder, and disaster, at the same time.

Remember, most films are made for entertainment, not to be taken seriously, and if you bear this in mind, and watch it for the entertainment value that it is, you should enjoy it.

The film has been transferred in it's original aspect ratio of 2.35:1. The soundtrack is 5.1.
Picture Quality on this blu ray release is pin sharp, and colours are vibrant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)